Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Langoliers are coming.
The Langoliers is a sci fi horror story. As with the best King adaptions there's a great cast(including Dean stockwell and David morse) that over the course of three hours you get to know very well. The Langoliers has a brilliant mystery premise with a small group of people not understanding how they have ended up alone on a plane with other passengers vanished, a scary...
Published on 10 Jun. 2011 by j.r

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy thriller you're sure to enjoy!
I bought this film on the advice of my brother, who had found it intriguing. It tells the tale of ten people who take an overnight flight to Boston from Los Angeles. They fall asleep during the flight but when they wake up, they discover that all the other passengers and crew have disappeared. Somewhat fortuitously, there is a pilot among the ten who can fly the plane, so...
Published on 26 Jan. 2005 by Gill Brown


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Langoliers are coming., 10 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD] (DVD)
The Langoliers is a sci fi horror story. As with the best King adaptions there's a great cast(including Dean stockwell and David morse) that over the course of three hours you get to know very well. The Langoliers has a brilliant mystery premise with a small group of people not understanding how they have ended up alone on a plane with other passengers vanished, a scary situation. If you enjoyed IT, Salems Lot and The Stand you won't be dissapointed with this adaption.
My only warning is that The langoliers was an early production to use large amounts of CGI in certain scenes. These effects don't look that good and do throw you out of the story a bit. However if you've got an open mind you can still enjoy these effects(specifically the monsters) in the same way we all enjoyed effects in old sci fi shows such as original Dr Who or Star Trek.
The Langoliers has some neat sci fi ideas and shows alot of imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There on their way, 22 Aug. 2007
This review is from: Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD] (DVD)
Atmospherically brilliant, This film is all about a small group of people who whilst on an aeroplane fall asleep, when they wake up everybody else on board has disapeared, and everybody on earth is gone.. They need to land to find fuel but are totally perplexed that no one is responding to there calls for help, eventually they do land and they can hear crunching sounds in the distance, what could it be , im not going to spoil it for you, all i can say is its kings imagination at its very best, a great adaption from best selling book to film, buy this its a super film for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy thriller you're sure to enjoy!, 26 Jan. 2005
I bought this film on the advice of my brother, who had found it intriguing. It tells the tale of ten people who take an overnight flight to Boston from Los Angeles. They fall asleep during the flight but when they wake up, they discover that all the other passengers and crew have disappeared. Somewhat fortuitously, there is a pilot among the ten who can fly the plane, so he is able to land the aircraft. But why is everywhere deserted?
I have to say that my family spent much of the time laughing at the bad acting and predictable scenes/dialogue, yet this film kept my two cynical teenagers firmly in their seats until the end. No mean feat, when you consider it lasted three hours.
We were staggered to find that this was made in 1995 - it looks as though it's a 1970s production. The special effects seem dated, but we found ourselves watching them with an odd fascination!
All criticism aside, we really enjoyed the movie. Mark Lindsay Chapman (who plays Nick Hopewell) did a pretty good job with the lines he had, but our favourite character was undoubtedly Craig Toomy (played by Bronson Pinchot). Superbly oddball, his acting was wonderful!
If you want an evening's viewing which isn't too taxing on the brain, this is the one for you. We'll certainly be watching it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SIT BACK AND ENJOY THE FLIGHT....IT'S GOING TO GET BUMPY!!!, 27 Sept. 2011
By 
Andrew Stokes (Dublin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD] (DVD)
I suppose there is not much else to say, adaptated from a short story by none other than Stephen King, The Langoliers is a must see for all horror or indeed for any fan of mystery, science fiction or suspense!

Ten passengers awake on an American cross country flight to discover that they are indeed the only surviving and remaining passengers on the plane, even the captain has disappeared. All that is left of the remaining passengers are their bare essentials of false teeth, bracelets, wigs, coins etc. It appears that somehow their plane managed to pass through some kind of a time rip in the universe and as they soon discover, an evil is awaiting them at the other end unless they manage to somehow get back before it is too late! With virtually no other human being left on the planet, both time and evil is against them!

Although three hours long (which was split into two parts for the tv adaptation), this is well worth the watch. A story that keeps your interest at bay but at the same time gives you a sense of terror, fear and emotion as you sense what is around the corner but you sit and wait anxiously hoping that the passengers make it back in time. Pretty decent performances too from Patricia Wettig, Dean Stockwell, David Morse and Bronson Pinchot as the sinister Mr. Tumey while look out for the man himself Stephen King who creeps up in a cameo role.

For those with fear of flying - I would not recommend unless you want to challenge your fears! Otherewise, sit back and enjoy the flight - it's going to get bumpy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather good..., 28 Dec. 2011
By 
P. F. Darlington "Wicker Man" (North England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD] (DVD)
Caused me to think about the shape of my universe...and the nature of self sacrifice. It is an extended TV version of a 'Twilight zone' story (if I remember correctly back 50? odd years) the 'conversion' is not entirely successful due to the 'sponsors messages' being made room for etc. Sad that, but America is the land of capitalism. Still well worth watching and the 1995 vintage FX still runs better than Bill Gates products of the period.
Enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars because it is good and bad in equal measure, 15 July 2011
This review is from: Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD] (DVD)
Gawd its long! A bit of a pants adaptation. The Langoliers isn't my favourite tale, if you aren't familiar this is the readers digest version. Everyone who awake on the plane disappears. Those who wake up find the plane vastly empty and no-one is flying. No-one is on the ground radio-wise so one of the remaining passengers who happens to be a Captain takes over. He lands them in a deserted airport and a little blind girl turns profit promising death will be upon them shortly. Enter stage left one wack job with a serious hard-on for self-destruction and stage right an ex-military secret agent mercenary and you have got a cocktail of mixed flavours ready to be served over ice. I have read the story many times because it is in one of my favourite collections done by Stephen King, `Four past midnight'. I don't like to say I don't like anything King does because I personally think he is a prolific writer with an amazing mind but if I am honest to myself the book and subsequent movie were luke warm.

Sorry Stephen, `IT' will always be my favourite lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What's that noise?, 25 Aug. 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD] (DVD)
Time travel is usually depicted as big, adventurous trips to the past or the future, usually with convenient historical figures.

But there's nothing so glamorous about the time travel in "The Langoliers," an eerie Stephen King miniseries about a plane that lands in a strange deserted world. The beginning, buildup and the climax are brilliantly spooky, but there are long stretches of people just standing around talking, and the aforementioned climax is way too early.

A plane is en route from L.A. to Boston, when almost all the passengers vanish. The only remaining people are a pair of teenagers, a bereaved pilot, a blind child, a schoolteacher, a mystery writer, an engineer, a businessman, and a psychotic yuppie. They manage to land the plane in a Maine airport (OF COURSE!), but find it similarly deserted.

But something is terribly wrong with the place -- clocks have stopped, food tastes flat, and all their surroundings look dull. Even worse, there's a faint roaring in the distance that is growing louder. As the passengers struggle to figure out how to return to normal, the "langoliers" (as Psycho-Yuppie Craig Toomey calls them) are approaching the airport. If they don't escape soon, they'll be devoured alive...

"The Langoliers" is a story that probably could have benefited from at least a third of its bulk being chopped off -- the beginning is wonderfully spooky, the climactic clash with the langoliers is pretty freaky (even if they do look like giant raisins with sandworm mouths), and King's depiction of time travel is chillingly nightmarish even WITHOUT the langoliers.

But a lot of the middle section is just the characters wandering around the airport, speculating about what they can/can't do. It feels saggy and boring, and even Toomey's periodic violent attacks on the other passengers doesn't spice things up. And the last half hour is... well, kind of anticlimactic. Dramatic, but after the sudden appearance of the langoliers, it feels kind of letdownish.

Additionally, there are some basic continuity errors (so, guns don't work but knives do?), and the idea of the mystery writer being able to unravel the EXACT NATURE of everything that's going on stretches credibility to the shattering point. I know he's a stand-in for King, but COME ON.

As for the acting, it's a mixed bag. David Morse gives a good understated performance as the beleagured pilot, Mark Lindsay Chapman has a lot of charisma as a British hit-man with a heart of gold, and Bronson Pinchot gives a freakily over-the-top performance as a businessman who tumbles over the edge of insanity. Most of the others are either underused (Frankie Faison, Dean Stockwell) or downright annoying (everyone else).

"The Langoliers" is an interesting idea handled rather clumsily, especially since it has a rather soggy middle section. But you gotta admit, parts of it was delightfully effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exercise in weird logic., 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD] (DVD)
I came across this film on a Freesat movie channel and recorded it because the curious premise fascinated me.

I regard the concept of the Langoliers as a tacky side issue. The interest is how the few remaining passengers on a plane where all others including the pilots have vanished in mid-air, leaving their jewellery, teeth fillings and pacemakers behind, reason out what has happened. They grapple with testing and rejecting theories until they have some clue how to escape the situation.

Some odd characters add to the mystery, some are a waste of time and detract from the plot. The Langoliers are a silly plot device used to add suspense and unnecessary menace. The core mystery is good enough without them.

The resolution is slightly weak but follows a quasi logical path within its distorted universe.

The basic concept is fascinating. Once a form of magic wand has placed you in a surreal distorted version of your familiar world, how would you cope?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky makes it Great, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very interesting film. I saw it on TV years ago and it stuck in my memory thus I decided to buy the DVD. The plot is intriguing and thought provoking. The acting is variable, some being a little questionable, some being outstanding. Please ignore generalised comments by others such as the acting is "wooden". That is simply not the case in terms of the majority of the characters. The dialogue is also variable with some being a little toe curling. The special effects are, even by 1995 standards, somewhat basic but somehow it doesn't detract (that much) from the mysterious story. I gave it 5 Stars on the grounds I find it hugely entertaining. Its shortcomings and quirkiness in a sense make it standout. For a younger, modern audience, I'd suggest thatthis is a good story for a movie re-make. In a sense, the film is like the utterly brilliant "Moon" in that trying to guess what's going on makes for much of the interest.

I imagine a remake with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Pros outweigh the Cons!, 4 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD] (DVD)
Marvelous acting, wonderful CGI, and beautiful script...are three things you won't hear said to describe this film. However, like most of Stephen Kings low budget adaptations, namely anything other than Shawshank Redemption and Green Mile, there is a certain charm given by the atmosphere and musical score that only helps you to love this film.

Look, let's be honest, some of the acting is terrible, especially from the doppelgänger of the first blue Power Ranger. The script at times, is awful, and well, the less said about the CGI the better. However, it's the mystery element that is so engaging...how can ten people wake up on a plane and find everyone else has disappeared?

Again, like most Stephen King adaptations the duration could be shorter, however, look past the obvious deficiencies, and really get involved in the "how" "why" and "where's"...and even "when" and you will find a very enjoyable two part film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD]
Stephen King's The Langoliers [DVD] by Tom Holland (DVD - 2007)
£3.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews