Customer Reviews


322 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (45)
2 star:
 (50)
1 star:
 (57)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent, atmospheric, if a little overhyped
It's a good film.

The plot keeps you interested although I was a little disappointed when it degenerated into a "race-against-time, chaser". Still, the ending is pretty unconventional in Hollywood terms and that has to add to the credits.

The science of the plot was a little over-hyped and it's taken a bit of a knock now that some of the inaccuracies...
Published on 11 Feb 2009 by Crookedmouth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sunshine: failed to shine
Danny Boyle's foray into Science fiction is a film that I regard with mixed feelings. It starts off well, with an intelligent and well thought out premise and series of situations, but for the final third loses it's credibility as a poorly resolved attempt at philosophising and the nature of god appears, and the film descends into a morass of headache inducing jolting...
Published 21 months ago by Victor


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent, atmospheric, if a little overhyped, 11 Feb 2009
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (As seen on iPlayer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
It's a good film.

The plot keeps you interested although I was a little disappointed when it degenerated into a "race-against-time, chaser". Still, the ending is pretty unconventional in Hollywood terms and that has to add to the credits.

The science of the plot was a little over-hyped and it's taken a bit of a knock now that some of the inaccuracies & fallacies have been exposed. However, for the intelligent layman that sort of thing is not obviously noticeable (the explosion of the bomb at end mystified me a little tho') and it's possible to watch the film and come away thinking that you've seen something a little more intelligent than "Coneheads".

The atmosphere set up by the sets and effects is an oppressive, claustrophobic one and adds hugely to the film. The space suits were designed carefully to give a feeling of enclosure but that applies equally well to the space ship itself. The sense of the nearness, hugeness and raw power of the sun is well conveyed and it's hard to watch the film without a chill running down your spine.

I found the characterisation a little light - really the only character I ended up caring about was Murphy's scientist, and Searle, the psychologist, was intriguing. The rest of them appeared to be there to carry the story and more could have been made of the tensions between the crew.

Good effort - let's see more of this.

"At the end of time, a moment will come when just one man remains. Then the moment will pass. Man will be gone. There will be nothing to show that we were ever here... but stardust."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


255 of 303 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 5 Nov 2007
By 
David Morrison (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
A lot of people have given this negative reviews on here. I've read their reviews and the main criticisms seem to be:

1. It's boring. That's true, if you're the kind of person who can't sit through any film that doesn't have gunfire and explosions through 90% of the movie.

2. It's not a good Sci-Fi movie like Armageddon. Well, the fact that these people think Armageddon is great tells us something about their taste.

3. It's scientifically inaccurate. I find it hilarious that these critics think they know more about physics than Dr Cox, the scientific advisor who provides a commentary on the DVD. Of course there is artistic licence, but there's nothing wrong with that.

4. The end doesn't make sense. No, the end is confusing - there's a big difference.

5. The characters are paper thin. Again, not true. There is so much depth to the characters, but you need to actually think about it. Like any good script, this shows us the depth to the characters, rather than telling us. Look especially at Chris Evans' character.

This is an amazing film, and is easily the best of 2007 (so far). There are plenty of films for the people who didn't like this, but there are only a few movies with the perfect mix of style and substance that Sunshine achieves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Visual Masterpiece, 7 Feb 2012
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This review gives a short review of the film itself before concentrating on the extras. Hopefully this will help potential purchasers decide whether they want this movie in their collection.

I saw this movie twice at the cinema. Now I have the DVD, the more I watch this film the more impressed I am: camerawork, editing - both sound AND picture - music, effects are all worthy of praise. The acting too is good, although some of the diction of the actors leave a little to be desired. But overall, this is a triumph of British cinema: a visual masterpiece.

There are a few problems with the otherwise-excellent plot. For example, how come no one is Capa's deputy in case he becomes indisposed? How come no one protests when Mace volunteers Capa to go outside with the captain to assess the damage to the shield? And why does Capa go alone to the observation room to see who is the fifth unknown crew member, and why would the computer allow the room to be drenched with full sunlight when it was occupied?

One of the few things I would change is that I would have used John Murphy's excellent music over the closing credits, thus leaving the audience to leave the cinema on a high.

My DVD comes with a chirpy commentary by Danny Boyle (pre-Slumdog) in which he comments on the tricks employed in the movie, the colour palette, camerawork and other technical issues. He acknowledges that serious science fiction requires a slow pace, and identifies the three elements that all serious sci-fi films possess: a ship, a crew, and a signal that changes everything.

As influences, he name-checks Scott's `Alien', Kubrick's `2001', and Tarkovsky's `Solaris' as the main influences; but also `Apocalypse Now!' (seeing Pinbacker as a Kurtz-figure, and suggesting `Sunshine' could have been called, after Conrad, `Heart of Lightness') , `Das Boot', `Shallow Grave', and `Blade Runner'. The only other thing I would mention about Boyle's commentary is the great disservice he does to Cornish pasties: cardboard ingredients indeed!

The second commentary is by the physicist Brian Cox, who advised on the film. He was told it had to be believable but that some compromises had to be made, so the science was `bended' here and there for artistic licence. To address the basic premise of the movie he proposes the existence of super-symmetric particles (Q-Balls) and bets with the audience that these will have been found by 2017. Cox's is also a useful commentary for explaining some of the events on-board, such as why the oxygen garden burned and Capa's thinking behind blowing the airlock door.

The other extras include nineteen minutes of deleted scenes, most of which should have been included in the movie in my opinion. These scenes, as well as being interesting in themselves, answered some questions: for instance, why there are no suits in Icarus I. Then there follows a whole host of short documentaries on various aspects of the film, including each of the eight-member crew, technical issues, the physics involved, and set design etc. Danny Boyle also chucks in two short films by other directors, but these fail to impress.

Overall then, this is a generous DVD package for a film that, in my opinion, gives more every time it's watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sunshine: failed to shine, 20 Nov 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Danny Boyle's foray into Science fiction is a film that I regard with mixed feelings. It starts off well, with an intelligent and well thought out premise and series of situations, but for the final third loses it's credibility as a poorly resolved attempt at philosophising and the nature of god appears, and the film descends into a morass of headache inducing jolting camera effects for the big climax. Actually, it's structurally a bit like 2001, except that the ending is less weird and more annoying.

Cillian Murphy and co are en route to a prematurely dying sun in an impressively realised ship to reboot it with a big bomb. This story of their journey to the sun is well done, though the characters do suffer a little from a lack of back story that makes it hard to care about them when they die off. The special effects are excellent, and the story well planned to give a feeling of tension and an intelligent reality. It's when they get to the sun the rot sets in and the film goes against its own milieu, introducing elements that cannot be explained by science and becoming a bit metaphysical. It lets down what was otherwise a decent film. 3 stars in total.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'A 'DAZZLING' BLU-RAY EXPIERIENCE', 8 Jun 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I think when first advertised the hype for 'Sunshine' gave people expectations beyond it's real quality.
I did in fact see this in the cinema when released, although i enjoyed it, i was left feeling disapointed a little, i wasn't sure.
the film is not a fast moving action movie, but the tension you could indeed cut with a knife.
An eight man crew set off to save the World, failure to direct the pay-load successfully into the 'dying' sun would mean the end of mankind.( a previous mission had failed, but why ? )
The film is set in the not to distant future, could we readh that point some time soon or is it pure sci-fi fantasy ?
i bought the film on 'blu-ray' because i thought the film would 'shine' on this format.......i was right, the film on blu-ray for both picture quality and surround sound is a must own for all you Sci-fi Buffs.
A good film to re-visit if not seen for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars “Sunshine” on BLU RAY – Compatibility Issues With The ‘US’ Disc…, 14 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
It seems almost mean to welch on a Danny Boyle film - but for me 2007’s "Sunshine" is a strange beast that only half works for most of its scorched duration.

In 2057 our Earth is dying – freezing over in a permanent winter. After the failure of “Icarus” (a first attempt at igniting the core of the Sun) – a second last-ditch space mission is organized to deliver a payload right into the Star’s internal short and curlies. The only small problem is that the Sun is 93 million miles away and has a surface that’s gurgling in the cosmos at 10 million degrees Fahrenheit. That and the fact that exposure to such heat (even half way there) can singe your eyebrows or drive you and your crew stark raving mad. Star’s eh…

Up steps our band of hipster Scientists and Desperados to save the planet - even if it means sacrificing themselves to do so. For the ladies there are Cillian Murphy’s piercing blue eyes (apparently an object of uber lust) and for lesser mortals like me and a million other Sci-Fi geeks - there are plenty of jaw-dropping special effects (most of which are based around a bulbous Heat Shield at the front of the long Space cruiser). So what’s not to love?

The ludicrously youngish age of the astronauts on such an important mission stretches credibility for the whole duration of the movie (box office draw over reality) and the crew being picked off by some malevolent force has just been done one too many times before - even if there is a clever twist to it. And then the story gets so convoluted towards the end that “Sunshine” stops being entertaining and starts to entertain the idea that its deep – a sort of “2001: A Space Odyssey” when it just isn’t.

Also you should note the following – if you’re going to buy "Sunshine" on BR – avoid the American 20th Century Fox issue – it’s REGION A LOCKED and therefore won’t play on our machines unless they’re chipped to be ‘all regions’ (which few are).

Still – having said all that – it’s a proper looker on BLU RAY and it’s cheap too.

You could do worse. You could fall down a Canyon in Utah and chop your arm off…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere within this galaxy..., 3 Mar 2014
By 
MJB (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
…or rather within this film is a much better one. It uses a simple but effective premise to hook our interest, but unfortunately character and plot development are subjugated to the sound and visual effects and these ultimately swamp the storyline. In fact, the tale finally lapses into a cosmic variation on the ‘old dark house’-style of melodrama, a format that has been done to death even in this context.

All of this is rather regrettable, as the production design and execution are excellent. If only the same attention had been given to the characters and the plot the whole experience would have been far more satisfying, but too many events and motivations are unexplained and the characters are sketched too lightly for us to care about them.

This strikes me as yet another of those films that could be remade in a far more satisfying way, although experience has shown that only the films that were right the first time ever seem to get that treatment. Let’s just hope that if the situation depicted here should ever arise we won’t put the future of mankind in the hands of people quite like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
found this film kept me glued to the tv and was a great plot with a twist, this keeps the dramatic element alive. the strategic element to the plot keeps you entertained and with a bit of action and slight horror its got everything a film needs.
it passed my expectations so much so that this is the first rating i have done from many purchases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kaneda! What Do You See?, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant film, with a wonderful soundtrack.
A fine cast.
This belongs next to the gem 'Moon'..:)

Danny Boyle should do more Sci-Fi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good film, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good british film. makes u think about what is something went wrong with the sun.. who knows whats round the corner..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sunshine [DVD] [2007]
Sunshine [DVD] [2007] by Danny Boyle (DVD - 2007)
2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews