Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars14
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2007
this is a gtreat double cd for all elvis fans the first cd is just some live tracks we have all heared before at sometime but cd 2 is great the king in vegas his first show brilliant that all i can say to all the fans who think this is another concert with a different cover wrong all fans go for it the sound quaulity is excellent
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2011
This Album is made up of two CD's. The first is a collection of songs from various concerts going from 1969 to 1972. It's pretty good but most of the recordings have been already heard before by Elvis fans. The second CD is the masterpiece. A concert which took place in Las Vegas in 1969 and where, although you may think all Elvis's songs are the same, here you can notice the difference. His voice was great and "scratchy", he talks, jokes and messes around a lot. It shows you Elvis in his best form. A must for Elvis fans and non.
Lenny de Pinto
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2007
Well..Viva Las Vegas!
With such 'attractive' and 'original' title one might think we 're back in 1964, for a joy ride through Vegas with Ann Margaret & Elvis! Daddy would love that too, but this is another messed up Wooly Booger release from GREAT 1969 concert season(on disc 2) backed up with another unnecessary compilation from 1970(on disc 1). Music is great, but we had it before so many times. What doesn't belong here is studio version of Viva Las Vegas opening on disc 1, so 'dont you be nobodys fool' to think this is some rare live version!
Another sad moment is that booklet contains Elvis picture from 1970 season and Colin Escott liner notes for 1969 season, and Vice Versa for second disc. (Vice Versa is not some Italian critic working for BMG)Well, even amateur fans from rest of the world know facts better then those who are payed to take care of the business. Idea for front cover was the same as for 'Live at International' but they painted it in gold, just like on '30 No1 Hits', and used B&W photos for booklet but with Elvis mike color altered to...you guessed it, gold, the same trick like for 'That's the way it was' 3CD box.
And now finaly some facts about what sales this messed-up product. First dics is previously released - simply a filler, but second one is a thriller.

This is first recorded concert in 1969 - not first performed. Could this be the reason for strange, messy sound, especially on first five tracks?
One could think that poor ole Elvis is some harum-scarum tambourine player, and he doesn't need no guitars around. I would like to point
out that this is NOT THE BEST SOUNDING CONCERT, as some people suggested, and sound differs from, for example, 'Live at International' or 'All shook Up' cd's. On this one production changes from song to song, sometimes it works great, sometimes not. However, this concert cd contains probably some of the best renditions of his standard 1969 repertoire, and Elvis & TCB band sound realy raunchy on some rockin' numbers like I got a Woman, Jailhouse Rock, Hound Dog, What'd I say ,and even Hey Jude is as raw as bloody steak. Once again, thanks to Elvis, BMG had no sneaking suspicion about our money marching up in their direction, even with obvious ill deserved confidence in their marketing abilities and careless love for our sadly departed King of Rock& Roll.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
Like all the other reviewers say, the first CD isn't worth having unless you're astonishingly missing these tracks from your collection. However, the second CD contains mostly previously unreleased performances from the first properly recorded show of Elvis' return to the stage. Unfortunately the tape was damaged so some of the tracks have had to be spliced with performances from another show but this only applies to a few of the tracks. In all the years I've listened to Elvis the 1969 In Person album was something that didn't get very many outings but that was because I never thought the sound quality was that good (and the original CD release of that album seemed to emphasise this) but these days the sound has been remastered on all the shows from this period to provide a warm resonant sound. It may not be the best sound reproduction you'll ever hear but what the heck, it's another (almost) complete live show in stereo. The monologue could have been left off as this is one of the tracks that had to be taken from another show (I think it's from the FTD 2-CD In Person set) but apart from that it's another welcome addition to my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
what can one say of this man that has not already been said
I think he was unique ,maybe never equaled or replace.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2012
Great value for money or intro to the King. Whereas CD1 is basically a comp of what we know, CD2 is a great example of a Presley Concert. Some reviewers stated the sound was not good but I felt it sounded adequate. Presley fans would enjoy.... :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
Anyone who loves Elvis' great live Las Vegas performances will love this. This was probably his most dynamic period and best remembered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2012
Elvis at his peak and his red-hot TCB band in imperious form - all the hits plus additional gems - make it totally essential.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
WHAT CAN YOU SAY ABOUT THE KING.THE KING IS DEAD LONG LIVE THE KING LONG LIVE THE KING AS USUAL
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
This was a present for a friend who's a HUGE Elvis fan, he loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)