Customer Reviews


330 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (45)
2 star:
 (51)
1 star:
 (58)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


258 of 308 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
A lot of people have given this negative reviews on here. I've read their reviews and the main criticisms seem to be:

1. It's boring. That's true, if you're the kind of person who can't sit through any film that doesn't have gunfire and explosions through 90% of the movie.

2. It's not a good Sci-Fi movie like Armageddon. Well, the fact that these...
Published on 5 Nov 2007 by David Morrison

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere within this galaxy...
…or rather within this film is a much better one. It uses a simple but effective premise to hook our interest, but unfortunately character and plot development are subjugated to the sound and visual effects and these ultimately swamp the storyline. In fact, the tale finally lapses into a cosmic variation on the ‘old dark house’-style of melodrama, a...
Published 9 months ago by MJB


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere within this galaxy..., 3 Mar 2014
By 
MJB (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
…or rather within this film is a much better one. It uses a simple but effective premise to hook our interest, but unfortunately character and plot development are subjugated to the sound and visual effects and these ultimately swamp the storyline. In fact, the tale finally lapses into a cosmic variation on the ‘old dark house’-style of melodrama, a format that has been done to death even in this context.

All of this is rather regrettable, as the production design and execution are excellent. If only the same attention had been given to the characters and the plot the whole experience would have been far more satisfying, but too many events and motivations are unexplained and the characters are sketched too lightly for us to care about them.

This strikes me as yet another of those films that could be remade in a far more satisfying way, although experience has shown that only the films that were right the first time ever seem to get that treatment. Let’s just hope that if the situation depicted here should ever arise we won’t put the future of mankind in the hands of people quite like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars “Sunshine” on BLU RAY – Compatibility Issues With The ‘US’ Disc…, 14 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
It seems almost mean to welch on a Danny Boyle film - but for me 2007’s "Sunshine" is a strange beast that only half works for most of its scorched duration.

In 2057 our Earth is dying – freezing over in a permanent winter. After the failure of “Icarus” (a first attempt at igniting the core of the Sun) – a second last-ditch space mission is organized to deliver a payload right into the Star’s internal short and curlies. The only small problem is that the Sun is 93 million miles away and has a surface that’s gurgling in the cosmos at 10 million degrees Fahrenheit. That and the fact that exposure to such heat (even half way there) can singe your eyebrows or drive you and your crew stark raving mad. Star’s eh…

Up steps our band of hipster Scientists and Desperados to save the planet - even if it means sacrificing themselves to do so. For the ladies there are Cillian Murphy’s piercing blue eyes (apparently an object of uber lust) and for lesser mortals like me and a million other Sci-Fi geeks - there are plenty of jaw-dropping special effects (most of which are based around a bulbous Heat Shield at the front of the long Space cruiser). So what’s not to love?

The ludicrously youngish age of the astronauts on such an important mission stretches credibility for the whole duration of the movie (box office draw over reality) and the crew being picked off by some malevolent force has just been done one too many times before - even if there is a clever twist to it. And then the story gets so convoluted towards the end that “Sunshine” stops being entertaining and starts to entertain the idea that its deep – a sort of “2001: A Space Odyssey” when it just isn’t.

Also you should note the following – if you’re going to buy "Sunshine" on BR – avoid the American 20th Century Fox issue – it’s REGION A LOCKED and therefore won’t play on our machines unless they’re chipped to be ‘all regions’ (which few are).

Still – having said all that – it’s a proper looker on BLU RAY and it’s cheap too.

You could do worse. You could fall down a Canyon in Utah and chop your arm off…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "If you wake up one morning and it's a particularly beautiful day, you'll know we made it. Okay, I'm signing out.", 12 Aug 2013
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This is an ambitious but not entirely succesful British SF film. Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

It is the Year of Grace 2057 and our sun is dying. A first attempt to re-ignite it, by spaceship "Icarus", failed for unknown reasons (the ship disappeared without trace). A second mission is launched - spaceship "Icarus II", carrying an enormous "star-bomb device", passed already the orbit of Mercury and is now on approach towards the Sun. Then, the radars detect an object which should not be there... And then the film really begins.

Renowned director Danny Boyle tried to make a very ambitious SF film here, but as far as my perception of this film is concerned he succeeded only partially. So let's begin with the good stuff, before the criticism:

1) The director certainly gathered quite an ensemble cast and made all the actors perform well. The crew of "Icarus II" is made of following people:

- Captain Kaneda (Hiroyuki Sanada). Sanada is an excellent actor, who impressed me in "Twilight Samurai" - here he is very credible as the skipper of the most important ship in human history...

- Second-in-command/communication officer Harvey (Troy Garity). Never saw this guy in anything before - but he is OK in this film.

- Physicist Robert Capa (Cillian Murphy). This is an important character and Murphy played him very well.

- Pilot Cassie (Rose Byrne). Another important character and also well played - and this is a high praise coming from me, because I usually REALLY don't like this actress (since I saw her ruining Briseis character in "Troy")

- Engineer Mace (Chris Evans). Again not one of my favourite actors - I found him pale and perfectly forgettable in both "Fantastic Four" and "Avengers" (I didn't see "Captain America"), but once again, a honest performance here.

- Doctor/psychological officer Searle (Cliff Curtis). Well, the Fire Lord Ozai can do no wrong - he managed to shine even in a turkey like "10,000BC"! A pleasure to watch him.

- Biologist Corazon (Michelle Yeoh). Doctor Corazon who takes care of "oxygen garden" of "Icarus II" is my favourite character in the whole film - and this is once again a high praise coming from me, because Michelle Yeoh is also my all-times LEAST favourite James Bond girl...

- Navigator Trey (Benedict Wong). No problem with the actor, but the character he plays is a horror (see below)!

2) Danny Boyle used also a relatively high-budget (for a non-Hollywoodian film) and it shows on the screen. Visually "Sunshine" is very pleasant and by moments pretty impressive.

3) The soundtrack is very honest.

4) I rather liked the ultimate scenes.

Sadly, there are also things which I liked much less. WARNING! SPOILERS here!

1. Who on Earth could name a ship on such a mission "Icarus"? TWICE!? God Almighty, that is possibly the LEAST appropriate name EVER? Why not say things strait and name the ship "My wings will melt and I will crash"?

2. The whole fate of humanity depends of those missions and amongst the 16 people selected from ALL HUMAN KIND you still manage to put a barking-mad mouth-foaming murderous LUNATIC on board of one ship and a completely incompetent, distracted, careless MORON on board of another one? Who wrote that scenario - the "Prometheus" guy?

3. The film takes itself too seriously. Not even one moment of second degree and/or humor. And come on man, even people on the death row sometimes joke...

4. SPOILER here. The thing which disgusted me the most - again, the bashing of religion and of religious people. Jeez, this is such a cliché amongst the movie makers - honestly, when and where in the real world have you seen Christians murder the fire-fighters and/or paramedics who save other people, just because they consider it is "God's will" that people die and therefore trying to save them is a sin? When and where did you hear Christians say "Let's not rescue the victims of earthquakes, typhoons and such, because God wanted them to die and we must not contradict him"? I never heard of such a thing, but in cinema you keep seeing it again and again and again... Well even if Mr Boyle and his pairs hate so much God, the religion and religious people I still say to them "God bless and all the best for you, your family and all those you care for". Amen.

Bottom line, I liked this film much less than I expected to and than I wanted to. Good general idea, good actors, visually splendid - but an abysmally stupid and completely unbelievable plot, treated as seriously as Gospels...))) But well, OK, I am obviously biased here, so watch it at your own risk and make your own mind about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning: this film will self-destruct in 83 minutes, 23 Aug 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
For about 83 minutes, Danny Boyle's Sunshine is an above average sci-fi film with a great hook - a potential suicide mission to reignite the dying sun - and, if not entirely realistic (the sun's far too powerful to approach even with heat shields), it's at least credible enough to dispel any worries that this is going to turn out to be Solar Crisis 2. Thanks to some excellent character development (with one underwritten exception in Troy Garity's case), the first two thirds work because the focus is kept firmly on the human element, and it's human error that is the root cause of the increasing obstacles that threaten the mission. When things go wrong at first, it's a series of logical consequences of a mathematical error, and the film follows these through with a mechanical logic, constantly proving adept at offering hope only to remove it.

Unfortunately it misses a few opportunities by keeping too cool a head at times: rather than tempers rising along with the temperature and rational decision making being affected by the purely physical affects of an increasingly hostile environment providing the drama, Boyle and writer Alex Garland show the same confusion over how to end this picture as they famously did with 28 Days Later and decide to introduce an external threat which takes the phrase deus ex machina to new lows. The nature of the threat didn't work for George Pal in the 1950s and works even worse here.

Things start to get dodgy around an airlock sequence where it's revealed that tinfoil and holding your breath might just work in a minus 272 degree vacuum. And, in retrospect, it seems unbelievable that the life of the only crew member who knows how to program their payload would be risked needlessly out of a fit of pique from one character earlier in the film (or indeed that on such a crucial mission there would be only one crew member to know how to do it). But it's with the introduction of an anomaly on the oxygen supply that the film's IQ drops to single figures as it makes a sudden severe shift of genre and into the realms of absurdity. Characters don't communicate and put themselves needlessly at risk, Chris Evans suddenly develops such an immunity to low temperatures you're wondering if you're watching outtakes from Fantastic Four and, what's even worse is that having created two more than efficient female characters in Michelle Yeoh and Rose Byrne, it gives them absolutely nothing to do in the attempts to salvage the mission, deciding instead to reduce them to dispensable victims: that's just so 70s, Danny. Just to put the tin lid on it, even within it's own suddenly limited ambitions, these sequences are extremely poorly executed with a notable lack of tension and an almost comical belief that blurring the screen or smearing the lens with Vaseline is inherently frightening. And it gets confusing as hell. I don't think I've seen a film so completely shoot itself in the foot in the home stretch since Tequila Sunrise.

Within this section there are still some good moments, but if only they'd removed the external element and reshot and reedited the ending and put their faith in the inherent drama of the premise. Like throwing a lion at a character attempting to walk a tightrope over a pit of alligators while under heavy machine-gun fire to up the risk factor (Armageddon not enough for you, boys?), it simply reduced the audience to laughter. A shame, because it coulda been a contender, but despite some good visuals and strong performances (particularly Hiroyuki Sanada and Cliff Curtis in what could have been throwaway parts) I just left the theatre thinking how much more technically accomplished the ending of Event Horizon was, and that's never a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


258 of 308 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 5 Nov 2007
By 
David Morrison (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
A lot of people have given this negative reviews on here. I've read their reviews and the main criticisms seem to be:

1. It's boring. That's true, if you're the kind of person who can't sit through any film that doesn't have gunfire and explosions through 90% of the movie.

2. It's not a good Sci-Fi movie like Armageddon. Well, the fact that these people think Armageddon is great tells us something about their taste.

3. It's scientifically inaccurate. I find it hilarious that these critics think they know more about physics than Dr Cox, the scientific advisor who provides a commentary on the DVD. Of course there is artistic licence, but there's nothing wrong with that.

4. The end doesn't make sense. No, the end is confusing - there's a big difference.

5. The characters are paper thin. Again, not true. There is so much depth to the characters, but you need to actually think about it. Like any good script, this shows us the depth to the characters, rather than telling us. Look especially at Chris Evans' character.

This is an amazing film, and is easily the best of 2007 (so far). There are plenty of films for the people who didn't like this, but there are only a few movies with the perfect mix of style and substance that Sunshine achieves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Visual Masterpiece, 7 Feb 2012
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This review gives a short review of the film itself before concentrating on the extras. Hopefully this will help potential purchasers decide whether they want this movie in their collection.

I saw this movie twice at the cinema. Now I have the DVD, the more I watch this film the more impressed I am: camerawork, editing - both sound AND picture - music, effects are all worthy of praise. The acting too is good, although some of the diction of the actors leave a little to be desired. But overall, this is a triumph of British cinema: a visual masterpiece.

There are a few problems with the otherwise-excellent plot. For example, how come no one is Capa's deputy in case he becomes indisposed? How come no one protests when Mace volunteers Capa to go outside with the captain to assess the damage to the shield? And why does Capa go alone to the observation room to see who is the fifth unknown crew member, and why would the computer allow the room to be drenched with full sunlight when it was occupied?

One of the few things I would change is that I would have used John Murphy's excellent music over the closing credits, thus leaving the audience to leave the cinema on a high.

My DVD comes with a chirpy commentary by Danny Boyle (pre-Slumdog) in which he comments on the tricks employed in the movie, the colour palette, camerawork and other technical issues. He acknowledges that serious science fiction requires a slow pace, and identifies the three elements that all serious sci-fi films possess: a ship, a crew, and a signal that changes everything.

As influences, he name-checks Scott's `Alien', Kubrick's `2001', and Tarkovsky's `Solaris' as the main influences; but also `Apocalypse Now!' (seeing Pinbacker as a Kurtz-figure, and suggesting `Sunshine' could have been called, after Conrad, `Heart of Lightness') , `Das Boot', `Shallow Grave', and `Blade Runner'. The only other thing I would mention about Boyle's commentary is the great disservice he does to Cornish pasties: cardboard ingredients indeed!

The second commentary is by the physicist Brian Cox, who advised on the film. He was told it had to be believable but that some compromises had to be made, so the science was `bended' here and there for artistic licence. To address the basic premise of the movie he proposes the existence of super-symmetric particles (Q-Balls) and bets with the audience that these will have been found by 2017. Cox's is also a useful commentary for explaining some of the events on-board, such as why the oxygen garden burned and Capa's thinking behind blowing the airlock door.

The other extras include nineteen minutes of deleted scenes, most of which should have been included in the movie in my opinion. These scenes, as well as being interesting in themselves, answered some questions: for instance, why there are no suits in Icarus I. Then there follows a whole host of short documentaries on various aspects of the film, including each of the eight-member crew, technical issues, the physics involved, and set design etc. Danny Boyle also chucks in two short films by other directors, but these fail to impress.

Overall then, this is a generous DVD package for a film that, in my opinion, gives more every time it's watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Are you an angel? Has the time come? I've been waiting so long., 10 Oct 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
We are in the not too distant future and the Sun is fading out. After a first mission to reignite it with a nuclear bomb fails, with the ship apparently lost in space, a new team are sent to try again. But it really isn't as simple as that.......

Director Danny Boyle and writer Alex Garland team up once again for this sci-fi adventure thriller. For as long as I can personally remember, outer space and the planets that dwell within it, have always served us well for cinematic treats. Fears of the unknown and worries over the destruction of Earth, by and large make for great premise's. Not all films realise this potential of course, but it always makes for a great starting point. For his first venture into this realm, Boyle has gone for the Sun as his point of reference, and it makes for a marvellously claustrophobic picture that poses as many questions as it does answers. And even tho ultimately the science fiction aspects of it do not naturally add up, it's dazzling in its visuals and thought provoking into the bargain.

Boyle has never hid his influences and favourites from the public, and here he homages everything from Alien to Event Horizon, stopping for tea and crumpets at 2001s house along the way. But that is no bad thing, molding elements from great sci-fi past with his own intriguing story has given Sunshine a tremendous heart, to which Boyle then manages to cloak it with high quality drama. The crew are up there and we know that this is a genre piece and things invariably go wrong, this gives the discerning viewer an eager anticipation, a sense that one shouldn't go to the toilet for something will be missed. And Boyle lives up to the promise showed, such a pity then, that Boyle didn't let us get better acquainted with his characters at the start. Because then the impact would surely have doubled as each perilous and wrought scenario unfolded.

Having racked up the tension and intrigued us with the premise, expertly fusing CGI with his own craft work along the way, Boyle's Sunshine lives or dies by it's last quarter; depending on your proclivity of course. It has proved to be a most divisive point with critics and fans alike. To say it's a genre shift accompanied with implausibility is being a touch unkind I feel, this is after all a sci-fi picture about a ship going to reignite the Sun! Never the less it doesn't quite close the film triumphantly after the twists that preceded it, turns and explosions have lulled the viewers in, but personally it satisfies this entertained observer. Not in a big bang dynamic way, but in the way that asks me for a further thought process, and that may just be what Boyle and Garland envisaged when they sat down to make the film? Again, depending on your proclivity of course! 8.5/10 Comment Comment | Permalink
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, shame about lack of extras, 2 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine [UMD Mini for PSP] (DVD)
The film itself is brilliant; a science fiction thriller set in the not-too-distant future where the sun is dying threatening to destroy all life in the solar system. A ship named the 'Icarus II' is sent to the sun to revive it using a huge stellar bomb but all kinds of chaos ensues when the crew of Icarus II discover a signal in space and investigate...

I must say that this film should really be viewed on a normal television first to truly appreciate it's brilliance however fans of the film who want to own a portable version of the film will not be too disappointed with this offering.

The disk is very basic indeed, with no special options whatsoever; no directors commentary, interviews, trailers, behind-the-scenes or even subtitles. The only two choices are watch the film normally or skip to a scene.

This is the reason the UMD didn't get full marks but as I say if you are a die-hard fan of the film already (like I am) you won't be too bothered by the lack of extras. I'm just pleased I can go on holiday and bring it with me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alien meets Solaris., 24 Sep 2007
By 
Johnnybluetime - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Caution;this review contains plot spoilers,although if you've seen Alien and either version of Solaris I don't think anything in this film will come as any great surprise.Danny Boyle wears his influences on his sleeve here and the above two are just the most obvious,but you can also add 2001 A Space Odyssey,Event Horizon,the remake of Solaris and quite possibly Mission To Mars,or was it The Red Planet?

Anyway,as it says in the review above, 8 astronauts are tasked with saving the planet by exploding an atomic bomb in our dying sun.Nice idea,fairly original,but let down badly by the fact that it states very early on that everyone on the mission is going to die.So, there goes any dramatic tension.Unless,of course,we really care about the characters,but unfortunately they're just not given enough screen time for us to care about them at all.Of course,if their mission succeeds then the human race will be saved,but it's not the human race we're going to be empathising with when we watch this film,it's the humans in front of us on the screen.Unfortunately, they turn out to be as distant and vague as the rest of the human race.

Boyle and writer Alex Garland try to overcome this very real problem by introducing an intruder onto the spaceship,but frankly I didn't feel their heart was really in it and the scenes of menace are cursory,badly lit,confusing, poorly edited and all a bit rushed.I'm usually complaining that films are too long these days,but here's one that could have done with an extra ten minutes or so,just to build up a bit of tension and also to introduce us to the cast at greater length ,who are all pretty good,but 2 dimensional.Shame really,because even a movie like Pitch Black managed to give it's characters more back story.

The other problem is that the film makers obviously wanted to make some kind of statement about life and humanity, a la Solaris, but really don't seem to have anything to say.I mean, what is the point of this film?Other than to ask the question should humanity be saved if even our greatest talents turn out to be a bunch of squabbling cardboard cut outs like the crew here?But,of course,life on this planet doesn't just consist of humans,so the question is incomplete anyway.

Having said all that,the film is mostly well shot,well acted, despite how little of substance the cast are given to get their teeth into,and generally good to look at.But it is very badly paced and at just about 90 minutes a lot of it feels far too rushed,whilst other sections are lingered over to no great purpose.Danny Boyle almost makes great films,but if you thought 28 Days Later was very good up until the introduction of the army unit,then you're probably going to be as disappointed as I was with his latest offering.

Recommended to sci-fi enthusiasts only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'A 'DAZZLING' BLU-RAY EXPIERIENCE', 8 Jun 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I think when first advertised the hype for 'Sunshine' gave people expectations beyond it's real quality.
I did in fact see this in the cinema when released, although i enjoyed it, i was left feeling disapointed a little, i wasn't sure.
the film is not a fast moving action movie, but the tension you could indeed cut with a knife.
An eight man crew set off to save the World, failure to direct the pay-load successfully into the 'dying' sun would mean the end of mankind.( a previous mission had failed, but why ? )
The film is set in the not to distant future, could we readh that point some time soon or is it pure sci-fi fantasy ?
i bought the film on 'blu-ray' because i thought the film would 'shine' on this format.......i was right, the film on blu-ray for both picture quality and surround sound is a must own for all you Sci-fi Buffs.
A good film to re-visit if not seen for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sunshine [DVD] [2007]
Sunshine [DVD] [2007] by Danny Boyle (DVD - 2007)
£2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews