Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars8
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 October 2007
I've been consumed with this CD for the last couple of weeks. Musically, it's very satisfying, with varied and always effective instrumentation (samples, banjo, glock, horns, strings, accordian) augmenting the strong keyboard and electric guitar contributions. Watson's classical grounding and method is clear, as is his songwriting talent - songs take on engrossing chord sequences, key changes and time signatures. I'm not enamoured with the unrefined production, but the songs and performances make this my best purchase in a while. Highlight: Man under the Sea, but others come pretty close.

Recommended to fans of art-rock, baroque pop etc.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2007
I shall repeat, why is this guy not more well known? Hopefully with his upcoming appearance on the Cinematic Orchestra's new album he will be propelled into the spotlight and will have Amazon buyers falling over themselves to write adoring reviews. Ok vocally he does remind me alot of Jeff Buckley (which is quite an achievment in itself) and the very overated Anthony & the Johnsons who I personally find un-listenable. The music is unlike anything else out there at the moment, ranging from simple piano arrangements to lush & elaborate compositions which give his vocal range a true workout. Do yourself a favour and savour the sonic delights of this album, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment10 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2008
Haven't stopped playing it since my sister recoomended it to me. The falsetto Buckleyesque element others have commented upon but its the strength of the songwriting, the depth of the arrangements and the confidence that shines through. PW has driven Band of Horses from my playlist and they were massive so big up to the voice of 2008
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2007
With obvious comparisons to Jeff Buckley the music has an instant familiarity, with Mr Watsons compelling vocal range. Listening to it for the last week or so, Satie pops up, as well as the quirky nature and soundscapes of Goldfrapp's Felt Mountain. Eclectic enough not to be too predictable with some fantastic song writing. Brilliant
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2015
I first heard Patrick Watson on a soundtrack to BBC3's Our World War, the track was by the Cinematic Orchestra. I then decided to buy this and it's a rich and interesting album. As a bereft Jeff Buckley fan Patrick's voice hits the spot. I am suitably curious enough now to explore more.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2007
It is only a matter of time before Patrick Watson is extremely well-known. This album is truly beautiful and just incredibely lush. His voice is amazing, the music is epic but finely orchestrated. My favourite tracks are 'Close to Paradise' and 'The Great Escape'.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2008
Absolutly beautiful have listened to it almost non stop. Bought it after hearing him featured on Ma Fleur and have not been dissapointed. enchanting vocals, and some truly original arrangments. highly recommended
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2007
if you only buy essential albums then this needs to go in your collection. unique soundscapes, beautiful falsetto - i mean beautiful - wonderfully crafted songs and a great soundtrack for the cold winter nights. just cannot stop playing this and it keeps giving me something new on each listen. it is very easy to see why this album won the polaris (canadian mercury award) award.

do yourself a favour friend and check these guys out - you will not be dissappointed
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.24

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.