Customer Reviews


330 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (45)
2 star:
 (51)
1 star:
 (58)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


258 of 309 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
A lot of people have given this negative reviews on here. I've read their reviews and the main criticisms seem to be:

1. It's boring. That's true, if you're the kind of person who can't sit through any film that doesn't have gunfire and explosions through 90% of the movie.

2. It's not a good Sci-Fi movie like Armageddon. Well, the fact that these...
Published on 5 Nov 2007 by David Morrison

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere within this galaxy...
…or rather within this film is a much better one. It uses a simple but effective premise to hook our interest, but unfortunately character and plot development are subjugated to the sound and visual effects and these ultimately swamp the storyline. In fact, the tale finally lapses into a cosmic variation on the ‘old dark house’-style of melodrama, a...
Published 9 months ago by MJB


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere within this galaxy..., 3 Mar 2014
By 
MJB (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
…or rather within this film is a much better one. It uses a simple but effective premise to hook our interest, but unfortunately character and plot development are subjugated to the sound and visual effects and these ultimately swamp the storyline. In fact, the tale finally lapses into a cosmic variation on the ‘old dark house’-style of melodrama, a format that has been done to death even in this context.

All of this is rather regrettable, as the production design and execution are excellent. If only the same attention had been given to the characters and the plot the whole experience would have been far more satisfying, but too many events and motivations are unexplained and the characters are sketched too lightly for us to care about them.

This strikes me as yet another of those films that could be remade in a far more satisfying way, although experience has shown that only the films that were right the first time ever seem to get that treatment. Let’s just hope that if the situation depicted here should ever arise we won’t put the future of mankind in the hands of people quite like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning: this film will self-destruct in 83 minutes, 23 Aug 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
For about 83 minutes, Danny Boyle's Sunshine is an above average sci-fi film with a great hook - a potential suicide mission to reignite the dying sun - and, if not entirely realistic (the sun's far too powerful to approach even with heat shields), it's at least credible enough to dispel any worries that this is going to turn out to be Solar Crisis 2. Thanks to some excellent character development (with one underwritten exception in Troy Garity's case), the first two thirds work because the focus is kept firmly on the human element, and it's human error that is the root cause of the increasing obstacles that threaten the mission. When things go wrong at first, it's a series of logical consequences of a mathematical error, and the film follows these through with a mechanical logic, constantly proving adept at offering hope only to remove it.

Unfortunately it misses a few opportunities by keeping too cool a head at times: rather than tempers rising along with the temperature and rational decision making being affected by the purely physical affects of an increasingly hostile environment providing the drama, Boyle and writer Alex Garland show the same confusion over how to end this picture as they famously did with 28 Days Later and decide to introduce an external threat which takes the phrase deus ex machina to new lows. The nature of the threat didn't work for George Pal in the 1950s and works even worse here.

Things start to get dodgy around an airlock sequence where it's revealed that tinfoil and holding your breath might just work in a minus 272 degree vacuum. And, in retrospect, it seems unbelievable that the life of the only crew member who knows how to program their payload would be risked needlessly out of a fit of pique from one character earlier in the film (or indeed that on such a crucial mission there would be only one crew member to know how to do it). But it's with the introduction of an anomaly on the oxygen supply that the film's IQ drops to single figures as it makes a sudden severe shift of genre and into the realms of absurdity. Characters don't communicate and put themselves needlessly at risk, Chris Evans suddenly develops such an immunity to low temperatures you're wondering if you're watching outtakes from Fantastic Four and, what's even worse is that having created two more than efficient female characters in Michelle Yeoh and Rose Byrne, it gives them absolutely nothing to do in the attempts to salvage the mission, deciding instead to reduce them to dispensable victims: that's just so 70s, Danny. Just to put the tin lid on it, even within it's own suddenly limited ambitions, these sequences are extremely poorly executed with a notable lack of tension and an almost comical belief that blurring the screen or smearing the lens with Vaseline is inherently frightening. And it gets confusing as hell. I don't think I've seen a film so completely shoot itself in the foot in the home stretch since Tequila Sunrise.

Within this section there are still some good moments, but if only they'd removed the external element and reshot and reedited the ending and put their faith in the inherent drama of the premise. Like throwing a lion at a character attempting to walk a tightrope over a pit of alligators while under heavy machine-gun fire to up the risk factor (Armageddon not enough for you, boys?), it simply reduced the audience to laughter. A shame, because it coulda been a contender, but despite some good visuals and strong performances (particularly Hiroyuki Sanada and Cliff Curtis in what could have been throwaway parts) I just left the theatre thinking how much more technically accomplished the ending of Event Horizon was, and that's never a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


258 of 309 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 5 Nov 2007
By 
David Morrison (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
A lot of people have given this negative reviews on here. I've read their reviews and the main criticisms seem to be:

1. It's boring. That's true, if you're the kind of person who can't sit through any film that doesn't have gunfire and explosions through 90% of the movie.

2. It's not a good Sci-Fi movie like Armageddon. Well, the fact that these people think Armageddon is great tells us something about their taste.

3. It's scientifically inaccurate. I find it hilarious that these critics think they know more about physics than Dr Cox, the scientific advisor who provides a commentary on the DVD. Of course there is artistic licence, but there's nothing wrong with that.

4. The end doesn't make sense. No, the end is confusing - there's a big difference.

5. The characters are paper thin. Again, not true. There is so much depth to the characters, but you need to actually think about it. Like any good script, this shows us the depth to the characters, rather than telling us. Look especially at Chris Evans' character.

This is an amazing film, and is easily the best of 2007 (so far). There are plenty of films for the people who didn't like this, but there are only a few movies with the perfect mix of style and substance that Sunshine achieves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Are you an angel? Has the time come? I've been waiting so long., 10 Oct 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
We are in the not too distant future and the Sun is fading out. After a first mission to reignite it with a nuclear bomb fails, with the ship apparently lost in space, a new team are sent to try again. But it really isn't as simple as that.......

Director Danny Boyle and writer Alex Garland team up once again for this sci-fi adventure thriller. For as long as I can personally remember, outer space and the planets that dwell within it, have always served us well for cinematic treats. Fears of the unknown and worries over the destruction of Earth, by and large make for great premise's. Not all films realise this potential of course, but it always makes for a great starting point. For his first venture into this realm, Boyle has gone for the Sun as his point of reference, and it makes for a marvellously claustrophobic picture that poses as many questions as it does answers. And even tho ultimately the science fiction aspects of it do not naturally add up, it's dazzling in its visuals and thought provoking into the bargain.

Boyle has never hid his influences and favourites from the public, and here he homages everything from Alien to Event Horizon, stopping for tea and crumpets at 2001s house along the way. But that is no bad thing, molding elements from great sci-fi past with his own intriguing story has given Sunshine a tremendous heart, to which Boyle then manages to cloak it with high quality drama. The crew are up there and we know that this is a genre piece and things invariably go wrong, this gives the discerning viewer an eager anticipation, a sense that one shouldn't go to the toilet for something will be missed. And Boyle lives up to the promise showed, such a pity then, that Boyle didn't let us get better acquainted with his characters at the start. Because then the impact would surely have doubled as each perilous and wrought scenario unfolded.

Having racked up the tension and intrigued us with the premise, expertly fusing CGI with his own craft work along the way, Boyle's Sunshine lives or dies by it's last quarter; depending on your proclivity of course. It has proved to be a most divisive point with critics and fans alike. To say it's a genre shift accompanied with implausibility is being a touch unkind I feel, this is after all a sci-fi picture about a ship going to reignite the Sun! Never the less it doesn't quite close the film triumphantly after the twists that preceded it, turns and explosions have lulled the viewers in, but personally it satisfies this entertained observer. Not in a big bang dynamic way, but in the way that asks me for a further thought process, and that may just be what Boyle and Garland envisaged when they sat down to make the film? Again, depending on your proclivity of course! 8.5/10 Comment Comment | Permalink
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alien meets Solaris., 24 Sep 2007
By 
Johnnybluetime - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Caution;this review contains plot spoilers,although if you've seen Alien and either version of Solaris I don't think anything in this film will come as any great surprise.Danny Boyle wears his influences on his sleeve here and the above two are just the most obvious,but you can also add 2001 A Space Odyssey,Event Horizon,the remake of Solaris and quite possibly Mission To Mars,or was it The Red Planet?

Anyway,as it says in the review above, 8 astronauts are tasked with saving the planet by exploding an atomic bomb in our dying sun.Nice idea,fairly original,but let down badly by the fact that it states very early on that everyone on the mission is going to die.So, there goes any dramatic tension.Unless,of course,we really care about the characters,but unfortunately they're just not given enough screen time for us to care about them at all.Of course,if their mission succeeds then the human race will be saved,but it's not the human race we're going to be empathising with when we watch this film,it's the humans in front of us on the screen.Unfortunately, they turn out to be as distant and vague as the rest of the human race.

Boyle and writer Alex Garland try to overcome this very real problem by introducing an intruder onto the spaceship,but frankly I didn't feel their heart was really in it and the scenes of menace are cursory,badly lit,confusing, poorly edited and all a bit rushed.I'm usually complaining that films are too long these days,but here's one that could have done with an extra ten minutes or so,just to build up a bit of tension and also to introduce us to the cast at greater length ,who are all pretty good,but 2 dimensional.Shame really,because even a movie like Pitch Black managed to give it's characters more back story.

The other problem is that the film makers obviously wanted to make some kind of statement about life and humanity, a la Solaris, but really don't seem to have anything to say.I mean, what is the point of this film?Other than to ask the question should humanity be saved if even our greatest talents turn out to be a bunch of squabbling cardboard cut outs like the crew here?But,of course,life on this planet doesn't just consist of humans,so the question is incomplete anyway.

Having said all that,the film is mostly well shot,well acted, despite how little of substance the cast are given to get their teeth into,and generally good to look at.But it is very badly paced and at just about 90 minutes a lot of it feels far too rushed,whilst other sections are lingered over to no great purpose.Danny Boyle almost makes great films,but if you thought 28 Days Later was very good up until the introduction of the army unit,then you're probably going to be as disappointed as I was with his latest offering.

Recommended to sci-fi enthusiasts only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst film I have ever seen in my life, 5 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The worst film I have ever seen in my life. I just kept waiting for something to happen, but nothing did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'A 'DAZZLING' BLU-RAY EXPIERIENCE', 8 Jun 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I think when first advertised the hype for 'Sunshine' gave people expectations beyond it's real quality.
I did in fact see this in the cinema when released, although i enjoyed it, i was left feeling disapointed a little, i wasn't sure.
the film is not a fast moving action movie, but the tension you could indeed cut with a knife.
An eight man crew set off to save the World, failure to direct the pay-load successfully into the 'dying' sun would mean the end of mankind.( a previous mission had failed, but why ? )
The film is set in the not to distant future, could we readh that point some time soon or is it pure sci-fi fantasy ?
i bought the film on 'blu-ray' because i thought the film would 'shine' on this format.......i was right, the film on blu-ray for both picture quality and surround sound is a must own for all you Sci-fi Buffs.
A good film to re-visit if not seen for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Psychological science fiction, 19 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film, although I can quite see it wouldn't be everyone's cup of tea. The premise has been hotly debated (no pun intended!) saying that it would not be possible to re-ignite a star. Putting this aside since I have no science background and can't comment, I felt that the story was more focused on the characters trying to cope with being stuck together in a small space for a long time. The fears and frustrations of the crew travelling to the Sun were well covered, especially when things start to go wrong and some of the characters unravel.

My one major criticism would be the major problem that the crew encounter - without wanting to spoil it, I felt the scenario was a little unbelievable. Also some of the characters are a little cliched - heroic captain, logical scientist, and so on.

Overall I'd say in order to enjoy this you do need to be willing to suspend your disbelief. The shots of the Sun are indeed spectacular, and I personally enjoy psychological dramas of characters turning on each other under stress. If you'd prefer something more plausible or action-centred though, then this won't be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Visual Masterpiece, 7 Feb 2012
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This review gives a short review of the film itself before concentrating on the extras. Hopefully this will help potential purchasers decide whether they want this movie in their collection.

I saw this movie twice at the cinema. Now I have the DVD, the more I watch this film the more impressed I am: camerawork, editing - both sound AND picture - music, effects are all worthy of praise. The acting too is good, although some of the diction of the actors leave a little to be desired. But overall, this is a triumph of British cinema: a visual masterpiece.

There are a few problems with the otherwise-excellent plot. For example, how come no one is Capa's deputy in case he becomes indisposed? How come no one protests when Mace volunteers Capa to go outside with the captain to assess the damage to the shield? And why does Capa go alone to the observation room to see who is the fifth unknown crew member, and why would the computer allow the room to be drenched with full sunlight when it was occupied?

One of the few things I would change is that I would have used John Murphy's excellent music over the closing credits, thus leaving the audience to leave the cinema on a high.

My DVD comes with a chirpy commentary by Danny Boyle (pre-Slumdog) in which he comments on the tricks employed in the movie, the colour palette, camerawork and other technical issues. He acknowledges that serious science fiction requires a slow pace, and identifies the three elements that all serious sci-fi films possess: a ship, a crew, and a signal that changes everything.

As influences, he name-checks Scott's `Alien', Kubrick's `2001', and Tarkovsky's `Solaris' as the main influences; but also `Apocalypse Now!' (seeing Pinbacker as a Kurtz-figure, and suggesting `Sunshine' could have been called, after Conrad, `Heart of Lightness') , `Das Boot', `Shallow Grave', and `Blade Runner'. The only other thing I would mention about Boyle's commentary is the great disservice he does to Cornish pasties: cardboard ingredients indeed!

The second commentary is by the physicist Brian Cox, who advised on the film. He was told it had to be believable but that some compromises had to be made, so the science was `bended' here and there for artistic licence. To address the basic premise of the movie he proposes the existence of super-symmetric particles (Q-Balls) and bets with the audience that these will have been found by 2017. Cox's is also a useful commentary for explaining some of the events on-board, such as why the oxygen garden burned and Capa's thinking behind blowing the airlock door.

The other extras include nineteen minutes of deleted scenes, most of which should have been included in the movie in my opinion. These scenes, as well as being interesting in themselves, answered some questions: for instance, why there are no suits in Icarus I. Then there follows a whole host of short documentaries on various aspects of the film, including each of the eight-member crew, technical issues, the physics involved, and set design etc. Danny Boyle also chucks in two short films by other directors, but these fail to impress.

Overall then, this is a generous DVD package for a film that, in my opinion, gives more every time it's watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A top sci-fi, 14 April 2007
By 
L. Fletcher "Mayberry" (Harrogate, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've never written a review on here before- but i just had to disagree with the review that was already here! Sunshine is one of the best films i've seen in years.

The set is beautiful- and actually constructed for a change. Danny Boyle really pulls off the clostrophobia of alien and the romance and sterility of 2001 all in one. and i for one loved all the exterior shots! I really don't think boyle went overboard on the CGI. having an on-board physist really made for an interesting (and different) ship.

The performances are wonderful without exception. But Hiroyuki Sanada and Cillian Murphy really shine. Everything is subtle and underplayed- just the way a big sci-fi should be.

The underworld score is just fantastic. Giving a feel of unease and hyperactivity all the way through. The direction is mindblowing (especially the end sequence)... I just loved this film.

and remember- when you buy this fantastic film- you're supporting the british film industry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sunshine [DVD] [2007]
Sunshine [DVD] [2007] by Danny Boyle (DVD - 2007)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews