Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

96 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for fans, 24 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Louis Theroux - The Collection (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This 4 disc collection contains:

Weird weekends

Black nationalism
Head for the hills
Gangsta rap*
Porn*
South Africa
Swingers
Thai Brides
Wrestling*

When Louis met:

Jimmy*
Paul & Debbie
The Hamiltons*
Chris Eubank
Ann Widdecombe

Louis &
the Nazis
the Brothel

Louis's bits from TV Nation

*Previously available on The Best of Weird Weekends vol 1 & 2 dvds.

For anyone hard of hearing, English subtitles are included

When I first saw this for preorder I was overjoyed because I thought the collection would be complete. Alas it's missing a lot of great Louis Theroux episodes- some available on past dvds (Hypnosis, UFOs) but many unreleased (Infomercials, Off off broadway, Demolition derby, Louis & Michael Jackson...). Louis writes in the insert that he wanted to include "When Louis met Max Clifford" in the set but Simon Cowell refused to give legal permission. Fans like myself then, can only hope they release a 2nd volume in the near future and Simon finds his sense of humour and relents. Needless to say however that what is part of this collection is well worth the investment.

The back of the dvd box states that due to copyright there have been some edits made to some episodes but I can happily say that whatever edits were made aren't noticible overall. There do seem to be a couple of abrupt cuts in one or two episodes but I have no idea if that wasn't how they were originally broadcast.

Lazily the only extras in this collection are a very young looking Louis' reports from Michael Moore's old TV Nation show. At the very least they could have ported the extras from the previous Weird weekend dvds to this set. At most episode commentaries would have been a very welcome addition.

Regardless of all the could-have-beens if you're a Louis Theroux fan this is an essential purchase and I would also recommend getting his book/audiobook in which Louis revisits and follows up on many of the subjects featured in this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the WLM Jimmy alone, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Louis Theroux - The Collection (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
WLM Jimmy was filmed when Jimmy Saville was still a national treasure

Watching the programme now, knowing what we now know, is a very different experience to watching it back then!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Documentaries at their best, 12 Jan. 2008
By 
Rp Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Louis Theroux - The Collection (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This collection is an excellent tribute to Louis Theroux's work over the past decade or so. His unique style of interviewing is great. He puts himself in the most awkward of scenarios and manages to make his audience laugh, think and react in ways only he could. A mixture of well-known 'celeb' interviews and 'weird culture' documentaries makes this collection a real insight into how people live. The DVD includes hours of interesting viewing for Theroux fans or for those people out there who are yet to experience this talented man at work. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Louis Theroux - The Collection (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Louis never fails to disappoint. If you like him, then you will absolutely love this. Worth buying for 'When Louis Met Jimmy' alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Louis Theroux - The Collection, 24 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Dandy (Southport, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Louis Theroux - The Collection (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Although now about 10 years on from the production of this series, it is still entertaining, revealing and educational about those more weird activities and persons in life. Absorbing stuff from an original and engaging investigator who asks the questions we would dearly love to ask ourselves, in a very direct but benign way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best documentaries you will find, 19 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Louis Theroux - The Collection (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Louis theroux is a genius in my eyes and with this set you will agree,the way he works with people to bring out what they try to hide and the way he subtley exploits people with ridiculous,often offensive beliefs is wonderful. There are a few classics missing due to people not giving consent but this is still a flawless line up and a must have for louis fans,documentary fans and people with a love of wry humour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 23 Nov. 2012
By 
C. Nichols (Redditch, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Louis Theroux - The Collection (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I love Louis and I love how he's straight to the point when trying to get an answer. Very comical and thought provoking. A definite must if you're a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Before I Watched the DVD, 19 Dec. 2008
By 
This review is from: Louis Theroux - The Collection (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
For Many years I have enjoyed watching the quick and amusing interviews/ situations, louis Theroux has created for the BBC and the public, this DVD is of no exception, therefore i highly advise anyone if they want a perfect night in, to watch and enjoy this DVD at night while sipping a brew with a few biscuits for ducking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money., 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Louis Theroux - The Collection (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
What a guy. How does he keep a straight face? Highlights the number of egotistical, wierd, troubled people in this world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Louis Theroux - The Collection (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
intresting reporter very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Louis Theroux - The Collection (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD]
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews