Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great double CD compilation, 18 May 2008
By 
VMR (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy Birthday: The Best Of Altered Images (Audio CD)
I had only heard a few tracks by Altered Images before buying this CD. Happy Birthday/I could be happy is on several various artists compilations I have but the other 34 tracks were largely a mystery to me. So I wondered whether this might be a 2CD set that I would only listen to CD1. That's not the case with this compilation. There are classics like Dead Pop Stars/Love and Kisses/Idols/Insects surrounded by other greats Sentimental/Faithless/Another lost look are just a small sample of what's on offer here. You might think as I did that most of the songs would be light, childish carefree songs but there are some serious tracks Leave me alone/Don't talk to me about love. The songs are original, beautifully arranged and sung by Clare. After listening to this it compares favourably to marathon listening sessions like Sandinista! or Stadium Arcadium. So you get 2 double albums of music enclosed in an elegant cover. A true bargain at current prices. I couldn't be more happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of a fantastic band, 9 Mar 2009
By 
A. Jones (Bangor, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy Birthday: The Best Of Altered Images (Audio CD)
If you loved Altered Images and Claire Grogan then you will love this album. In fact even if you didn't, you'll still love this album. Claire Grogan has a unique and infectious voice and Altered Images as a band of musicians created a unique sound in their day. The atrwork is great, the songs even better, and it all adds up to a wonderful trip down memory lane.

Definitely one to buy. Delivery is always very fast from AMazon, and the packaging is even better. Highly recommended.

And I still love Claire...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection., 18 Mar 2010
By 
Jose Bueno "Pepe" (Milton Keynes UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy Birthday: The Best Of Altered Images (Audio CD)
Altered images were so much more than "happy birthday". This collection is almost all of their output. Fabulous stuff and a pretty picture of Clare Grogan looking like audrey Hepburn on the cover! Great pop music, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bargain pack of post-punk pop gems, 17 Feb 2008
This review is from: Happy Birthday: The Best Of Altered Images (Audio CD)
Not the 'best of', you actually get pretty much the band's whole recorded output here. The Happy Birthday album has rather suffered over time and its Banshees-like sound didn't much impress me, despite some very good moments. More of a revelation is the follow up 'Pinky Blue', where the band achieved the new wave pop sound the classic Happy Birthday single had suggested. It still sounds bright and spirited and is full of strong tracks. The final album Bite is widely disliked and it's easy to see why. Personally I don't like the arrangements or Grogan's 'grown up' vocal manner, but there are strong tunes and in hindsight it's surprising it didn't find a bigger audience. I guess it is an interesting bonus when you are buying two minor post-punk pop classics (and some extras) for such a good price. Pity about the feeble booklet, it doesn't do their achievement justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The almost complete, 16 Aug 2012
This review is from: Happy Birthday: The Best Of Altered Images (Audio CD)
The only track missing from this double CD is Little Town Flirt the Del Shannon song found on an oddball collection called Party Party otherwise the most overworked and generally meaningless Best of title is about the 3rd time round for the Scots new wavers who left all the vocals to Claire Grogan who sounded uncannily like Noosha Fox.
Championed by John Peel who introduced them on Top of the Pops they charted times between 1981 and 1983 just missing the top with Happy Birthday.
Apparantly no American career which was their loss while their own music went into AOR (Adult Oriented Rock or American Originated Rubbish-take your pick)
This should be the last word on an Altered Images comp.
Nice sleeve of the dress wearing Claire who turned herself into Audrey Hepburn before leaving to become a TV presenter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars catchy!, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy Birthday: The Best Of Altered Images (Audio CD)
great car listening! a band who wrote some magic poptunes, great voice and ideallysuited for the spring and summer !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just the hits, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy Birthday: The Best Of Altered Images (Audio CD)
This CD shows that there was a lot more to AI than Happy Birthday. Especially the earlier work stands out for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars braw, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy Birthday: The Best Of Altered Images (Audio CD)
a braw album from this Scottish band, what can i add to make this up to the required number of words?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy Birthday: The Best Of Altered Images (Audio CD)
Album wanted as a bday gift so very greatly received, lots of tracks on the album enjoyed most of them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy music..in the main!, 3 Sep 2012
By 
Chez (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy Birthday: The Best Of Altered Images (Audio CD)
Realised I hadn't listened to Altered Images for so long, as all I had was an old cassette which was very worn out, and also poor quality compared to CD's today. This is a great compilation, lots of the familiar old stuff I enjoyed years ago, but also some new "stuff" which I must admit I'm not too keen on. It's mainly "happy" music to play in the car and singalong to, or when doing boring dusting etc around the house, and of course it's very nostalgic! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Happy Birthday: The Best Of Altered Images
Happy Birthday: The Best Of Altered Images by Altered (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews