Customer Reviews


161 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


193 of 202 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect adaption of a great novel
'Tell No One' (called 'Ne le dis à personne' in France) is the French film adaption of the bestselling stand-alone novel from Harlan Coben. The film begins when Alex Beck and his wife and long-time love, Margot visit the Beck family lake house for their 13th anniversary. During a late night swim in the lake Alex and Margot are attacked and left for dead. A few days...
Published on 12 Sept. 2007 by Dr Evil

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fairly standard thriller
I won't elaborate on the story as other reviewers have covered it adequately, but the gist revolves around a man who receives an email from his wife several years after she supposedly died in a murder.

The plot seems good, and indeed the acting is top-notch and you really feel for the characters. However, for some reason the way it's filmed makes the story hard...
Published on 26 April 2010 by Lewis Fairfax


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You have mail - from your dead wife, 13 Jan. 2014
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell No-One (Ne Le Dis A Personne) [DVD] (DVD)
I just had the feeling that this was going to be a real 'knicker gripper' from the head line "8 years ago Alex's wife was murdered. Today she emailed him" and I was right.

A mild mannered paediatrician slowly comes to the realisation that his murdered wife is actually still alive an kicking, but it isn't as simple as having a reunion and asking where she has been. The police are now looking at him as a suspect for the murder after finding more bodies. He can't protest his innocence as he has been instructed to "Tell no-one".

He is now on the run and slipping around with some unsavoury people.

I haven't read the book this film was based upon, but if it is half as good as this film, it has to be worth getting hold of a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fairly standard thriller, 26 April 2010
By 
Lewis Fairfax (Cramlington, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell No-One (Ne Le Dis A Personne) [DVD] (DVD)
I won't elaborate on the story as other reviewers have covered it adequately, but the gist revolves around a man who receives an email from his wife several years after she supposedly died in a murder.

The plot seems good, and indeed the acting is top-notch and you really feel for the characters. However, for some reason the way it's filmed makes the story hard to follow and at times overly cryptic; you have to put your full undivided attention into this film to understand what's going on.

However, this doesn't distract from the great dialogue, the good acting and the idea behind the whole thing. For what you pay, it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but stretching reality, 6 Jan. 2010
By 
CATRIONA SYME "Catriona" (Renfrewshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell No-One (Ne Le Dis A Personne) [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed the first hour and a quarter of this film, it was entertaining, well done and not predictable. However I felt the final third of the film let it down. It was almost trying to be too clever and as a result moved from the realistic into the realms of fantasy, almost, it was a pity because for me it just took the edge off the quality of the film. I was almost laughing at the end. Also the male lead looks about 50 odd throughout the film even though he is meant to have just graduated from medical school at the beginning and his wife looks more like his daughter. Having said all that it is definitely worth watching because it is good entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable but flawed, 24 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Tell No-One (Ne Le Dis A Personne) [DVD] (DVD)
When trying to cope with bereavement, we long for contact with the person so cruelly taken away. We want to tell them things we left unsaid, we want to ask for their advice, for their forgiveness, for their thoughts, and for their love. Many films deal with bereavement, and lots deal with the idea of contact with such a person. It's one of our deepest emotions as a species, and many so-called psychics and mediums have made an awful lot of money tapping into that basic human need for answers, so it isn't too surprising that we also turn to films to offer us solutions that aren't available in the real world. Most either deal with moving on and achieving that terrible thing created by US teen relationship dramas, closure, or some kindly (or terrifying) paranormal/spiritual occurrence means we can address these issues face to ghostly face.

Staying away from spiritual issues, Tell No One gives us another fantasy contact scenario more relevant to today's digital age. What if your wife got murdered eight years ago, and you still visit her parents on that day each year, and then, one day, you receive an email from her? That is the setup of this thriller, that takes the love of a man for his childhood sweetheart (despite the fact he's clearly quite a few years older than her - I guess we're meant to ignore that, as flashbacks to childhood show them as the same age) and puts him through hell. He was suspected at the time (having been knocked out in the lake at the time of the murder, he was found on the dock - how did that happen?), and the discovery of two bodies near the murder site, with evidence linking back to him, he is suspected all over again. That "man on the run" theme has been resurrected again (literally, in one exhilarating foot chase), and we are as confused as our hero, played excellently by Francois Cluzet, throughout.

Whether you will like this film depends largely on whether you like being confused, and are prepared to suspend a fair amount of disbelief. I thoroughly enjoyed the confusion, and was very willing to go along with whatever they wanted for most of the film. I'm one of the very few people who enjoyed the flawed Cameron Crowe film "Vanilla Sky", although I felt very let down by the ending. To some extent, that same enjoyment and criticism can be applied here. I will say, to most people's obvious relief, this is a better film than Vanilla Sky, but, when a film is deliberately confusing you, you want payback in terms of the reveals. You want good answers, that tie everything together, all the things you thought were utterly unexplainable. This does a reasonable attempt, but there are some plot holes, and it's all very unlikely. Also, rather than a nice little dripfeed of facts that tie it all together, this film falls into the annoying self-made trap of having to effectively stop the film, and have one character explain the entire solution. This felt cheap and a bit of an easy get out for the film, having backed itself into a corner, and definitely drops the film down the scorechart from where it was about half way through.

That said, it's very well acted, it looks beautiful, and there are some nice touches. I will also say that in a time when any nice, original story from anywhere around the world that offers anything different, is immediately bought up, repackaged, given a standard Hollywood player, and reset in New York or L.A., it's nice to see an American thriller taken and set somewhere in TheRestOfTheWorld. It's American roots come through strongly - if this was in America in the 90s, you'd have Tom Cruise in it. And probably Gene Hackman. It's that sort of film, and that sort of plot. Nothing strikingly original, but nicely done (ending aside) and an enjoyable enough couple of hours. I can't help feeling that an opportunity was partially missed though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb: an intelligent, classy, beautifully crafted and fast moving thriller., 2 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Tell No-One (Ne Le Dis A Personne) [DVD] (DVD)
Cryptic emails are reaching the inbox of Paris paediatrician, Alexandre Beck. Each comes from an account created on the fly, apparently by his wife, and used just the once. But Mme Beck was murdered eight years ago and the messages coincide with a visit from les flics to assure him they'd never bought the official line of her being the eighth victim of serial killer Frank Serton, that they'd always suspected Alex, and that the recent surfacing of two male skeletons close to the original crime scene have so reinforced their suspicions they are ready to reopen an investigation the world had assumed closed with Serton's conviction.

But the cops are the least of Alex's problems.

Everyone knows France leads the world on style; everyone knows of her addiction to complexity. (Where else would postmodernist opacity have so flourished?) Rarely do French thrillers, elan notwithstanding, tie up all the loose ends - even after we've allowed for European cinema's ongoing fascination with naturalism. But this one is different, probably because it's based on a tale by one of America's strongest contemporary thriller writers. The original is complex enough even for the French but it does hold water. Sure, there are a few credulity stretchers - the two crucial loyalties of downtown hard nut and the lesbian sister's lover being cases in point - but grit, pace and meticulous plotting on the one hand, Gallic panache on the other, make this a real spellbinder. Oh, and you really do need to keep your eyes wide open from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It`s certainly a very good film, however..., 14 Jun. 2011
By 
Little Cat Voom (The middle of England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tell No-One (Ne Le Dis A Personne) [DVD] (DVD)
...as some reviewers have noted, it is very much the Hollywoodisation of a French film. Whilst it is subtitled, the action does seem not very Gallic (this is not necessarily a criticism, just a surprise). Having viewed it a few times, it might not be quite as good as I first thought, but I still think it is a proper film with an excellent story.

Strangely, for a film running at 126 minutes, it seems as though they still couldn`t quite get everything in. We do jump a lot from scene to scene, and characters who appear to have mere bit parts turn out to be essential to our understanding of the story. There are also a few moments that don`t work for me - I don`t expect "With or Without You" by U2 to be playing as our hero runs along a street...not very French at all. Broadly, the acting is very convincing and occasionally moving, and some of the action is compelling. The dialogue is more or less to complement the action and to move the story along - there isn`t so much of the sitting and chatting over a smoke and a beer that is often an integral part of a French film.

It`s an excellent story, no doubt about that. And pretty much 95% of the time, it works, although it is actually quite far-fetched and a few moments don`t quite ring true, particularly the actions of the father-in-law as revealed toward the finale. I think, and this is obviously just one humble viewer`s opinion, that perhaps if this was a two-parter then maybe the pace could be slowed down a little, allowing us to explore the depths of each character a little more. As it stands, it can be quite tiring to watch! But it is a fast-paced thriller with a truly romantic end, and it`s tough to be too critical about any film that can deliver those things so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You Can Tell Anyone, 28 Feb. 2011
By 
This review is from: Tell No-One (Ne Le Dis A Personne) [DVD] (DVD)
There is something about watching a foreign language film that makes it appear high brow and more intellectual. I feel better seeing a chain smoking Frenchman running around, than watching Russell Crowe and his perma-tan. However, is this not a simple disguise, surely `Tell No One' is just another average thriller, but filmed in France? Alexandre Beck and his wife, Margot, go out swimming one day in a remote lake, whilst there Margot is killed and Alexandre is knocked unconscious. Years later and Alexandre is now a successful Doctor, but he is still haunted to this day. Haunted enough to investigate a mysterious email that suggests that his wife may not dead after all, and that if he wants to see her again, he must tell no one.

Based on the Harlan Coben novel of the same name, `Tell No One' sticks to the themes of the book and those of the writer i.e. moments from the past coming to influence the present. The film is a run of the mill thriller, but in a world of shoddy films that is a lot more than most. François Cluzet is an interesting lead, he is certainly more character actor looking than any American star. He smokes his way through several action sequences that remain realistic throughout, apart from the fact that a 40 a day man couldn't run as much as Alexandre does. The central mystery is what keeps the film going and it is one that you are unlikely to guess. This makes the entire film entertaining to watch as you never know who is a friend and who is a foe.

Because the film is in French the subtitles may put some people off. There is no real reason for this as the action is universal and the plot is simple enough to follow, whilst still being engaging. If the film was shot in America it probably would not have the same charm, but here you believe that Alexandre is an everyman and that the mystery could exist. A quality modern thriller for fans of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps an Acquaintance with the Book Would Help, 1 Aug. 2010
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tell No-One (Ne Le Dis A Personne) [DVD] (DVD)
"Tell No One," ("Ne le dis a personne"), a French film, a crime/drama/ mystery/suspense/thriller, is based, as is well-known, on a novel written by esteemed American mystery author Harlan Coben. It was first released in Belgium in 2006. It stars one of everyone's favorite English actresses, Kristin Scott Thomas (Four Weddings And A Funeral [DVD] [1994]). (And what a year 2008 was for Scott Thomas, now based in France, and French-speaking; what with "Tell No One," and its close companion feature, I've Loved You So Long [DVD] [2008], also French, and triumphantly released here. Anyway, Guillaume Canet directed "Tell," as well as writing the script; he has transposed it, critics agree, seamlessly to France. Most critics also agree that the story has been made into an extraordinarily beautiful film, making France's rural and urban areas vivid on the screen; and that it benefits from extraordinarily good acting, too. And most everyone agrees that it is a good solid thriller that grabs a viewer's full attention and keeps it. As a DVD, the film also offers, wonderfully enough, either subtitles, or dubbed English dialog.

Margot Beck, (Marie-Josee Croze), wife of pediatrician Alexandre Beck (Francois Cluzet), has disappeared during a midnight skinny-dip in a peaceful, lovely country lake eight years previously; she was soon found murdered, the presumed victim of a serial killer operating locally. Yet suddenly Alexandre is getting emails that seem to indicate that she's alive. Scott Thomas, whom, I understand, married a French citizen and took up residence there, plays Helene Perkins, "husband" of Alexandre's sister. Also notable in the cast are veteran French character actor Jean Rochefort (Mr Bean's Holiday [2007] [DVD]) as Gilbert Neuville, local bigwig; and the lovely Nathalie Baye (Catch Me If You Can [DVD] [2002] ) as Maitre Elysabeth Feldman. Screenwriter/director Canet plays Philippe Neuville, Gilbert's unpleasant son. Cluzet won a Cesar (the French Oscar equivalent) for his role, as did Canet for his direction.

Well, one reason for the very close attention the film received around here is that we frequently didn't know who was doing what to whom, let alone why. A second viewing might, indeed, have helped. However, the film opens with a country dinner party, of which, I imagine the function was to introduce the characters. And, indeed, of the maybe ten people sitting around that table, five, maybe, were to be major players in the action: five, we were never to see again. Had we had another minute or two with the dinner party, and a word or two of explanation as to whom exactly the characters were, we'd have been a lot happier. But as is so often the case, perhaps familiarity with the book would have helped, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Show don't tell, 12 May 2009
By 
technoguy "jack" (Rugby) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell No-One (Ne Le Dis A Personne) [DVD] (DVD)
The film opens in a relaxed way 8 years before where a group of friends are enjoying a weekend in the country.They next revisit a childhood sweetheart location by a lake.Margot and Alexander Beck have a night swim.They soon argue and she swims to the other side to the car.He hears a scream,then she is abducted, he is knocked unconscious when he swims over.At first he's a suspect,but Margot's murder is blamed on a serial killer.

8 years pass, he is a paedetrician getting on with his job,never having remarried.He commemorates his wife every year.Then 2 bodies are found near the site which reopens the case.The police are interested in Alexandre.His past is unearthed too when he receives mystery emails with webcam footage suggesting his wife is alive.The message
`tell no one, you are being watched'.We are in suspense as he tries to confirm this and contact her.

The film is a strong psychological noir thriller superbly scripted from a powerful Harlan Coben novel.The story has more twists and turns than a rattlesnake.Francois Cluzet plays the haunted widower.The film is relocated to France by Guillaume Canet,actor-director.There is a Hitchcockian ambivalence in his portrayal and a meeting in a public park straight out of Hitchcock.There are episodes of energetic action,chases as in French Connection, sprinting through the markets and motorways of suburban Paris.

A tough criminal he gets onside helps him evade police and criminal killers.There are brilliant cameos by Kristin Scott Thomas (offers edgy emotional support),Marie Jose Croze who carries the weight of mystery,François Berléand, Nathalie Baye, Jean Rochefort, Marina Hands.in a story strong on characterisation and development. The music in the film is also good, although there are a few times where the choice of song initially seems confusing, it soon fits in well with the scene, and the choices are strong and varied.

The film is soon to be remade in America by Ben Affleck,but will it have the je ne sais pas?It is a strong tension builder and has you surprised and on edge for a few key moments with a slowly developing tension from the beginning.That said,the ending isn't a huge twist that shocks you, but it is a bit of a surprise.The French cinema has a more naturalistic way of conveying emotion,though facial expression,movement,gestures,silence and pace.I'd recommend this film as a standout of the noughties,with a clever use of time's passage.A stylistic improvement on the book.This will run and run...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tell everyone to watch it, 25 Aug. 2008
By 
This review is from: Tell No-One (Ne Le Dis A Personne) [DVD] (DVD)
In adaptation of Harlan Coben's novel, Tell No One tells the story of a man, who 8 years after losing his wife, receives an e-mail from her, and the case of her murder is reopened and the truth starts to reveal itself.

Tell No One is Coben's most recognized and praised novel and so it was only a matter of time before it was turned into a film, and what a great adaptation has been made.

Francois Cluzet stars as Alex Beck, the troubled doctor who lost the love of his life 8 years ago and has struggled with the mystery of her death ever since. Cluzet portrays the character very well, being very quiet and distant, which was what Coben intended.

Having read the book was a huge advantage and a recommendation before watching the film. Reading the book I gained an understanding and clearer picture of what each character was like. Encoded with plenty of characters and a massively twisting plot, it was necessary to flick back a couple of pages to remind myself what was happening, and with the film there is no chance to do so. Come the end of the film, I was completely lost as with the book, but on watching it the second time, the answers will undoubtedly be clearer.

Many films can often ruin the imagination of the book, or leave a huge chunk out. And Tell No One is fantastic for copying Tell No One incident by incident, a true reflection of the book in every word, except for Margot's name.

This romantic crime drama is a must stay awake film with plenty of incidents and characters to get confused with. One problem the film had was the multiple use of characters that didn't seem to have names, as of no way of remembering who they were. Obviously it was easier with the book, to flick back but there barely seemed to be any form of address between characters.

The plot is beautiful in reflecting the genre with tense and exciting moments followed by heart crushing romantic tales in a true natured story about a man trying to find the truth.

8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tell No-One (Ne Le Dis A Personne) [DVD]
Tell No-One (Ne Le Dis A Personne) [DVD] by Guillaume Canet (DVD - 2007)
£9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews