Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JAMES NESBITT AS THE TOUGH UNDERCOVER COP.
James Nesbitt for me is one of the finest actors on the Tv at the moment who can turn his talent to anything. And none better than tough but vunerable DS Tommy Murphy who works undercover for the Met Police. Through the coarse of the five nerve racking series he has to hunt down killers to drug dealers. Watch his friends get killed and even his own Mother be taken to a...
Published on 30 Oct. 2007 by NEO

versus
95 of 101 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware
Buyers should be aware that these discs mainly comprise of the edited episodes (presumably for overseas sales) and so have roughly ten minutes lopped off (from season 2 onwards). Great series, duff release.
Published on 10 Jan. 2008 by M. Riley


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 101 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware, 10 Jan. 2008
By 
M. Riley "mkr1966" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Murphy's Law : Complete ITV Series 1-5 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Buyers should be aware that these discs mainly comprise of the edited episodes (presumably for overseas sales) and so have roughly ten minutes lopped off (from season 2 onwards). Great series, duff release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Series 1 & 2 are run of the mill police drama, 24 Jun. 2010
By 
R. C. Harris "Eden House" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murphy's Law : Complete ITV Series 1-5 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Series 1 is quite a watchable production, but it's rather like meat and two veg, not particularly special. It's lightweight and lacks the attention to detail that would raise it above the average production. Sort of a 'production line' series.

James Nesbit does his best with his role, as a wise cracking character and raises frequent chuckles. But is not that believable, particularly when he remains flippant in the face of imminent demise! Humour is great, but it needs to remain in context and not undermine the credibility of the drama.

Claudia Harrison is the female lead, predicably cast as his boss and very easy on the eye, if rather ornamental. Oh for the gritty realism of Helen Mirren's Jane Tennison, or Caroline Quentin's down to earth Janine Lewis. Claudia goes through all the action without a smudge to her finely applied make up.

More attention to detail would help. For example, it's so irritating when a character gets beaten up, only for them to appear shortly afterwards with no more than a superficial scratch?

Not particularly strong plots, but on conclusion, very passable for a wet Sunday afternoon viewing.

Series 3 onwards is totally different viewing. Darker, grittier and gripping! Not sure if they changed the writers or the producer, possibly both! I would recommend series 3 onwards unreservedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JAMES NESBITT AS THE TOUGH UNDERCOVER COP., 30 Oct. 2007
By 
NEO "Daren" (orpington kent) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murphy's Law : Complete ITV Series 1-5 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
James Nesbitt for me is one of the finest actors on the Tv at the moment who can turn his talent to anything. And none better than tough but vunerable DS Tommy Murphy who works undercover for the Met Police. Through the coarse of the five nerve racking series he has to hunt down killers to drug dealers. Watch his friends get killed and even his own Mother be taken to a home while being hunted by a ex-con in Ireland in series four. James is so believable in the part that you can feel the trauma he is going through just to get justice served. This is a must buy which has no extras but that said is no less fantastic for that ommission. It would be great if the BBC have another series lined up for 2008 as Murphy still has a lot to do yet !.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murphy's Law, 5 Feb. 2009
By 
U. Khan (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murphy's Law : Complete ITV Series 1-5 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
The next time you hear someone say, "They don't make them like they used to..", let them watch an episode or two of this superb series. The format of the plotting changes through the different series, from a story per episode eventually becoming an extended story which spans a whole series. Engaging storylines, sharp dialogue and some brilliant performances too. I don't usually buy things like this as they are always being repeated on one or other channel, but I made an exception for this as it made such an impression the first time I saw it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MURPHY'S LAW : James Nesbitt at his best, 17 July 2009
By 
A. Seymour "eagle.heroine" (Canterbury, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murphy's Law : Complete ITV Series 1-5 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
It's a rare actor who can succeed equally in the very different fields of both comedy and drama, but the talented and versatile James Nesbitt does so with consumate ease and great style. As the undercover cop Tommy Murphy, he immerses himself immediately and effortlessly into the title role, never letting the pace, nor his portrayal of the character wilt for a single moment.
For me, Series three is my favourite, and Nesbitt is fantastic as always. These are thrilling, on the edge of your seat stories, and you feel the danger he constantly finds himself a part of, and will him to extricate himself from situations that have the hair standing on the back of your neck. There are also moments of great sadness, when people close to him do not come through, or are damaged in some irrevocable way; the one thing about all of the episodes in each series is that you can never predict the ending.
Absolutely thrilling crime drama and acting at its very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Addictive! and Shocking!, 7 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murphy's Law : Complete ITV Series 1-5 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This box set came up when I was ordering some other DVD's, it seemed like good value and there were some very good reviews. Only up to Season 3 and am addicted. Some of the best drama I have watched for years. Nesbitt is extraordinary in his role and is well supported. The storylines are very well written.
Season 1 and 2 have a lightness (comedy) to them that I missed as the episodes became darker and more complex, but equally interesting.
With regard to the comment about the episodes being clipped, can't say it has affected my enjoyment at all (nor have I noticed). Only gripe would be that the season 4 and 5 are only 3 hours (3 episodes each).
Buy this set, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's the rest?;+), 29 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Murphy's Law : Complete ITV Series 1-5 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Cracking series but this version has large amounts cut out from the broadcast version (but still a bargain at the price) - if anyone knows where you can get an unedited version would be much appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murphy's Law is way up with some of the best of UK police shows ever., 22 Mar. 2008
By 
J. MOORE (Tokyo, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murphy's Law : Complete ITV Series 1-5 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this box set due to previous comments and other information I found on the net. Living overseas I had never seen James Nesbit in anything so what a treat I was in for. An actor of the highest quality who dominates the show with his realism and gives a tremendous performance throughout. I do agree the box set itself is lacking of any extras which is a major disappointment and infact I thought some of the shows could have been a tad in longer but never mind. The current price from Amazon.UK is a steal so indulge yourself as you will not regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Law with a side order of Guiness and a Whisky chaser, 23 Oct. 2010
By 
L. J. Kemp (Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murphy's Law : Complete ITV Series 1-5 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Law enforcement at its darkest credible self. Gives Spooks a good run for it's money. Updates the Sweeney to modern day, mucky, messy and dangerous undercover intellegence and intervention. Totally credible story lines and brilliant interpretation by Nesbit. A box set full of thrills and spills, risk and daring, twists and turns cutting edge drama spiced with raw humour. Money well spent, watch them over and over there's something you missed in every one. A real bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Programme, 25 Feb. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murphy's Law : Complete ITV Series 1-5 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent series. I don't usually watch this type of programme but the quality of acting and general standards of production were so high I was gripped and watched each series one after the other. It is a very sensitive programme, full of drama. Just very well made basically and great entertainment.I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murphy's Law : Complete ITV Series 1-5 Box Set [DVD]
£31.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews