Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2013
I find this riveting but it is a little romanticised. Beware if you want to use subtitles; they are Dutch!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
It told the story that should never be forgotton. I worry that it could, Russia annexing Urkraine. Watch and learn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
I ordered this for someone else .They appreciated this edition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
A stunning film which all youngsters should see
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
Good film ,but not a classic. l
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
Well worth the watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
I was very disappointed as I have been unable to turn off the subtitles from the disc as detailed on the purchase information. However the seller informed me this could be done via my DVD player. Unfortunately I was unable to do this or via the smart TV (all apparatus up- to - date) subtitles spoil the viewing if not required. I would suggest that the seller or sellers ensure that subtitles can be turned off from the disc this would stop any problems or diappointment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2008
The so-called `Nuremberg' Trials 1945-9 were a landmark in every sense of the word. And whilst this mini-series is sickeningly `American,' (Hence not receiving the full five stars,) it does also try to explore most of the ethical and legal quandaries which the world is still facing to this day.

The American actors/characters in this series do, by-and-large, fall back on the tired old cliché that Germany was `Naturally' fascist, that the whole country was guilty, that the Nazi's could never have been `Democratically' elected because democracy is `Pure & Good,' and that the noble American heroes slew the evil dragon in the end. But in spite of the pro-American propaganda, most of the rest of this international cast do an excellent job of exposing America's arrogance, hypocrisy and self-delusion.

Even the script itself gives the game away every now and again. For example, when Alec Baldwin visits the Nuremberg courthouse, expressing concern about when it will be ready just seconds after discussing trying Nazis for using slave labour, an American Corporal says "Just say the word and I'll have 15,000 German POW's down here by tomorrow."

Most of the city has been destroyed by the Allied bombing campaign. The air reeks of rotting corpses because some 30,000 people are still buried under the rubble. And as the legal representatives from America, Britain, France and the USSR meet to discuss the trial, the Soviet representative argues with Alec Baldwin and points out:

"20 million of my people were slaughtered by these fascist criminals; half of them civilians! How many died in Washington this way Mr Justice Jackson?"

And speaking of the fascist criminals who were guilty of unspeakable atrocities, Brian Cox does steal the show as Reich Marshall Goering, the single surviving member of the Nazi Leadership who has some of the best lines in the series.

"What about Hiroshima? Was that not your own medical experiment?"

"Are not the anti-Semitic laws in my country and the segregation laws in your own country simply a matter of degrees?"

And most perceptively of all;

"We both understand the truth my friend. The victors will always be the judges, and the vanquished, always the accused."

Second only to Brian Cox is the German actor who plays Albert Spier, the character who does more than anyone else to explain why so many people like himself had followed Hitler over a cliff.

"Nazi Germany was built on empty platitudes, because you can hear in them whatever you wish."

The clichéd `will they, won't they' romantic rubbish between Alec Baldwin and his secretary provided the love interest in the series. But by far the most important relationship was the growing friendship between Goering and his American guard, underlining the fact that whilst America may claim to be a freedom loving and democratic, around half of its citizens are STILL racist, anti-Semitic, xenophobic, bible-thumping, anti-Communist bigots who are trying to use democracy to create a dictatorship similar to the one which Hitler created in 1934.

Having watched many American Television programmes in which complex issues always returned to the `Good vs. Evil' dogma at the end, it was inevitable that this programme would draw the clichéd conclusions which I laid out at the beginning of this review. But even for someone who has little or no interest in the Second World War, I would highly recommend that they watch this series at least twice.

Remember, watch carefully because the truth is there, slipped in every now and again whenever the big boys aren't watching.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
The supplier did not read the cover properly - they sent me a Dutch version. I live in Namibia and the series was brought out for my by my daughter who resides in the UK. I am not sure what to do about this.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2010
What starts off as a good film or mini-series, however one likes to look at this is unfortunately spoilt by Hollywood inserting its' own unwanted, unjustifiable and un-warranted story into what COULD have been a very good film. The cast was quite well made, though I'm NOT so sure about David Maxwell-Fyffes(Christopher Plummer) wonderful suntan or necessarily Alec Baldwin in the lead as Robert Jackson? Jill Hennessy who so obviously couldn't wait to get her it off even in 1945 would have been regarded as a trollop by anyone who knew her!Brian Cox as Hermann Guerring acted out is skin but then when doesn't he and Sam Stone who played and bore a remarkable likeness to Julius Streicher the Jew Hater and in REAL-LIFE is Jewish apparently broke down after the showing of the films of the Concentration Camps to the Court, so powerful and demanding was HIS role. Others with brilliant lines were Michael Ironside, the Colonel in charge of the Prison when he told Guerring he was placing him on a diet and making sure he reached his trial fit enough to hang.Hess, played by Colm Feore had an unusually small role but it was a significant one.When it is all brought together it's OK but I found it hard to believe the Ltnt. from Texas would be stupid enough to give Guerring his brief-case from the store without searching it? He was a loner, and I think he was Gay, going by the way he treated the woman at the party/drink in the town with the other soldiers and I think he was besotted with Guerring!But one assumes THIS is more Hollywood BUNKUM that didn't really happen and that stretches your credibility just that bit too far!
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)