Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There on their way
Atmospherically brilliant, This film is all about a small group of people who whilst on an aeroplane fall asleep, when they wake up everybody else on board has disapeared, and everybody on earth is gone.. They need to land to find fuel but are totally perplexed that no one is responding to there calls for help, eventually they do land and they can hear crunching sounds in...
Published on 22 Aug 2007 by groucho one

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What's that noise?
Time travel is usually depicted as big, adventurous trips to the past or the future, usually with convenient historical figures.

But there's nothing so glamorous about the time travel in "The Langoliers," an eerie Stephen King miniseries about a plane that lands in a strange deserted world. The beginning, buildup and the climax are brilliantly spooky, but there...
Published on 25 Aug 2011 by E. A Solinas


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's drivel and brilliant all at once, 2 Sep 2011
By 
James Messer (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD] (DVD)
To be honest, the acting is rubbish, the special effects abysmal, the story is absurd and the show is too long. Yet somehow it is compellingly brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen King's The Langoliers, 28 April 2009
By 
I. M. Watts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this many years ago when it was first shown on SKY 1 in two parts. Still brilliant to this day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Langoliers, 26 April 2009
By 
T. Shields (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD] (DVD)
This film is excellent. I have watched this three times in one night.
Ten people fly through a timerip and discover that everyone that was awake disapeared.
My favourite part is when the get to the strange world where the Langoliers come and get them. The air is strange, there is no echo, no power unless you are on the plane, when they walk on the ground their feet sound different to normal, the weather goes dark then light again after 40 mins and the food and drinks are flat.
My favourite character is poor poor Mr Toomey. He is a wreck because his father brainwashed him telling him if he doesn't buck up his ideas and stop wasting time, the Langoliers will get him and eat him alive.
The part before they leave you see the Langliers and the chase Mr Toomey, you see the Langliers teeth move all around in a circle and they sort of make a creepy noise and clash their teeth together. The eat up the airport and eat away the strange land and every one except Mr Toomey and Mr Gaffney (Mr Toomey stabs him thinking he is a Langolier) get away.
They look on in horror as the world disapears in to the blackness below.

I give the film 5 Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD] (DVD)
Scary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why is this release not 16:9 ?, 13 Jun 2009
This review is from: Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of my all-time favourite SF/fantasy films! I first saw it when I hired out a VHS of it back in the 1990s. I have a special interest in time-travel stories, so I don't mind too much if a film is low-budget or the acting isn't top notch (it's OK in this film). The DVD copy I have is the original 'full-frame' aspect ratio, and not 16:9 which would have been so much better, probably because this fim was originally made for TV and broadcast as a mini-series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story poorly realised, 14 Jan 2010
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a fan of Steven King; in fact I'm re-reading 'Salem's Lot' at the moment, but I haven't read the novella that this film is based upon. Notice the use of the word 'novella' - a short story - from which they dragged out a film that is two hours and forty minutes long, was it originally a mini-series perhaps? It certainly runs like a mini-series with too much time filling fluff. The story concept is a good one but this is a low budget movie released in 1995 and it shows. In fact if you told me it had been made in the seventies I wouldn't have been surprised because it is so dated. The acting is wooden and unconvincing and when the Langoliers finally arrive they are in a word pathetic. Only watch this if you are a die hard fan and you really must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another entry in the list of mediocre Stephen King film adaptions, 29 Sep 2007
Good casting and an at times well paced script can't save this from becoming another entry in the list of mediocre Stephen King film adaptions. The Langoliers is possibly the most frustrating of them all as it should have been so much better. As i already mentioned the film is quite well paced for the first hour-and-a-half though it does drag a bit in the middle. Still though you find yourself watching intently, not wanting to miss the grand finale.

It is this grand finale that is a snare to the entire film. It simply fails to deliver.

A conclusion that could have been genuinely terrifying is reduced to laughable by some poor special effects and even worse editing. Far from making the film complete it will leave you struggling to remember what was so rivetting about the set up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 21 Oct 2008
This review is from: Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD] (DVD)
After reading the novel I thought I'd seek out the DVD. Absoulutely and utterly dreadful is all I can say. Avoid at all costs. Top tip to all film makers - stop making movies based on King's novels. They have all been crap with the exception of Kubrick's The Shining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Physco thriller, 21 Jun 2004
Dont want to give to much away to plot but have you ever wonderd where yesterday goes? Here is your chance to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not one of the better ones, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD] (DVD)
I thought the film wasn't very realistic and a little boring, the acting (with the exception of Dean Stockwell) was really very poor.
It seems to me that either Stephen Kings films are excellent (like the green mile, needful things & riding the bullet etc)or not worth watching and this is in my opinion was not worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD]
Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD] by Tom Holland (DVD - 2007)
8.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews