Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best motorcycle movie ever made
The description of this movie above is innacurate, there's very little road racing in this film. It is instead the seminal off road motorbike movie. Covering everything from speedway to motorcross and trials.

Despite being made in the '70s this film hasn't aged a bit and is still the best motorbike film ever made.

There's not much that can be said...
Published on 6 Dec 2004 by D. Prisk

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review On Any Sunday
As a biking fan, who grew up in the 70's, owned a 1970's off road motor cycle, and has enjoyed Steve McQueen films, this is great viewing.
Very American, and captures an era that to me was great fun, and free of
do gooders, and health & safety spoilers!
Even the wife, who is not a bike fan enjoyed it, and Bruce Brown's commentry is excellent.
The...
Published on 20 May 2009 by Sundaybike fan


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best motorcycle movie ever made, 6 Dec 2004
By 
This review is from: On Any Sunday [DVD] (DVD)
The description of this movie above is innacurate, there's very little road racing in this film. It is instead the seminal off road motorbike movie. Covering everything from speedway to motorcross and trials.

Despite being made in the '70s this film hasn't aged a bit and is still the best motorbike film ever made.

There's not much that can be said about this film, except if you have any interest in bikes (of any kind) you should own it. Just be prepared to go riding right afterwards as it's awesomely inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent veiwing for anyone interested in motorcycles, 30 Dec 2004
By 
It's a little American, a little dated, and a little bit contrived at times. None of this detracts from the place in motorcycling lore that this film became. It is made by people that care about motorcycling in a way that most have forgotten today - there's nothing judgemental about any particular style of bike or branch of motorcycling sport. Instead, you get a view of how bikes became part of our culture and, to many people, even a way of life.
Treat yourself to some biking history. Especially good if you don't get to ride your bike in the winter months!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best!, 17 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. N. J. Denham (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Any Sunday [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this in the 70's and it kick-started (sorry) a life long love for motorcycles....yes, the bikes are old now, but it just doesn't matter. It's just perfect. AND, it's got Steve McQueen- a genuinely good rider, Brilliant. Celebration of all motorcycles, big, small, fast or slow. Displays the pure joy of riding bikes. Just watched "TT Closer to the edge" which is a brilliant film, but still, on any Sunday rules as the best bike film ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I feel so old!, 3 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Any Sunday [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say? It's a film of it's time and a film of my youth. On Any Sunday you could always find me up to my ears in mud too!
It's a wonderful trip down memory lane of a time when you could afford a decent off road bike on paper round money and join the hundreds of other kids and adults riding their socks off in the local wildlands - in a more innocent time before health and safety and councils banning anything with wheels from every piece of land they could think of. A classic that makes all us oldsters feel all nostalgic, and all the youngsters jealous of a time when you really could go out and have fun 'On Any Sunday'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review On Any Sunday, 20 May 2009
This review is from: On Any Sunday [DVD] (DVD)
As a biking fan, who grew up in the 70's, owned a 1970's off road motor cycle, and has enjoyed Steve McQueen films, this is great viewing.
Very American, and captures an era that to me was great fun, and free of
do gooders, and health & safety spoilers!
Even the wife, who is not a bike fan enjoyed it, and Bruce Brown's commentry is excellent.
The addition of his tribute to Steve McQueen, is the best I've seen.
Would be great to see an update featuring the original surviving riders, like Mert, Malcolm, and now chad McQueen sharing a few memories.
Won't ever sell my copy, so grab one soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Glimpse of the real Mcqueen, 1 Dec 2000
This review is from: On Any Sunday [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This video gives a brief insight into the life of Steve McQueen as an extremely talented motocross rider. Using footage of some of the most gruelling races across America, it lets the viewer gain a glimpse of the real Steve McQueen. This video is great entertainment for all McQueen fans, and highlights an imense talent outside of acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars definitive 1970's bikesport film, 24 Jun 2002
By 
P. Foxton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Any Sunday [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a superb film for anyone who loves bikes. A documentary narated by the director, it features superb footage of various (mainly) off road bike races - speedway, motocross, gruelling 100 mile enduros and desert races. Its not all racing though, and as much time is spent on riding off road for fun.
Director Bruce Sterling has captured the essence of the joy of biking, and 'on any sunday' is a welcome antidote to the stock hells angels films of the period.
A must see for any Biker. I watched it 5 times in the first week I had it, and have already started scouring the classifieds for my first off-road bike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'On Any Sunday' documentary [1971], 6 Dec 2010
By 
easy_action (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
Really enjoyed watching all three of the DVD's in this set. The main feature (the original 1971 documentary), mainly focuses on dirt track and motocross, with a smattering of track based racing. It basically follows the fortunes of a small group of star riders during one season, interspersed with general commentary on the different forms motorcycling sport around at that point. Steve McQueen makes regular appearances throughout, mainly shots of him participating and hanging out with the other guys.

It gives a pretty amazing taste of biking life in early seventies USA, and this really brings home how far things have changed since then. It did leave me feeling kind of melancholy, a kind of regret for missing out on a period before I was born (and a bit jealous of all that West Coast sunshine!).

The picture and sound quality is not exactly HD, but that kind of adds to the charm. The 2nd and 3rd discs add additional footage recorded at the time, and commentary from those involved. I particularly enjoyed the retrospective on Steve McQueen - by all accounts an amazing guy.

If you've ever enjoyed the pleasures of motorcycling, and particularly if you are interested in biking motor sport, I think you will probably enjoy this very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good motorcycling movie, 13 Sep 2003
Like the vhs, this film catches the spirit of the people who rides road and off road motor bikes. Great fun with Smith, and Steve Mcqueen. Great images of the Baja and the 1970 ISDT of San Lorenzo de El Escorial, Spain. The package also includes, On any sunday Revisited and Malcom, motocross and more. Those last two are documentals talking about the original On Any Sunday, I do not like it too much. Very good 3 DVDs package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars on any sunday, 4 April 2009
By 
Mjprior (Darlington England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fantasic iconic film that once you start watching it you cant tear yourself away. A motor cyclists must see especially if your from the 70s / 80s era. Real how it was done in the good-old days before the nanny state took over and health and safety was invented just to spoil things.
It shares the ups and downs and the good times and hardships and pain of being a competative motorcyclist on the american circuit and brings back house hold names of that time. Steve Mcqueen is a revalation. I hope you find this personel review of help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Any Sunday [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
10.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews