Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Stones STILL Love You Live!
After the excellent 'Four Flicks' dvd showcased The Stones to such effect I wondered about the POINT of 'The Biggest Bang', how many MORE versions of these songs do you really need? Also, as they age, how can their performances do anything except slowly diminish? Well all this is true...BUT these old guys can STILL put on a great show! True, Mick can't sing with quite the...
Published on 23 Jan 2008 by Nik

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short changed
I had the 4 dvd set of 'the Biggest Bang' and naturally wanted to upgrade when it was released on Blu- ray. There is only one Blu- ray disc and given that you can easily fit 4DVD's worth of material onto one Blu-ray I was expecting to see the same content. What a shame then that half of the DVD content has not been included, the reviewer above has already helpfully set...
Published on 20 Feb 2011 by Colin O'donnell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brio in Rio excells expectations, 21 Feb 2008
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: The Biggest Bang [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Another stunning box set of dvds from the worlds greatest rock band ever. I have the Four Flicks set, which is also amazing, and was not sure whether this would be as good. Well it is and it is sufficiently different to warrant purchase. The highlights for me were the Rio concert, absolutely incredible show and preparation, and the Superbowl halftime mini-concert, incredible energy and a glimpse of the split second organisation needed to pull it all of.

The sound quality and the filming is all first class, as you would expect. The band were still cutting the mustard live during this tour although I reckon that, unless a miracle happens, Keith will be the reason they stop touring. The swelling in his first two fingers on his left hand is increasing and is probably arthritis related, so that is not going to help at all. Ronnie Wood plays better on this tour than the Forty Licks one of a few years before.

Like the Four Flicks dvd set, this moves around a variety of venues and has a load of songs, some new to the setlist, some new, and the hoary old chestnuts.

The bonus features on disc 4 contain mini-documentaries with Ronnie, Keith, Charlie and Mick that are a pleasure to watch. Charlie is so completely natural and self effacing that it is hard to believe he is one of the best known drummers, certainly seen by more people in concert than any other drummer ever, in the world.

Like the Four Flicks set, this is a thousand times better than the Shine a Light release.

Essential purchase if you already have Four Flicks, if not get it first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you already have the four flicks you will be dissapointed, 7 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: The Biggest Bang [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
When i bought the four flicks i paid 67 euros and i didn't regret it at all.The first thoughts were, what a band! what a performance!
Well even though i paid 20 euros less than four flicks dvd, biggest bang is a big dissapointment for me.First of all many tracks all the fans would like to be included just don't.Where's ''monkey man'', ''angie'' , ''street fighting man'' and so many others?
Track list i believe is the most important thing in a concert dvd and the second is the performance.Yes, it isn't that good.Mick Jagger tries a lot but Keith can't follow.Last but not least is the sound and video quality. Could both be better too.
To sum up i believe that four flicks is the standard,the essential rolling stones dvd-set.Biggest bang isn't and i guess that will be under the shadow of four flicks just because it does not deserve it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stones on tap 365 days per year., 21 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: The Biggest Bang [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
First let me point out that I first saw the Stones ' live ' away back in 1967 and have seen them on many Tours but because I work at Music Festivals by sods law I was working in August 2006 and August 2007 so missed them on their last tour in the UK.

By being able to buy this Excellent DVD I now have the Stones on tap 365 days per year.

I am astonished that any fan would give this less than five stars as the quality is excellent and the extra features are worth seeing.

The Jukebox Feature on Disk 1 is a cracking idea and really does work well.

The Biggest Bang is a four-disc collection covering the band's 2005-2006 legs of the A Bigger Bang Tour so who knows they may bring out a The Biggest Bang ' Part 2 ' at a later date.

ps

By the way although details are sketchy Rumours for a new tour in 2008 were confirmed by Ronnie Wood in a recent interview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Biggest Bang? No, Biggest Disappointment, 1 Aug 2007
By 
D. A. Price - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: The Biggest Bang [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Ok, these ARE the Rolling Stones so we expect so much more from them than almost any other artist and this IS an impressive DVD of their Austin and Rio performances. There are also brief forays into the China trip, which is acceptable enough but NO ENGLISH footage whatsoever! The Rio performance I can accept being included on the discs, it was a one-off and a heck of a spectacle to boot. What I would have preferred would be for there to be a US version and a European version with at least some coverage of a UK concert - Twickenham or Glasgow would be good and I don't really see why this could not have been done.

That gripe aside (and I did see them in a very wet Sheffield), on all other levels this is a workmanlike DVD of a band who just seem to get better; especially on the blues numbers. The occasional glitch, as on JJF on disc 2 can be put down to Keefs nerves or excitement; Mick's voice is fading now and IMHO is better suited to the more bluesy numbers of which Back of My Hand gets an airing - and a very funny ad hoc bit of banter from Mick. On first viewing, I noted that there is rather a lot of vocal overdubbing on this DVD, which I am not in favour of, I like to hear it as it was... I also thought the documentary on side 3 was not really a documentary of how it all came together at all despite the interesting section on the Superbowl stage; so in itself I didn't feel any better informed about proceedings at all. Sleeve liner notes were little more than a list of the contents so didn't really add very much to the overall experience at all.

Here is a fantastic band who truly are the biggest in the rock world at the moment and who could have produced a far, far better dvd package than this overall. If you saw the stones on this tour then it is a difficult choice - you may want to buy it as a memento - or because you are a completist.

For my own part, I much prefer the Live Licks box set and the Live at the Max dvd is also a great snapshot of the live show, albeit that BW was still with the band all those years ago.

Alternatively, buy none of these and put the money towards a ticket to their next show - money far better spent.

(If this wasn't the Rolling Stones, then it would have scored 5!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cd box slightly damaged on bottom corner otherwise excellent., 9 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: The Biggest Bang [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
the corner of the cd box was damaged but not enough for a return.otherwise fab!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars STILL GREAT BUT FADING OH SO SLIGHTLY, 18 Aug 2007
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: The Biggest Bang [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I awaited this release with eager anticipation. Saw them in Sheffield and they were excellent despite the torrent of rain. By any other rock band this would warrant 5 stars but I keep comparing to Four Flicks and the 2002 licks tour. If you have both you may see what I mean. There just somehow appears to be an element of going through the motions and the Austin show to my mind is fairly lacklustre and not a good representation of the tour (unlike the Rio show which is excellent)
I think that Four Flicks with its 3 different type of shows is more interesting and dynamic (the Paris theatre show in particular.) As stated in the title I do feel there is a slight element of Mick fading in his vocals and generally the rest of the band in their playing. Maybe time will tell that this mega band peaked in the Licks tour. But hey it's still the Stones!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a bigger bang, 5 May 2009
By 
Mr. Eugene Brosnan (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: The Biggest Bang [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Good, extra better than the movie. If I was a real fan I could imagine getting a lot more from the actual concert footage but I'm afraid after 10 songs I've had enough

Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rolling Stones: The Biggest Bang [DVD] [2007]
24.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews