Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Splinter Cell so far.
I've played Pandora Tomorrow, Chaos Theory, Double Agent and then this. This Splinter Cell is much better than Pandora Tomorrow, Chaos Theory and Double Agent. The best features in the game are:

Quick stealth - instead of staying out of the light like previous splinter cells, the screen will turn black & white so you KNOW you are hidden.

Mark &...
Published on 8 Oct 2011 by Asim

versus
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a tricky cell
The latest Splinter Cell game has been a long time coming, and the result is a game quite different to its predecessors. The focus is more on action and firefights this time round rather than sneaking and stealth. It mostly works but it falls short of being a classic Splinter Cell game.

The storyline of the single player game is compelling enough as Sam...
Published on 14 May 2010 by CJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic game, 14 Aug 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Convictions single player is full of thrilling and fast paced action,due to such changes from previous titles as the mark and excecute system. Although the games does differ in that sense from its predecessors, the core game play will not disappoint hardcore splinter cell fans.The game also provides longevity as the co-op campaign and other co-op modes in the game are excellent fun and make this game a must buy for any one looking for a game to enjoy with a friend. The challenges are another method in the game which will keep you playing the game for months, especially those of you who are looking to unlock th games achievments. Overall i would strongly recommend this game, especially if like me i want a change from regular first person shooters and have to think in a game without sacrificing excitment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom CLancys splinter cell, 20 Jun 2010
By 
Jordan Mclean (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Great game in my opinion.

I loved the game from start to finish although I was finding myself using a pistol through out the whole game.
there are more guns (i.e mp5, ak etc) but if it isnt silenced you will get to much attention on you and die within seconds, So it is pretty useless.

the storyline was amazing very very good storyline I loved how the voice acting was done also. Great game I recommend it to anyone looking for a fun time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game!, 5 Jun 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is such an action packed game, with stunning graphics and gamplay!
Buy it! Its worth any penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chaos Theory wipes the floor with this game, 3 Oct 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If Splinter Cell was about anything it was about stealth and silently picking your way through the levels and most importantly not having to shoot everything that moved. Conviction on the other hand is a bog standard 3rd person shooter, kill everything that moves with most of the stealth removed.

It seems to me the developers have looked at what is popular right now - Uncharted, Rainbow Six, MW2, and shoveled the gameplay of these titles into Conviction whether or not it fits the Splinter Cell style.

Conviction is not a bad game, it's just nothing special, and that's a shame because Splinter Cell was something rare, a very special and unique game. If you want to enjoy the real Splinter Cell experience just go and buy a copy of Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory. That was a true video gaming classic, better in just about every way than Conviction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game Splinter Cell Conviction, 2 Aug 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I had such fun with this game. I did not get the full online experience due to my internet being down for a few weeks.
Pros:
The Cover system is THE BEST in any game I have ever played. (yes it's even better than the cover in Gears of war).
Less stealth required in missions but plenty more action to compensate this.
The graphics in this game are some of the best i've seen in a long time such detail went into Sam Fisher's aging body and the environment around him.
Their are alot of different ways to tackle each mission. e.g. climb through a window or kick down a door etc.
Game is complemented by a very well written story ALTHOUGH the Iraq mission's gameplay didnt match the games mechanics.
Many upgradable weapons.

Cons:
Short campaign mode and i mean VERY short. If your a hardcore gamer you would be able to beat this game within 3-6 hours on Realistic (Hard) Difficulty.
Once you finish the campaign mode on Realistic difficulty it loses alot of its replayability.
If you don't like the change of Sam Fisher being more action less stealth then you may be let down. (I however loved it and the story makes me like it even more)

This is a brilliant game in almost every aspect. I gave it 4/5 because the very short campaign mode makes this game more of a rental than a purchase. However if your a Splinter cell fan this will be a great game for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars splinter cell conviction, 29 Jun 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Bought this because i play rainbow six vegas a lot and enjoyed that game.This is somewhat based on the same lines and has single and coop play available.In short i enjoy this game as well but do find the controls a little difficult to remember and get mixed up with the controls of vegas 2.i reckon when i go back and play vegas 2 i'll be all mixed up on the controls again.takes a bit of learning but do not let this put you off purchasing.Is still an excellent game with superb graphics and playability.Was delivered in just a few days.I would highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A change of pace, 25 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. Gc Brown (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Fans of previous splinter cell games, enjoyed patient stealthy gameplay with emphisis on light and shadows. This installment sees faster pace action. The game is almost that of the multiplayer from double agent (for those who played it). The graphics are excellent and also help the gameplay, when you are in the dark, rather than lookign at a meter, the colours change to black and white. Which makes it easier to tell if you are hidden or not. The story is also very edgy with some twists and turns including a flashback level which gives some background to fisher and other characters involved.

For those with live, there is a a co-op campaign with agents from two different agencies (sitcom material there) and some other co-op modes, including face off, which pits you against the other player and enemy A.I which is pretty good.

Overall this game breathes some fresh air into the franchise that was missing from double agent. However, despite does, the game in my opinion does start to become repeatitive after a while. I would borrow from a mate or rent from lovefilm or whatever before deciding whether to buy, i feel the game have been given very generious rating from the games media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely epic, 25 May 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction is a must have for any gamer, its a great story mode that will certainly take skill to complete on it's hardest mode. While the levels are well made and well thought, they can be tedious as well, for instance theres a level where you have to take out 5 armed guards, then navigate a hallway full of lasers. The guards are easy but take a few minutes to do and the lasers can be extremely hard. The checkpoint doesnt cover the guards so you have to do the guards over and over again. As i said, very tedious.

Despite this, the game overall is AWESOME the graphics the gameplay and the storyline are all epic and probably the second best campaign i've ever played after Dragon Age origins, but you can't really compare the two games.

The multiplayer co-op presents the player with an alternate storyline to play after the campaign, the dual gameplay offers a huge stealth advantage over the normal storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conviction manages to build on and evolve the stealth action genre, 21 May 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
'Despite being quite a departure from the original series of Splinter Cell games, Conviction manages to build on and evolve the stealth action genre, creating an awesome mix of Jason Bourne style action with the classic stealth gameplay to form something very unique indeed!

''My history with the series has a rather interesting start. I received the original game for free with my original Xbox back in 2002, and was adamant that I wouldn't like it. After my brother played through and convinced me otherwise, so began one of my favourite video game franchises of recent memory. Four games later, here we have Conviction.

''The older Splinter Cell games were very much a stealth affair, where you were afraid to shoot even the lights out, in worry that you might be detected, and the likelihood of you surviving an encounter with an alerted guard usually ended up badly for both your health and your patience. 'Conviction throws that out of the window, and while it does make things easier for you being the silent predator, playing cat and mouse with your prey as you scurry from ledge to ledge, when the guards are alerted, the game has just begun. ''

The two main touted features of the game involves what's known as the Mark and Execute system, as well as the Last Known Position (LKP) system, and once you have them nailed, you will come across limitless stylish possibilities to dispatch your foes.'The basic premise of the Mark and Execute system is that it allows you to highlight a number (depending on chosen weapon) and once you've earned the ability, to hit the Execute button, shifting the game into slow motion as Fisher disposes of the enemies in a rather stylish fashion, twisting and turning, throwing the gun under his arm and over his shoulder until you're the last one standing. While this is all well and good, you first have to earn the chance to do this by doing a melee takedown on an enemy. Once you get attuned to the system, you'll find yourself marking 3 targets, jumping down from a pipe onto another foe for a melee kill, before tapping the Execute button, and soon this will become second nature. Some may argue that this makes the game a little easy, but in my playing, I find the game perfectly tuned, making is hard to sometimes get in close.

'The LKP aids you in your predatory nature by allowing you to see where the guards think you are, before sneaking behind them and well, 'surprising' them, usually by a quick 45 to the back of the head!''

So, that's the basics, and you'll find that the level design accommodates these new features in a very nice manor, giving you a huge amount of possibilities in terms of replay value.''The story this time around takes a very different turn and follows on directly from your actions in Double Agent when you learned that your daughter had been killed. Conviction starts on the premise that it is a revenge tale with you attempting to track down her killer, with clever use of flashbacks to flesh out her character as a young child. However, as usual things get messy and you end up becoming embroiled in something much larger to say the least.'' You'll be all over the world in this game, including a rather unique level for the splinter cell games where it turns into a third person shooter.''

So, that's single player, what about the multiplayer? Well, unfortunately the game has ditched the rather experimental, yet incredibly awesome Spies Vs. Mercs from the older games, instead opting for a Co-Op experience that both adds and extends the game in every regard. 'Hooking up with another player (either via Live or Splitscreen) you'll be able to tackle four large unique missions, entailing a prologue to the single player, as well as get involved with a number of unique modes revolving much more around the stealth aspects, including a nice nod to the terrorist hunt modes from the Rainbow Six and Ghost Recon Games.

''So, here you have a top notch 3rd person stealth action game, a long time in the making, and the better for it. While I do miss the very rewarding pure stealth from the previous games as well as the old multiplayer, this new take is very much what the game needed to gain an expanded audience. Single Player won't take you more than a couple of evenings, but the Co-Op experiences are rather limitless. Definitely an awesome addition to any action fan's library!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sam Fisher at it's best., 18 May 2010
By 
Jack Middleton (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A great game from ubisoft, this third person shooter combines the shooting and stealth is one awesome package.

Any gamer who can should buy this game, it is awesome I loved it.

However you will only get a good week of play time out of it and some game modes are pointless and annoying.

But if you want a good stealth shooter then buy this game now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction (Xbox 360)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews