Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And now for something completely different.........
I'm used to the Sheffield pattern of folding knife with a backbone spring to hold the blade open or shut. In use you have to pull the blade open (or push it shut) against the tension of the spring. The system works well but the blade is never fully secure when it is open. It can pull against the spring and close itself. This Opinel knife works in an entirely different...
Published on 29 Mar 2011 by Mr. Richard Suffolk

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Safety could be better
I was aware that this did not lock but a smaller knife can be handy. The carbon steel blade is like a scalpel & I would have preferred a lock.
Published 14 months ago by G MCGEACHIE


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And now for something completely different........., 29 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Opinel Knives, Number 5 (Misc.)
I'm used to the Sheffield pattern of folding knife with a backbone spring to hold the blade open or shut. In use you have to pull the blade open (or push it shut) against the tension of the spring. The system works well but the blade is never fully secure when it is open. It can pull against the spring and close itself. This Opinel knife works in an entirely different way. There is no spring at all. The handle ends in a cylindrical turning at the pivot end of the blade. It is split to let the pivot open or shut without any resistance and is bound with a steel collar to hold the pin firm. Around this collar is a sleeve with a matching slit in it. Turn the sleeve when the blade is folded into the handle and it locks the blade safely away. Turn it when the blade is open and it locks it absolutely rigid. It cannot slip. It is as solid as an ordinary kitchen knife.

Stainless steel can be sharpened but it never takes the edge of a carbon steel blade like this one. The handle is a solid piece of beech and it is shaped to fit beautifully into your hand. It feels solid, comfortable and workmanlike. This is not a weapon; it is a tool pure an simple. If you need a working knife in your life, this is the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opinel Knives, Number 5 (Misc.)
I bought this for whittling wood. To be honest, it's not great for that task, so I won't review on that basis. All the same it's a lovely knife, quite sharp as well. It's carbon of course, so bendy, but for slicing up a lemon or using as a box opener and so on it's perfect.

The only downside is that after only a couple of weeks use it's slightly loose so the blade is not "snug" in the handle.

But I still like it, but I'm looking at a different pocket knife for wood whittling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outdoor knife, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opinel Knives, Number 5 (Misc.)
This little knife is exactly what I expected it to be as I've had one before only I lost it. Light weight and durable excellent tool for the outdoors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product, 22 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opinel Knives, Number 5 (Misc.)
I have several of these knives in all sizes. Rugged and easy to sharpen to a keen edge. The larger sizes such as this one can be locked in place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Opinel, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opinel Knives, Number 5 (Misc.)
Excellent little knife very sharp and being carbon steel should remain sharp light weight to use should last years very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice very nice, 3 May 2013
This review is from: Opinel Knives, Number 5 (Misc.)
I like this product , my freind already bought it from the high street & i saw it on amazon so already knew it was good quality & will come in handy for camping but the only thing was my freinds was bigger i didnt realise this was smaller thats why there called opinel knifes no 5 or no 8 or no 12 etc so mines is a little small but thats because i never paid attention but i am not going to buy a larger one because i am very pleased & i know it will come in useful .arrived within estimated delivery time overall good product & happy customer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good knife, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opinel Knives, Number 5 (Misc.)
This knife is quite small but ideal for using for whittling. It is quite light but fits in the pocket nicely. Bought this one as a present but am considering buying one for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opinel Knives, Number 5 (Misc.)
Very nice shape and size, very sharp and nice to hold. Nice, small and compact and fits in pockets very nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opinel Knives, Number 5 (Misc.)
Don't expect a big parcel through the post - this knife will comfortably hide in the palm of your hand! I cannot recommend this little knife highly enough. It has a great carbon steel blade, and for those of you that use a fire steel, you can use the back of the blade for sparks..an added bonus! If you are a backpacker/camper, this is the knife to get: small, light and sharp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Safety could be better, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opinel Knives, Number 5 (Misc.)
I was aware that this did not lock but a smaller knife can be handy. The carbon steel blade is like a scalpel & I would have preferred a lock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Opinel Knives, Number 5
9.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews