Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three creepy classics
I'm only writing this review in an attempt to increase the Average Customer Rating after noticing a "reviewer" bizarrely gave this collection only one star. There is really nothing I can say that hasn't already been covered by the two sensible reviewers and Amazon's own review.

What I will say is that Vincent Price and Roger Corman are both regarded as legends...
Published on 1 Oct 2009 by P. Hanson

versus
10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the Vincent
I bought all 3 of these separately from Amazon for about the same total price ,as the poor review above suggested to me that there maybe something wrong with the box set. I found out later that the fault lies with the reviewer who can't be bothered to follow common sense when it comes to entering reviews in the correct manner.
So-I'm assuming the collection has the...
Published on 8 Dec 2008 by Gizmophobic


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three creepy classics, 1 Oct 2009
By 
P. Hanson (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Roger Corman Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I'm only writing this review in an attempt to increase the Average Customer Rating after noticing a "reviewer" bizarrely gave this collection only one star. There is really nothing I can say that hasn't already been covered by the two sensible reviewers and Amazon's own review.

What I will say is that Vincent Price and Roger Corman are both regarded as legends in the film world - and rightly so, both are one-offs. For someone to award this collection of their finest work together only one star is quite frankly an insult to these two great men.

This collection comprises of three films. House Of Usher (1960) and Masque Of The Red Death (1964) are both masterpieces of the horror genre. The Pit And The Pendulum (1961) has its merits, but isn't in the same league as the other two. Vincent Price is outstanding in all three films. Like Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee, he acted with a gravity and professionalism seldom seen in horror films. He made what he did on screen look easy, yet of course it wasn't - it took decades of experience and an immense amount of talent.

The picture and sound quality on all three films is excellent, especially considering their age. All three films are in widescreen. There are no extras on the DVDs, except for the original theatrical trailer for House Of Usher. All three DVDs are housed in separate slim-line cases which are kept in a sturdy cardboard slipcase which is about 1 inch (2.5cm) thick and therefore wont take up much space on your shelf. Each DVD has the same artwork on the cover as the individual releases.

Take it from me (someone who actually owns this set and who has actually watched all three films) this is an excellent collection. Whether you're a fan of Vincent Price, Roger Corman, Edger Allan Poe adaptations or simply a lover of classic horror films - you wont be disappointed with this set.

For those new to the films of Vincent Price, this collection offers a perfect introduction. Then, may I suggest, checking out Witchfinder General (restored version), Theatre Of Blood, The Abominable Dr Phibes and its sequel Dr Phibes Rises Again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary series of films, 16 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Roger Corman Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Working within the confines of miniscule budgets and tight shooting schedules, Roger Corman somehow managed to stamp his signature on this unique series of movies - so successfully, in fact, that their visual flair, morbid atmosphere, and European sensibilities have continued to influence film-makers ever since. This is pre-slasher movie horror; think grand, dream-like and magnificent. A must-have edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good to have, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Roger Corman Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I've been after these films for some time and to get them all together in a single set is terrific. I hope that there will soon be collections of the other Vincent Price movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice box., 22 Dec 2008
By 
S. O'ROURKE "Generic internet ID" (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Roger Corman Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Love this box set. My three fave Price/Corman/Poe movies in one nice slip-box. No advantage over the individual releases, and a bit of a shame they're not remastered, but then they're exactly as I remember. And they're in their proper aspect ration, no stupid 4:3.

Any Price Corman fans should buy this now. End of! Hey, even people who don't like Usher keep watching it apparently!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classics, 11 May 2011
By 
firebear62 (Leeds, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Roger Corman Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Absolute classics. Vincent Price at his twisted best. No bad language, no sex, just good entertainment. If you like the old Hammer Horror movies, you'll certainly enjoy these three classic horror tales.
Treat yourself, get out the pringles, open a bottle of wine, light the candles, turn off the lights, and enjoy some good old fashioned gothic horror ...... because you're worth it !!
And at a very good price for 3 movies, you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 classic vincent price horrors, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Roger Corman Collection [DVD] (DVD)
very good service ,boxed brand new sealed .very good value .fast delivery .these classic horrors of 70's worth the price,great fun and entertaining.to think these were scary once lol.great collectors lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tops, 6 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Roger Corman Collection [DVD] (DVD)
gr8 product,1st class the three dvd box set was just what i was looking for,good condition and well worth a watch ,if only to see mr price at his very best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the Vincent, 8 Dec 2008
By 
Gizmophobic - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Roger Corman Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I bought all 3 of these separately from Amazon for about the same total price ,as the poor review above suggested to me that there maybe something wrong with the box set. I found out later that the fault lies with the reviewer who can't be bothered to follow common sense when it comes to entering reviews in the correct manner.
So-I'm assuming the collection has the same prints etc. as the individual releases. This is relevant as my copy of 'The Fall of the house of Usher' looks like a VHS transfer-or at least a poor print-very sparky in places.
Re the movies of course I remember them from the good old days when you could catch a Corman/Hammer/Univeral horror almost every weekend on BBC2,or so it seemed. In fairness to the above- Yes they are all oddities-Corman had a low budget even compared to Hammer, and although squeezing every dollar it shows. The artwork is very 60s,the performances glorious camp from Price, who has to carry both 'Usher' and The pit and the pendulum' almost entirely on his own. The latter is the least of the three-it does drag a lot although the ending is worth it.
The Masque of the Red Death is a whole other matter. Price is given some support from his evil sidekick-can't remember the actor-and the scenes of bullying/humiliation are still disturbing-even more so is an astonishing aside as to the (potential)abuse of a child dancer-how this got past the 60s censor......? Jane Asher also makes a rather wooden peasant which adds to the show.
Its hard to be objective about these as they are very much tied to their 70s T.V. context for me. Also I'm resisting the temptation to redress the balance -they probably deserve 3 stars overall-start with the red death if you are new to them - oh and try and watch them all if you want to review them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror good buy, 28 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Roger Corman Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this as a xmas present for my husband big fan of Poe stories and had enjoyed these films don't see them on tv that much and seemed a reasonable price. He's pleased with them guess what we're watching right now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor box spoils purchase, 29 April 2013
By 
Ian Beaumont "Ian" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Roger Corman Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Sadly the box is in very poor condition, in contrast to its description. The DVD as far as I know are OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Roger Corman Collection [DVD]
The Roger Corman Collection [DVD] by Roger Corman (DVD - 2007)
11.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews