Customer Reviews

14
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
9
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
WWE - Backlash 2007 [DVD]
Price:£14.52+Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 21 December 2009
This was a fantastic follow up to a solid and rather spectacular Wrestlemania.All 6 matches were title matches and the 3 main events were hugely anticapted and this pay per view contained the best match of 2007 and one of the best Last Man Standing matches you potentially will ever see!
Fatal Four-Way match for the WWE Championship
John Cena vs. Edge vs. Randy Orton vs. Shawn Michaels- Fantastic fast pasted match, while the other championship match was a physical encounter, this match was more of a dance, with excellent counter upon counter sequences, pulling the crowd and the viewers into the match. They were many big spots i loved in this match, including a moonsault by michaels onto all 3 men on the outside upon others. Infact, after two views i was considering this a 5star match( i think im the only one who thought this!) but then i had to drop it down a bit as i thought it lacked much story telling( storytelling is key to get 5stars from me). The ending sequence was FANTASTIC and i think all 4 men held nothing back making this the best match in 2007 and with the exclusion of michaels, possibly the match of their lives. EXCELLENT-9.5/10

World Heavyweight Championship Match
The Undertaker vs. Batista-Let me get this out of the way, this was better than the Mania match. WHAT A MATCH THIS WAS! Just like the Mania epic this started off at a frantic pace, with Undertaker big booting Batista to set the pace. From then on it was high impact upon high impact, big move after big move, brilliant. The leg drop by Taker onto a prone Batista on the announcers table was a site to behold! They played off the last man stipulation excellently, Batista looking to do anything to win the title back he lost at Wrestlemania. The final spot, an explosion of sorts, to me was not as bad as people believe, i believed that a defeat for either was not nessecary. If you loved the Mania match, you'll love this even more!-9.5/10

Handicap Match for the ECW World Championship
Bobby Lashley vs. Umaga, Shane McMahon & Vince McMahon- Highly disapointing match, i was expecting a spot filled Vinne mac typical encounter, what we got was practically an uneventful handicap match with no big spots. It wasnt bad, but it wasnt anything you will look back on any time soon. Vince barely got any action, yet he left this match as the ECW champion, burying the show in the process-7/10

United States Championship Match
Chris Benoit vs. MVP- Very good encounter here, technical wrestling displayed at its finest here. MVP was made a star by chris through their series of matches, and i personally think this was the best one. Just like the wrestlemania match, this was a great wrestling match which drew me in, but just like the mania match, the abrupt ending held back the rating. Still a great match, the wrong man one, but none the less these two have amazing chemistry together-8/10

Women's Championship Match
Melina vs. Mickie James-The best womans match in a long time, physical, great wrestling, some impressive moments such as the divas dueling while doing the splits! Two of my personal favourite divas(especially mickie!) the action was really entertaining unlike the majority of divas matches, and i believe the right person one. Good stuff here-7.5/10

World Tag Team Championship Match
The Hardys vs. Lance Cade & Trevor Murdoch- The Hardys are always a great choice to open up any show, as they always get the crowd involved. I personally love the contrasting styles of the two teams, and i believed they gel well. The action was never boring, the spots got the crowd involved and the ending was fast paced and unpredictable. Fantastic tag team match with many great spots and a great ending. Perfect opener-8.5/10

This is one of the most consistent ppvs of all time, if it wasnt for the ECW match, this could of been up their with the best. Fantastic main events, great mid card and each match was giving the perfect time needed. It was just a pure wrestling show, something the WWE should do more of. The DVD is nothing special, but buy this fore the special event. GET THIS NOW
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
It seems clear when i look at fellow reviewers that the general concenus is that this event is very good,i found it to be very good as well so we could for once all be in agreement.
Following hot on the heels of mania 23,backlash continued much in the vein of what came before,the feuds that were still alive at mania 23 were now burning over and this was a chance to perhaps get something sorted.
The world tag team championships were up first as the hardys,the champs,went toe to toe with lance cade and trevor murdoch,this was a fulfilling match with plenty of action and passion and aggression and a super finish,a great way to kick off the night.
The womans title was up next as the champion melina went up against mickie james,this match was given close to ten minutes and was actually pretty good,it is a rare thing for me to say that but i found this quite engaguing and the ladies worked their wee socks off,good.
The united states championship was up next,and for thos counting,thats three title matches in a row so far,the champ benoit went up against MVP,the two men had a great match at mania 23,MVP showcased that night that we shouldnt underestimate him and while this match wasnt as good MVP put on another good show against a man who on paper seemed so much better than the rookie,a good tense contest.
The ECW chamionship was up next as team mcmahon,shane,vince and umaga went up against the champion bobby lashley in a three on one handicap match,i found this very enjoyable,and almost sublime at times,a real treat in many ways,the ending was a true classic in my eyes,will you agree?
Another title match next,in fact they were all title matches,wow,the world heavyweight title was up next in a last man standing match,the undertaker,the champ,was up against batista.
This match wasnt world class and in terms of a last man standing match,plenty of better contests have been viewed,but this in nonetheless a very brutal and captivating match with a savage ending,however,the crowd felt cheated at the end,i can understand slightly but a standing ovation should have been forthcoming as opposed to the arena reigning down with boos and chants of anger,a good match but not a classic sadly.
The main event was next,the WWE title up for grabs,the champ john cena had 3 rivals here making this a fatal four way,the other men involved included edge,randy orton and shawn michaels.
This was a very good contest,dominance changing hands like a baton in a relay race,a tremendous chain of events finished the match off in a glorious style,truly this is worth seeing as is this event,a real cracker in many ways.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 11 April 2008
I really enjoyed this show. I was looking forward to it anyway because it was the first pay per view apart from the big 4 that was back to featuring all the brands on it which is much better than the brand only pay per views. The Hardys vs cade and murdoch was better than i expected cos i'm not the biggest fan of cade and murdoch but it was a good match to start. Melina vs Mickie James was ok and these two are two of the best divas so that made it a decent womens title match. Chris Benoit vs MVP wasn't that much different than their wrestlemania 23 match really but it was a decent match to watch. Then came one of the most entertaining second half's of a pay per view i've ever seen! First there was the ECW title match where Bobby Lashley defended against Mr McMahon, Shane McMahon and Umaga in a handicap match. I didn't really know what to expect but I was truly shocked when Mr McMahon won the title and I'm a big fan of shocking endings to matches so i enjoyed this one. Then the batista v Undertaker last man standing match for the world title. This match was better than their Wrestlemania 23 match and the ending was just amazing when batista speared taker off the stage and then explosions and set crashing down on them, I absolutely loved it! Then to finish a cracking fatal four way between cena, Michaels, Orton and Edge for the WWE Title. So all in all i reckon I'd rate this as the best Backlash of all time and great to be back to all the brands on every pay per view!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 1 December 2007
1.the hardy vs lance cade and Trever Murdoch WTC 7/10
2.Melina vs Mickie James WC 7.5/10
3.Chris Benoit vs MVP USC 8/10
4.Bobby Lashley vs Vince And Shane mcmahon And Umaga ECWC 4/10
5.Undertaker vs Batista LMS WHC 10/10
6.John Cena vs Shawn Michaels vs Edge vs Randy orton WWEC 9/10
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
After WrestleMania, comes the Backlash. Ever since 1999, Backlash has become the annual pay-per-view follow up to WrestleMania. Usually, I find that it makes the most of the whole `WrestleMania aftermath' feel and momentum, thus making it a great show indeed. And in this case, it can't be any truer. This is definitely one of the best pay-per-views of the year so far, with every match on it being above average.

World Tag Team Championship Match
The Hardys (Champions) vs. Lance Cade & Trevor Murdoch
Here, the Hardys are teaming again, and they're the champions again, so naturally, we have plenty of reason to be happy. They're STILL the masters of tag team wrestling and know how to get the crowd on their side any day of the week. Cade & Murdoch are one of the most underrated teams competing today, and I'm glad they were given a program with the Hardys to show the world what they can do. This is a very good contest indeed and the perfect choice for opener. The contrasting styles of both teams mesh really well. I'll admit it drags on a little bit here and there, but I finished watching this a happy person. (8/10)

WWE Women's Championship Match
Melina (Champion) vs. Mickie James
This proves one thing: that the Women's Division can still live on without Trish and Lita. Both Melina and Mickie James are great wrestlers/characters, have had legendary feuds with Trish and have given great credibility and prestige to the Women's title. So, unsurprisingly, this is a very good match indeed. Don't let the crowd's lack of involvement fool you. This is very compelling stuff. Only two things wrong here. The rivalry here wasn't played out as long as it should've been, and the wrong Diva wins. (7/10)

WWE U.S. Champion Match
Chris Benoit (Champion) vs. MVP
Again...enjoyment, fondness, sadness and pain are all present here when watching this. Especially when the Atlanta, Georgia crowd are all solidly behind the hometown boy, Chris Benoit. Which is why I'm glad I'm laughing when some of the crowd starts chanting "Power Ranger!" at MVP. Anyway, this is yet another quality technical encounter in the Benoit/MVP series. Personally, I think it's a step down from their WrestleMania bout but not by much. Regardless of the Benoit tragedy, MVP should be proud of his whole feud with the Crippler, as it really turned him into a star. (8/10)

ECW Championship 3-on-1 Handicap Match
Bobby Lashley (Champion) vs. Mr McMahon, Shane McMahon & Umaga
Right...everyone knows how THIS one turned out. So it's a MORE THAN safe assumption that anyone and everyone who was a die-hard supporter of the old ECW will still be shouting abuse at their TV screens and at Vince McMahon. I truly believe that Joey Styles and Tazz's reactions to the outcome are genuine. I can understand the point of it all, and in the long-term, it succeeded in getting Lashley over but I have to agree that the outcome here is really stupid. Especially given that Umaga and Shane do all the work and Vince just takes the credit for it. AND that this match isn't EXTREME RULES. AGAIN. Having said all that, though, Lashley is the star here, making this match a very good one, surprisingly. And Vince's taunting of the ECW originals afterwards makes for great viewing...but I still can't forgive and forget the outcome. (7/10)

World Heavyweight Championship Last Man Standing Match
The Undertaker (Champion) vs. Batista
WOW. This storyline with the Undertaker has really allowed Batista to shine like never before. Although not at the same level as their WrestleMania classic, this remains an exciting and intense chapter in the whole Undertaker-Batista saga. A very well-told story that is believably written and makes both wrestlers look strong. The outcome is the right one, as it allows both men to retain their credibility. Not the best Last Man Standing match I've ever seen, but as chaotic brawls go, this ranks very high. (8/10)

WWE Championship Fatal 4-Way Match
John Cena (Champion) vs. Shawn Michaels vs. Edge vs. Randy Orton
A top-notch main event featuring four of the best wrestlers/performers in the business today. I think the reason why this match succeeds is because that all four participants have great history with each other (at one time or another). An exciting, fast-paced contest filled with cracking exchanges. A superb and innovative story. No better way to end what is essentially one of the best pay-per-views of the year. (9/10)

The only problem with this DVD, and I think this is starting to become much more constant with WWE releases nowadays (unless it's WrestleMania or a superstar/documentary DVD), is the pitiful number of extras. Even though they're both rather good. One is a great interview with the mike-master himself, Mr Kennedy. And the other is another interview, this time with Rob Van Dam over his reaction to the outcome of the ECW title match. Van Dam really does cut a good promo here, perhaps because he's actually venting his real feelings over today's ECW and Vince McMahon's version of the brand.

Nonetheless, I really feel an event the calibre of this one should have been accompanied by a few more special features to do it justice, such as coverage of the epic Cena/HBK battle that went nearly an hour. Or the inclusion of the Orton/Edge battle the night after. Stuff like that.

But I can forgive the lack of extras. And I can overlook the daft outcome of the ECW title match. WWE Backlash 2007 is classic, and ergo, worth the money. This show seems to work well indeed because of how it's been booked. Only six matches, but all title affairs and focusing more on match quality instead of quantity. I seriously recommend grabbing a copy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 12 November 2010
WWE Backlash 2007 is my second favourite PPV of 2007, which came after the good and bad WrestleMania 23.

We have a range of good matches which includes a three on one handicap match for the ECW Championship which involves the likes of Bobby Lashley and the chairman of the WWE e.g. Mr McMahon.

We have an amazing last man standing match between Batista and the Undertaker for the World Heavyweight Championshio, which sadly ended in a double count out, but the match was still brutal.

Finally we have the match of the night which was a fatal four way match for the WWE Championship involving John Cena, Shawn Michaels, Edge and Randy Orton.

I do recommend WWE Backlash 2007 and thought it made up, for the kind of let down WrestleMania 23.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 24 March 2011
quite a few good matches mine is the undertaker vs bastia a explosive match
i would recommend to any wwe fan
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 12 August 2007
After reading some good reviews i saw this PPV on DVD for the first time after i stopped watching WWE last year. From top to bottom it is a soild show, if a little uneven.
The first four matches on the show are all amusing enough but preety forgetful. The Hardys put on an enjoyable tag team opener against the underrated team of Cade and Murdoch. The match shows that at least a small bit of hope remains for tag team wrestling in the WWE.
Chris Benoit and MVP had a better match than they did at Wrestlemania. JBL reffering to that match as a classic was one of the biggest stretches i've heared in wrestling for some time. A reasonable US title match with some good psychology.
The womens title match between Melina and Mickie James was watchable. As womens championship matches goes, watchable will do.
The only ECW match on the card only had one ECW wrestler in it. So while RVD and CM Punk had nothing to do, Vince Mcmahon once again demonstrated the fact that he considers himself to be more important than his wrestlers. Luckily, most of 3 on 1 handicap match was carried by Lashley and Umaga, which means that once again it was watchable and not much more.
The last man standing match between The Undertaker and Batista was a very good mostly convincing brawl, which isn't always easy to do as recent matches like the last ride match at Armageddon prove. The only problem was the ending. Though i don't have a problem with the decision itself, the melodramatic explosions and having the set fall down was laughable.
Finnaly, the fatal four way main event was one of the best WWE PPV main event matches in a long time. Cena is an underrated worker, and the other three are superb wrestlers, making this a great match that really lifts the PPV up to be well above average. The ending also works well as it elevates the winner without damaging the reputations of the other three.
On the whole this is a very good PPV carried by the last two matches, but even the undercard is fine with no really bad matches.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 24 November 2007
Backlash 2007 was an almost perfect show with no matches that really stood out as a skipable. All matches lived up to the hype and last for at least 15 minutes. The wrestling in this is of a very high standard with some head turning moves.

Match 1: World Tag Team Championship Match, The Hardys vs Lance Cade and Trever Murdoch
This was the best possible start to the PPV. It had everything, a springboard, a twist of fate and a swanton bomb. The Hardys on top form. One of the best tag team matches I have seen.

Match 2: WWE Women's Championship Match, Melina vs Mickie James
Although I am not a fan of women's wrestling this wasn't too bad. There were points in this match where Mickie James should have won the match but Melina retains the title.

Match 3: United States Championship Match, Chris Benoit vs MVP
Some of the best wrestling content of the night. Good to see Benoit retain in his home town.

Match 4: ECW Heavyweight Title Match, 3 on 1 Handicap Match
Bobby Lashley vs Mr McMahon, Shane McMahon and Umaga
A typicale McMahon match. Very sad to see Lashley lose his title under the circumstances. Had it been Lashley vs Umaga would certainly have won. Despite being an unfair match Lashley showed some brilliantly executed moves but was worn down by a vast range of Shane McMahon submissions.

Match 5: World Heavyweight Championship Match, Last Man Standing Match
Undertaker vs Batista
The best match of the night. Brilliant finish to the match with an incredible spear pff the stage. An amazing move in the middle, a legdrop through an announce table. Batista was struggling with a leg injury but put up a great fight.

Match 6: WWE Championship Title Match, Fatal 4-Way Match
John Cena vs Shawn Michaels vs Edge vs Randy Orton
A good match but it could have been better. Very fast moving and exciting finish. Great moonsault from HBK in the middle. Michaels was robbed of a victory.

Extras: Mr Kennedy Interview
Rob Van Dam Interview
Short and sweet extras.

Good PPV but the two main events didn't have a true winner. A great buy for a WWE fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 3 July 2014
superb
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
WWE - Backlash 2008 [DVD]
WWE - Backlash 2008 [DVD] by Wwe (DVD - 2008)
£9.98

WWE - Backlash 2009 [DVD]
WWE - Backlash 2009 [DVD] by Randy Orton (DVD - 2009)
£2.75

 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Pre-Order WWE 2K16 Now To Receive Playable Arnold as the Terminator!