Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror as Art...a true masterpiece
This is my favourite Dario Argento yet without doubt, and though there are many of his I have yet to see (including his classic Inferno), I can't see that changing...it's just a unique horror film, extremely clever, extremely well made, and beautifully filmed and choreographed...I have always loved Argento's over-the-top, elaborate murder scenes, which are especially good...
Published on 3 Feb. 2012 by Ceallaigh

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks great - shame about the plot & acting
This is a film which I'm sure works much better in a cinema than it does in your living room.
If stars were awarded just for the look of a film then this would be 5*, however, the lack of much of a plot combined with some hammy acting (not helped by the dubbed english soundtrack) stop this from being a 5 star film.
What makes it worthwhile is the set design and...
Published on 18 Jan. 2003 by Lendrick


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror as Art...a true masterpiece, 3 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Suspiria [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
This is my favourite Dario Argento yet without doubt, and though there are many of his I have yet to see (including his classic Inferno), I can't see that changing...it's just a unique horror film, extremely clever, extremely well made, and beautifully filmed and choreographed...I have always loved Argento's over-the-top, elaborate murder scenes, which are especially good in Suspiria (the first murder scene surely goes down as one of the greatest horror scenes ever)...the cinematography, the sets, the unreal, almost psychedelic use of colour, the art noveau style...

Goblin's fantastic soundtrack is also unlike any other in horror films...using bizarre instruments like sitar and didgeridoo, much of it isn't even musical...it just matches the film perfectly, and acts as a truly horrific wall of noise some times, reaching in incredible crescendo at the right moments, which sounds great on this restored, great quality release...the visual quality is perfect too, could have been made ten years ago...I imagine the blu ray looks even better...

and on top of this the theme and setting is original and works really well too...generally a fan of serious, supernatural and witch-related films, I love the idea of this mysterious coven in a ballet school...

Can't fault this DVD...though I would love to see a nicely packaged Arrow Video release, the flawless quality of the restored film itself, and the special features - featuring film critics such as Kim Newman and the thoughts of Argento himself and Goblin's keyboard wizard Claudio Simonetti - definitely make it worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Masterpiece of Dario Argento's work., 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suspiria (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
First things first, let's briefly look at the film itself...I wont waste time as any horror fan worth their salt will no doubt have seen the legendary 'Suspiria' countless times by now. But for any newcomers to the scene this 70's horror classic follows the lovely Suzi Banyon (played by Jessica Harper in her finest role) as she arrives at her new ballet school in Bavaria, Germany. Arriving late in the midst of a furious storm she finds herself locked out of the prestigious establishment and has to seek alternate accommodation, but as she heads off in her taxi she notices a distressed girl run off in the distance. The girl has just been ejected from the school decrying that something 'absurdly fantastic' is going on there, but as she holds up in a friends stylish art deco apartment both she and her friend soon fall foul to an evil mysterious presence in one of the most stylish and graphic showstopping death scenes to be seen in a horror movie in a long time. The next day Suzi manages to gain access to her new school and quickly settles in and is introduced to her colleagues and teacher... but before you think we're sliding into a girls own adventure you're swiftly assured that this is anything but that.

Argento's Suspiria is without doubt one of the horror genres true cinematic classics, why so some may ask? Well after viewing the film it should be all to clear (even for those who may not be fans of the directors output in general) - 'Suspiria' is the sum total of collaboration perfection...at the fore is the stunning directorial skills of Argento himself, using the scope of the viewed image he creates every shot as though it is a work of art; stylish, rich and colourful, quite simply a visual delight. But what use is sumptuous eye candy if you don't have a decent plot and the story here is indeed a good one, using mystery elements used successfully in giallo style movies previously Argento and ex wife Daria Nicolodi give the old graphic murder mystery theme a fresh new occult edge that newcomers to the film will find enthralling, especially during the films old school gothic finale. But the final piece of the jigsaw comes in the form of the simply stunning soundtrack scored by 70's prog rockers Goblin who deliver perhaps the definitive companion horror movie score. Suspiria is also probably one of the most atmospheric horror movies I've ever seen. What makes it especially interesting is that it was shot on standard Eastman Kodak color film stock but was printed using the three-strip Technicolor process. This was achieved by using one of the last remaining machines of the kind out there. It really gives the movie a unique look and very vibrant colors.

Nouveaux have sourced a new HD transfer for this disc and on first glance it looks more appropriately coloured than the existing Italian blu-ray disc. The filesize for the transfer is a relatively small 17.1GB and it has been encoded using the MPEG-4/AVC codec and is presented with the sole option of a master audio soundtrack in English. The detail both in and out of light is very impressive for the most part, edges have not been haloed and the colour timing looks as good as I have seen with this film. The 5.1 mix is a very good approximation of three-dimensional sound with even voices mixed to the rears when appropriate, and the added definition is a thing of beauty when witnessing the high pitched scratching effects or the various sickening thuds and impacts of this unforgettable soundtrack. All of the featurettes offered here are presented in standard definition and feature lots of Xavier Mendik whose 10 minute introduction to the releases of Nouveaux's Cine-Xcess line is the same as it has been on their other releases. Fear at 400 degrees is basically an essay from Mendik which also includes Patricia McCormack, Kim Newman, and Norman J Warren. Dario himself pops up and there is some examination of the role of gender in his films, along with appreciation of Goblin's work on the film (from Claudio Simonetti himself!). It's a very creditable and intelligent piece. The final featurette edits together longer versions of McCormack, Warren and Simonetti's interviews to appraise the film from their own personal viewpoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suspiria 1976 [2 disc version], 14 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a 1977 supernatural horror that follows Suzy Bannion [Jessica Harper] as an American ballet student who arrives during a raging storm at a prestigious dance academy in Germany. Things go awry from the start and she is turned away, only to later discover her arrival coincided with a gruesome double murder. We then follow her as she tries to come to grips with events around her.
From the stylish, atmosphere-laden opening you are relentlessly assaulted by the progressive rock score (full of whisperings and heavy-breathing) added to the bold use of colour filters and forced lighting which heightens the atmosphere at every turn. Even the sets are bathed in over the top gothic romanticism and the over-decoration reminding one of Laurence Llewelyn Bowen [Google him], It's a visual and aural feast and it's always fascinating to watch.
This is a 2 disc package. The first holds the film and the standard chapter selection, extras [2 trailers for it, poster & still gallery plus a few other bits]. The second disc is a commentary and advert for Argento's other movies. Don't watch the trailers as it will ruin the suspense and acccording to which the film should run at 104 minutes -It doesn't, it's cut by 10 minutes [lose a *] being 94 minutes long.
The other problem is that the plot is quite weak, the storyline is feeble and it relies on its artistic flair to pull it out of the mundane, something it achieves with perfection. The film deserves to be given a low rating as it does get a bit monotonous, but the technical angle saves it. Yet it remains an outstanding **** rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars terrifying and poetic, 7 Feb. 2012
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I don't generally like horror films but this one etches itself on the mind permanently. It is such a potent mixture of sound and amazing visual effects that you are completely overwhelmed, as by a nightmare, and yet there is a kind of beauty there too. Argento has a visionary quality, setting the horror sequences against scenes of ludicrous humour involving the ballet mistresses - Alida Valli and Joan Bennett no less - and the daily running of the school. The banality of these exchanges combined with their overheated delivery gives the whole thing a touch of camp that works brilliantly, as the rest of the time one is terrified by the build-up to the set pieces which are filmed with a highly disturbing sadism. The value of what Argento is doing seems debatable to me - it is poised between unacceptably nasty and sadistic horror and a fantasy film like Cocteau's La belle et la bete - but this makes it fascinating to think about, if more compelling than one would like or perhaps care to admit. One might want, at some level, to suppress the excess of horror, but in doing so the vision would be lost, and with it the awfulness and sense of dread that exert so powerful a hold at the same time as they repel. It is certainly a testament to the dark side of the imagination, which cinema has proved all too able to exploit, once Psycho and Peeping Tom opened the floodgates. It is not a world I would want to dwell in too much, but the onslaught on the senses that the film amounts to, with its extraordinary fusion of sound and colour filters, and a fantastically imaginative creation of interior space, defies belief. The documentary about Argento, in which he talks about his films and where they come from psychologically, makes a very interesting addition to this 2 DVD set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At Times a True Masterpiece of Film- But Not Argento's Best, 14 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Suspiria [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Suspiria is regarded as probably Dario Argento's best ever film- and also a horror classic in general.

The story follows a young American dancer who is at a school to learn her trade. Problem is, students are dropping off and disappearing like flys. Something sinister is beyond the door.... Witches perhaps?

For the most part Suspiria is superb. The rich colours used throughout the film are a joy to behold, and one could only wish that directors would have such vision now.

The death scenes are well executed (pardon the pun). They are done so well that it rvials the death scenes in Bladerunner.

The devastating soundtrack which comes full on with each death is genuinely eerie and fits the mood well.

There are however some problems, maybe minor but some. This is a dance school, but don't expect to see much dancing in this film. Surely this would have been a key ingredient to the overall atmosphere of the film. When one views Opera- one sees Opera.

Also there are too many characters who are just there for utterly no reason. Check out the flatmate at the beginning of the film- we don't see her again, almost like she has been forgotten.

I cannot quite call this a masterpiece, and certaintly this is not Argento's best work. However it is better than the often hyped Deep Red- and is of course deserving to be named in anyone's favourite horror films of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First time for Suspiria, 9 Sept. 2012
By 
Ben (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suspiria (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Being an avid horror fan I had been waiting to watch Suspiria for some time.

I bought the Blu Ray for a great price and eagerly awaited its delivery. I had heard many different stories about the film and many glowing reviews. People were shocked that I had not seen this gem of a film. A classic I had been told.

It finally came and I was not disappointed. I was thoroughly enthralled by the story and the astounding visuals. For some reason I just could not look away and I was strangely unsettled at moments in the film that I would not have expected.

There was fantastic direction and a great script but what really just blew me away was the colour and the visuals. I was captivated by them. The picture was fantastic, for a film as old as this, it looked great. It could have been shot yesterday and my HDTV was loving every minute of it.

Coming from a first time viewer I would tell everyone to watch Suspiria, especially on Blu Ray. I am very glad I saw this for the first time with the fantastic quality on the Blu Ray rather than a DVD.

Fans of the film will no doubt appreciate the Blu Ray and new comers like myself will love the film and the Blu Ray

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspiria Overexposed, 4 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. R. D. Thaxter (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Suspiria (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Finally Dario Argento's phantasmagorical 1977 horror classic makes it to blu ray, but not without some minor problems. Yes, this is probably the best looking version you'll lay your hands on at the moment, the picture is razor-wire sharp (for most of the time) and the colours more vibrant than ever.
Unfortunately certain scenes in this transfer have an overexposed look that particularly seem to effect the white areas of the screen, faces turn a sickly shade of pink and lighter areas are bleached out entirely. This is particularly noticeable in the close-up of Suzy's room mate applying nail varnish and the white of Sarah's nightdress as she writhes among the razor wire. In the daylight scenes the outside of the dance academy turns a sort of salmon pink colour rather than red and by the time we get to the climax when Suzy flees the burning building the colours have been boosted to such an extent that any details are completely lost. Having seen the movie countless times this made for an interesting viewing experience, certain scenes looked better than ever, others were just off the scale.
As Suspiria is a film which...probably more than any other, relies so heavily on it's rich Bava-esque colour pallet it's a shame that these problems couldn't have been ironed out.
On the plus side the relaxed audio commentary with Kim Newman and Alan Jones is as fascinating and informative as you'd expect, these guys really know their stuff. The other minimal extras, mainly talking heads, are a disapointment.
If you love this movie as much as I do, you're going to be purchasing this Nouveaux blu ray release anyway, I'm glad I did, because despite the flaws in this transfer, Suspiria is still one of the most amazing pieces of pure cinema, both visually and aurally, that I've ever had the pleasure of experiencing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspiria, 6 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Suspiria (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Here's my review about the movie:

Dario Argento has made history with Suspiria.It was the opening chapter of the"Three Mothers"(Suspiria,Inferno,Mother Of Tears) trilogy.It's not a simple horror movie.It's an art movie with a really beautiful photography,many famous scenes & Goblin's breathtaking soundtrack.

Suspiria is really dark,occultist (witchcraft,black magic) vision from Dario Argento.

The new remastered (1080p,AVC) HD transfer looks marvellous on Blu-ray.This movie has been made more than 30 years ago ,maybe it has never looked so good like this one.The brand new lossless dts-HD MA track sounds incredible.It seems to me too loud sometimes but i've really enjoyed it.Suspiria has been reached a new (maybe the best ?)level of sound & pics quality.However this is a real miracle...:)

The single layer Blu-ray contains the full glorious uncut version of movie
with a lot of bonus materials(nice move from distributor).The disc locked on Region "B" so only working with European BD players(too bad for US collectors).

I recommend this BD for every Dario Argento & horror fan because this is an all time classic & a reference Blu-ray.

PQ:10/9
AQ:10/10
Extras:10/8
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What my PS3 and HD TV were waiting for..., 2 Feb. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suspiria (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
...a real chance to show just how impressive blu-ray can be.

I have numerous copies of Suspiria, from the first X-certificate ex-rental VHS through to the Anchor Bay DVD. I have watched the film more times than I care to remember. I thought I knew the film inside-out.

On my first viewing of this blu-ray release, however, I found myself thinking "never noticed that before" over and over again. The effect of most DVD to blu-ray comparisons is noticing the accentuated lines, textures and colours. This blu-ray made me notice things like subtle expressions on faces that, knowing Dario, must have been carefully directed but were easily missed on other formats. The most startling example for me is the expression on the face of Madame Blanc's nephew during Suzy's first encounter with witchcraft as she follows the other dancers to the Red Room. I love that scene, but never noticed that during the "blast" of light, a slight grin spreads across his face that then fades as the light fades. Perfectly timed - and incredibly creepy!

Let's have the same again for Profondo Rosso!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Technicolour Nightmare, 9 Jan. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suspiria [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
On watching this new edition I suddenly realised that the dodgy video copy I'd previously come across really hadn't done it justice, and make no mistake this is a earnest attempt to deliver a nightmarish vision to the cinema, rich in colour and darkness, caricature, lambent imagery ...and just a little bit of nonsense. This is a tale of witchcraft, coming of age, beauty and ugliness, and is in many ways is a very female fairy-tale to boot, in which men play little or no part. As a film, while not perfection (sometimes it does sudder under the weight of its own portentiousness), it stands head-and-shoulders above much horror cinema of its vintage, and also has a truely great film-score, and I heartily recommend it to anyone who wants a little substance to their shadows.

Also, in comment on the DVD contents, there are a number of documentaries on this edition which I found both interesting and informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews