Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul Heaven from Miss 'Re, 10 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. J. H. LANDAU (Pinner,Middx) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rare & Unreleased Recordings From The Golden Reign Of The Queen Of Soul (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful tribute to the most soulful and productive period of her career.
The outakes,and demos far from detracting from the performances, allow her voice,piano and supporting musicians to come to the fore.
And what a line up of backing players and singers.Absolutely stellar- The Sweet Inspirations ,Billy Preston,Melvin Lastie,Bernard Purdie,King Curtis,and the king of the guitar in-fill Mr Cornell Dupree are just some of the performers who grace this set.
For sheer soul,passion and yearning vocals ''Are you leaving me'' ''I want to be with you'' Bobby Womack's ''Thats the way I feel about cha'' are standouts.
Also we must not pass over- ''The Letter'' and a beautiful reading of Edna McGriff's '50s R&B hit ''Heavenly Father''
An excellent booklet and session notes complements this set,which for me is the soul CD release of 2007.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Aretha fans, 29 Dec 2007
By 
Andy Edwards "staxasoul" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rare & Unreleased Recordings From The Golden Reign Of The Queen Of Soul (Audio CD)
Aretha Franklin needs no introduction as the Queen of Soul and the number of Aretha collections available bears testimony to the longevity and the quality of her work. The period 1967 to 1974, when she recorded 10 studio albums and 3 live albums for Atlantic, is the Golden Reign referred to in the title of this set, and the tracks were all recorded during sessions for those albums. During those 7 years, her life had many ups and downs, and the music she made clearly reflected those highs and lows.

Kicking off with the demo which started it all, Aretha does "Never Loved a Man" with just a piano, bass and drum for company, and then we're off and running into the bluesy "Dr Feelgood". From 2 well known tracks, "Sweet Bitter Love" has just the vocal and Aretha on piano. These 3 stripped down demos show the essence of Aretha's Golden Reign - her voice and her piano playing.

What is surprising is that so many of these gems did not find release, either as singles or on album, and the sheer breadth of material Aretha attempted. So there's the Gospel infused Soul that is familiar, but also she interprets Blues from Little Willie John, Pop from the Beatles and songs made famous by a host of Soul artists, always adding her own style. She even does "My Way" and finds something new in the song.

As well as the music, there are superb notes from Jerry Wexler and David Ritz. In fact they are worth the price of the album on their own, as no one could know more about working with Aretha than Jerry Wexler, the producer of most of the Atlantic albums. His insights are both informative and moving.

If you have only ever heard Aretha on compilation albums, then this album may not be for you. Get some of those Atlantic albums first, get behind the hits and discover the full magic that Aretha had during that 7 year period. If you do then you will begin to appreciate just how significant this set is for Aretha aficionados. For us it is essential. Put simply, if you regard yourself as a fan of Aretha you MUST own this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one and only Queen of Soul, an absolute must-have for Aretha fans, 31 July 2007
By 
Peace Brotha (Ohio, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rare & Unreleased Recordings From The Golden Reign Of The Queen Of Soul (Audio CD)
Let's make one thing clear right off the bat: "Rare & Unreleased Recordings from the Golden Reign of the Queen of Soul" is essential for any fan of Aretha Franklin's, period. But it's also recommended for any lover of genuine soul music in general.

Some of us who are Aretha Franklin fans have been awaiting this particular set for a long, long time. We'd read all about the tracks recorded during this session or that session, usually described on each of Aretha's Atlantic releases in detail by the Ambassador of Soul, David Nathan. But we've only been able to imagine what they sounded like, wondering all the while why at least a few of them just couldn't have been included as bonus tracks.

Only able to imagine until now, that is. Finally, an excellent sampling of the demos or out of print B-sides the Queen cut during THE years of 1966-1973 are commercially available. And what a sampling it is. From the opening demos on the first disc (which range from firecrackers to dynamite) to the closing ballads which have arrangements reminiscent of her Columbia period, these are songs which any casual to hardcore fan of Aretha Franklin's MUST have.

To be certain, there are revelatory moments. Some cuts are truly artistic in every sense of the word with a depth of feeling and musicianship beyond compare (Trying To Overcome, Pledging My Love/The Clock, and the "WOW!" duet with Ray Charles). After all, Aretha earned and deserved -- and still deserves -- her crown as the Queen Of Soul, getting that feeling, that emotion, that can-you-feel-what-I'm-saying vibe across. She gets that across even in 2007 when she is feeling it, although it doesn't come across on studio recordings like it used to. But the focus, passion and intensity that plainly and consistently marked the pre-1974 phase of her career is present on 75% of the songs in this collection.

Other tracks simply let you marvel at the quality of Aretha's unusual vocal gifts during her prime (Love Letters, At Last). The same vocal range and abilities that allowed her to convey soul better than just about anyone could also override restraint at times. A case can be made that is something that happens at times in gospel and soul music in general, and Aretha is not exempt. It goes with the territory. Overall though, there is comparatively little self-indulgence or just singing for singing's sake ... although one can tell that the mind-blowing passion and intensity referenced earlier started to wane a tad by the time you get to the second half of disc 2, which would only be natural over time.

Virtually every song here affirms why Aretha holds the place in musical history that she does, but there is nothing here that outdoes what's already been commercially released. Obviously, Aretha would have earned every accolade she already did if these songs had never seen the light of the day (although a couple of these seem Grammy-ready for the time, lol). Further, some of these may be eye-openers for people that are only familiar with the mega-hits like Respect and Think. But it's doubtful that folks who own Aretha's greatest hits sets and other compilations from the Atlantic era will become any more of a fan based solely on these tracks, since it mirrors so much of her other work.

But -- that's precisely the same reason why any real Aretha fan can't be without this Golden Reign collection: it's simply more of the same from that super-creative time period that in many ways defined that classic Aretha sound. There are a few rough edges to be sure. These are called demos and outtakes for a reason. But there are only a few rough edges, and they are not enough to ruin the listening experience, as has happened with other veteran artists' tapes that have finally been "released from the vaults."

Many thanks to Rhino, David Nathan, Jerry Wexler, and the Queen herself for making this reissue possible. Now, people the world over can hear a just a few more examples of genuine, heartfelt soul music from a period in history that is not likely to be repeated again.

Long live the one and only Queen Of Soul, Aretha Louise Franklin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nuff said!!!, 17 Feb 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rare & Unreleased Recordings From The Golden Reign Of The Queen Of Soul (Audio CD)
Soul nectar, from the Queen.

This is jaw-dropping astonishing stuff. There is so much heart and soul in 'I'm Trying to Overcome' that I wonder why other singers actually bother...

Even if you don't know much of her work, this double CD set is essential. Her cover versions, again, give old songs new meaning.

Listen. Listen again. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ESSENTIAL COLLECTION - 10 STARS RATING, 30 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rare & Unreleased Recordings From The Golden Reign Of The Queen Of Soul (Audio CD)
Just suppose a Martian arrived at your doorstep and wanted to know about "Soul Music" - this is what you would play. Aretha was at the very height of her powers, and all this stuff - demos amd out takes for me are even more enjoyable than what was released at the time. You will hear Aretha with sparce backing and mimimal production, going places only she could - she grabs hold of a song amd makes it her own - and only Joe Cocker rivals that special talemt. It is amazing these wonderful sounds have been kept in the vaults for so long - but I am so grateful this stuff has appeared. By a mile the greatest ever Aretha collection - worth easily 10x the typical reail price. This is an essential purchase - but be warned this is the real thing - it'll make you cry. Sadly after the 70's Aretha' recorded and live performances plummeted from these dizzy heights and bear no resemblance to what she was doing then. This is an essential purchase for any lover of the soul genre - you play it and think no, no, no, music cannot be this good - I must have died and gone to heaven. I cannot believe there will ever be a better CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love is a Serious Business, 18 Dec 2007
By 
David R. Bishop "Bishbaby" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rare & Unreleased Recordings From The Golden Reign Of The Queen Of Soul (Audio CD)
This is 140 minutes of almost all unreleased demos, outtakes, and alternate versions recorded by Aretha Franklin at her artistic and commercial prime at Atlantic.

The demos are truly amazing. It took me half an hour to get past the first three tracks the first time I listened. Just Aretha's voice, her instinctive and organic piano playing, and a little percussion, it is just stunning. It has a different effect to the 'deep pocket' Memphis style grooves that we are used to (much as I love those grooves!). It leaves me believing that she would have been a star in any era in any genre.

With fuller lyrics, I now understand the bracketed sub-title to Doctor Feelgood, hence my review title. This version of Van McCoy's 'Sweet Bitter Love' really does it for me. Her emotional connection with the lyrics really comes through. This release makes it the only song, as far as I know, that she releaesd on Columbia, Arista and now Atlantic.

The alternate versions of tracks like 'Rock Steady' and 'I'm In Love' show her artistry, as she does exciting, different things with her voice, than we know on the hit versions.

Disc 2 contains no less than seven outtakes and an alternate version from 'Hey Now Hey, The Other Side Of The Sky'. It is not an album that I know well, beyond its big hit single, but if these are the outtakes, I must get a copy. of it.

I was a couple of months late getting this album. If there is any more stuff in the vaults that they release, I will put my name down on the pre-order list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rare & Unreleased Recordings From The Golden Reign Of The Queen Of Soul (Audio CD)
What an album. Without doubt the Queen of Soul. This must be in your collection. You will never grow tired of it. Nothing more to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Must buy, 21 May 2014
By 
Bensalem Karim (Brugge, West Vlaanderen Belgium) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rare & Unreleased Recordings From The Golden Reign Of The Queen Of Soul (Audio CD)
Aretha Franklin is truly the Queen of soul with a capital Q. Fantastic to get to know some of the rarely played tunes from this artist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mind blowingly fabulous!, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rare & Unreleased Recordings From The Golden Reign Of The Queen Of Soul (Audio CD)
She can do no wrong in my eyes and her genius just shines through every track. Pure Aretha gold, and a purchase you definitely wont regret, but wish you'd bought earlier. Stunning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars real soul, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rare & Unreleased Recordings From The Golden Reign Of The Queen Of Soul (Audio CD)
A great classic if you love Arethas you will love this CD one of her best, great to listen any time of day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews