Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!!
This CD is a 'must have' for all fans of Gershwin. The sound quality is excellent and it comes at a good purchase price. Buy it!!
Published 13 months ago by Bugposse

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fab music, but the Cd packed up within weeks
I love this music as it reminds me of Woody Allen's movies. I only played this CD a few times and then it packed up,started jumping, so I've stopped playing it. What a shame.
Published 14 months ago by Fifi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!!, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gershwin: Greatest Classical Hits - Rhapsody in Blue (Audio CD)
This CD is a 'must have' for all fans of Gershwin. The sound quality is excellent and it comes at a good purchase price. Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New York New York !, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gershwin: Greatest Classical Hits - Rhapsody in Blue (Audio CD)
The piece was just as I remembered it, it will allways remind me of Manhattan at night, with the skyscrapers all lit-up, I lived over there for 30 years, and it's one of the fonder memories I keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and Evocative, 6 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gershwin: Greatest Classical Hits - Rhapsody in Blue (Audio CD)
Is there anything new under the sun? Considering how predictable and hackneyed much of today's music must seem to the jaded ear it's a question I have asked myself many times. Those of us who were around during the days of Beatlemania will know how exciting it is to hear new and original music. Concertgoers also felt the same sense of excitement in the 1920's when they heard Rhapsody in Blue for the very first time; its performance received a standing ovation from an audience jaded by many of the mediocre musical offerings of the day. The piece is an inspired example of how European orchestral harmonies were successfully combined with the blues scale to create something fresh and unique at the time. I first heard Rhapsody in Blue when a teenager. A friend loaned me a 12-inch vinyl recording and when I played it the hairs on my neck stood up. From the clarinet glissando at the beginning to the ascending trombone passages near the end Rhapsody in Blue is sheer bliss and evokes the Art Deco period perfectly. This particular CD also features other pieces by Gershwin, such as `An American in Paris' etc. and therefore is great value for money. But if the only piece you ever listen to on this CD is Rhapsody in Blue then your money will have been well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent addition., 3 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. A. H. Blyth "Alec Blyth" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gershwin: Greatest Classical Hits - Rhapsody in Blue (Audio CD)
If you like Gershwin, this makes an excellent addition to your collection. Leonard Bernstein as well. Get it, you won't be disapponted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant compilation of Gershwin's best work, 8 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gershwin: Greatest Classical Hits - Rhapsody in Blue (Audio CD)
Gershwin has always been one of my favourites, ever since listening to his 'Rhapsody in Blue' on the radio that one time. Therefore, I decided that it would be good to some of his greatest works on CD.

It does what it says on the tin: It presents the full-length version of 'Rhapsody in Blue' alongside other classics such as 'An American in Paris' and 'Porgy and Bess' in a well-compiled fashion. The wonderful thing is the variation in this CD - from the upbeat, fast-moving 'Cuban Overture' to the soft, calming 'Three Preludes No. 2', this CD presents a nice range of Gershwin's work.

It is, however, by no means a definitive collection of the composer's work. It simply gives a selection of his greatest works.

I would say that this is definitely worth the price - a measly five pounds when I got it - considering the quality of the compositions, the orchestration of the music and the quality of the sound, too. If you want Gershwin, get it here - but if you want the definitive collector's edition of pretty much everything he ever wrote, look elsewhere. He certainly didn't write just nine pieces,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 22 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gershwin: Greatest Classical Hits - Rhapsody in Blue (Audio CD)
Lovely relaxing listening and very nostalgic for an oldie. It arrived well within the time frame and a reasonable price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gershwin Rhapsody in Blue., 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gershwin: Greatest Classical Hits - Rhapsody in Blue (Audio CD)
This recording I chose to vary my choice of music to listen to in the evening. It is a good recording and I am beginning to appreciate this type of music more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gershwin Rhapsody in Blue, 18 May 2014
By 
Mr. K. James (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gershwin: Greatest Classical Hits - Rhapsody in Blue (Audio CD)
To my mind the definitive version of this classic Gershin music classic. A must for all serious music lovers and collectors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gershwin: Greatest Classical Hits - Rhapsody in Blue (Audio CD)
An amazing piece of music and beautifully performed.
Exhilarating and uplifting.
I bought this for myself as a treat and play it frequently.
An ideal present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rhapsody in Blue, 27 Nov 2011
This review is from: Gershwin: Greatest Classical Hits - Rhapsody in Blue (Audio CD)
Bought this CD with the expectation that there would be just Rhapsody in Blue on it, but what a wonderful surprise there are many other memorable compositions. Really good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gershwin: Greatest Classical Hits - Rhapsody in Blue
Gershwin: Greatest Classical Hits - Rhapsody in Blue by George Gershwin (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews