Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Royal portraits
Antonia Fraser's 'The Lives of the Kings and Queens of England' has long been one of my favourite books (since my childhood, really), because it has both breadth and brevity simultaneously, a rare feat. Lady Fraser's style is evident here, a non-imposing and non-technical style, that is nonetheless satisfying to all but the most rigourous of academic...
Published on 23 Dec 2005 by Kurt Messick

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but wordy
Worthy overview of this tangled topic, although some variation (or even relief) from the narrator's voice, by means of some sort of occasional dialogue or dramatisation, would have been a good idea.
Published on 22 Aug 2011 by M. P. Campbell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Nov 2013
By 
P. Callaghan (Clacton-On-Sea Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, if you like this kind of reading then this is the book for you! Good story as well, as a great author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I ordered this I thought it was the paperback edition I had previously. Its a full size book, lovely condition with a plastic dustcover. Great value and would use again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank You!, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic conditions, brilliant price fast delivery what more can I say. New the book already and this was a copy for my Mum. Our family ancestry involves Kings and Queens and this is perfect for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL BOOK ABOUT THE ENGLISH MONARCHS, 22 April 2013
By 
Deniza Futuro "Deniza" (RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have recently bought this book in the used market of Amazon.UK. I was expecting a little book with genealogic charts and a few photos and I was treated to a superb book, almost an enciclopedy with colourful photos and a comprehensive text about each dinasty of the Kings and Queens of England. Of course the text could not be extensive but covered the basic facts about each historical era. The only thing I missed was the fact that the book began with the norman Kings (from William the Conqueror) so nothing is said about the Anglo-Saxon Kings (I am curious about Alfred the Great and Edward the Confessor) but the rest of the book is very informative, at least from the point of the view of a non-english subject that knows very little about the dinasties. Antonia Fraser is the editor of this superb book and she is one of my favorite authors (I have read her books about Mary Queen of Scots, Charles II and the six Wives of Henry VIII). So wonderful book merits a reimpression!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The lives of kings and queens of England, 12 Nov 2012
Find this book very useful to have in the house as a reminder of our royal history

It is well written and easy to refer to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Giftg, 24 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this second hand for a friend who had seen my copy and wanted one for herself. As described and in good condition. Pity it is out of print,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fraser's Guide, 20 Sep 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
As guides go, Antonia Fraser is as good as they come for kings and queens; not quite a coffee table book, it would certainly do for a breakfast in bed setting! Lavishly illustrated, it contains a wealth of information about each king and queen and her research has been thorough. Other reviewers have given chapter breakdowns and so on so there is little point in repeating them here.

Suffice to say I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but wordy, 22 Aug 2011
By 
M. P. Campbell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worthy overview of this tangled topic, although some variation (or even relief) from the narrator's voice, by means of some sort of occasional dialogue or dramatisation, would have been a good idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat poor, 30 May 2011
The subject is vast and it is interlinked with the history of England and Britain; so in this format it would be hard for anyone to come up with a good enough book. It is not until you get to the house of Windsor that you understand the authors slant. Her sycophantic recant of the Windsors makes the latter part of the book embarrassing, with general omitance of what the monarchy stood for and how it help to suppress various nations; in fact according to the author, everyone loved them. There is little balance in the book with regard to what the people actually thought about their monarch. That said the family trees are helpful and show how they are all interlinked, or not as the case maybe. Good to have on the shelf to find out who came before who, thats about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read and reference book, 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very clear easily readable book with fascinating details of our royalty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The lives of the kings & queen of England
The lives of the kings & queen of England by Fraser Antonia (Hardcover - 1983)
Used & New from: £19.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews