Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars117
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 September 2014
A group of Asian women from Birmingham take a daytrip to Blackpool and a range of social issues come to the fore. This is entertaining up to a point, if a little dated, but not altogether convincing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
A little known movie that paints a fascinating picture of what it's like to be a second- or third- generation immigrant living in the UK: are you British or are you Indian? The film is light-hearted but telling. I especially love the part that shows how a woman still living in India is more broad-minded that those living in Britain, who think they are still upholding traditional Indian values.And a classic scene is a group of people on a bus, going to Blackpool for the day, all singing "Summer Holiday" in Hindi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2010
I found the way the story was told to be a bit strange at first but once I got to know the characters and settled into the events of the day, I was totally hooked. This is a very clever presentation, the characters are brilliantly acted. It is humorous, enlightening and sensitively portrays some of the difficulties of life in Britain today for for people who are trying to balance life between different cultures. Great film, dont miss it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
I watched it as part of an open University course. I would not otherwise have chosen to watch it, It was interesting
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
Bought for upcoming OU course. At first glance, it looks like it will have a comedic side as well as cultural observation. I'm looking forward to being led through the interpretation of it when doing the course and will update this review when the course is finished in late 2014.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
A story of a Hindu family fitting into a teenage driven English community where traditional values and a youth culture demand change. This story is able to show people that a family bond can not be shaken or divided by mistakes of early pregnancy or cultural change.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
I brought this for my OU course, I cant say i am a fan of it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
As many of Hindu movies, a very natural settings and realistic. Problems with friends and family but the way to sort out the differences was cleverly done. There is always a lesson or hint to learn or add to our experiences. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2015
Not quite as good as Bend it like Beckhan or East is East but well worth the time spent watching for it's insight into the lives of Asian women in the UK and the difficulty of people who have to deal with massive changes in culture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2014
Interesting Gurinder Chadha movie about very different women taking a trip to the beach together. Not quite as engaging as her other movies as sometimes it feels like it could use a bit more detail or depths. Still good to watch!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)