Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Main Feature Great, Support, Not So Much.
As usual 2 great transers and a great price - full credit to MGM for these (addictive) Midnite Movies releases. This, for me, is a straightforward support/main feature presentation. Watch Devils of Darkness first - it's an aimiable, colourful dud, a nicely shot tale of, eh, you know I can't quite remember, something to do with a vampiric cad called Count Sinistre who...
Published on 11 Mar 2011 by Now Zoltan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag
Both films are well transferred with good picture quality and audio.

The winner here is "Witchcraft" which is nicely atmospheric in black and white, has good acting, and a narrative that has a few shock moments as it builds to a solid conclusion.

"Devils of darkness" is a bit of a toothless tiger - it looks good, but the script meanders, and it fails...
Published on 16 July 2011 by jimbob


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Main Feature Great, Support, Not So Much., 11 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devils of Darkness & Witchcraft [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
As usual 2 great transers and a great price - full credit to MGM for these (addictive) Midnite Movies releases. This, for me, is a straightforward support/main feature presentation. Watch Devils of Darkness first - it's an aimiable, colourful dud, a nicely shot tale of, eh, you know I can't quite remember, something to do with a vampiric cad called Count Sinistre who preys on beatnik type ladies. This is a barely passable time waster but it looks good (picture quality helps immeasureably) and I've suffered through a lot worse. Witchcraft is a different matter, I'II never forget glaring Yvette Rees as the resurrected vengeful witch, nor an addled Lon Caney Jnr as the enraged Morgan Whitlock. This film is so reminiscent of City of the Dead (Horror Hotel) in its dense atmosphere and successful blending of the ancient and modern. Well worth buying this DVD for Witchcraft alone, its a neglected classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag, 16 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devils of Darkness & Witchcraft [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Both films are well transferred with good picture quality and audio.

The winner here is "Witchcraft" which is nicely atmospheric in black and white, has good acting, and a narrative that has a few shock moments as it builds to a solid conclusion.

"Devils of darkness" is a bit of a toothless tiger - it looks good, but the script meanders, and it fails to deliver any real chills despite the potential of the set up and some capable actors.

So, 4 stars for "Witchcraft" and 2 stars for "Devils of darkness" to give an average of 3 for the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Witchcraft, 4 Jan 2011
By 
V E KINCAID (Brighton, East Sussex, GB) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devils of Darkness & Witchcraft [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Witchcraft is a film I've always wanted to see. When I was 11 years old it was on television. On the way home from my grandma's house I was in a bad car crash. I woke up in hospital and my first question was "have I missed witchcraft?" Over the years various 'happenings' prevented me watching the film, but then eventually I found it on Amazon. The long wait was worth it. The film is made in black and white, but that serves to enhance the moody feel, making it darker than it would have been in colour. The plot, of a witch disturbed after centuries by building work, is suitably creepy, and some of the scarier scenes wouldn't be out of place in a modern film. The only problem I had was that the film dvd was for the American market and I had trouble changing the regional settings. A small problem though, for what turned out to be a film worth waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devils of Darkness & Witchcraft [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Both these films are what you expect from this genre at this period, and both are entertaining within that context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Midnite movies - Done it Again!, 21 Oct 2011
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devils of Darkness & Witchcraft [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I give this DVD 5 stars not because each individual film is worth 5, but put them together, with first class quality prints, and you have a 5 star Double Bill. WITCHCRAFT is just about my favourite of the 2 with a good plot, a great lumbering scary Lon Chaney, and very good supporting cast (inc Marianne Stone, more later!). Crisp b/w photography and an all too short running time make for a very pleasurable watch. DEVILS OF DARKNESS in beautiful colour and widescreen is better than I remembered, with albeit a daft, but enjoyable plot, and some surprising acting. Carol Gray is quite a revelation as a wild(ish) Gypsy Girl, and Tracy Reed really needs to be seen - Great stuff. Oh, and Marianne Stone has a wonderful opportunity to overact which she grabs with both hands. (How many of us, perhaps guiltily, look out for Marianne in ANY British film of the 50's and 60's? She must have made 100's literally. I am a great admirer!) I digress- This DVD highly recomended for lovers of this period (early 60's low budget horror), and fantastic value for money too. Thanks to "Midnite Movies", and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Witches, vampires and the French...come on how much more Evil can you get!, 26 Mar 2013
By 
Der Spiess (Loverly London) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devils of Darkness & Witchcraft [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Two excellent films on this package. I wasn't expecting much but was really pleased. For the price of a pint and a newspaper you get two good films well packaged. Yes, there not Hammer but there British and worth it! hurrah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars HEX ON YOU IF YOU DON'T BUY THIS, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devils of Darkness & Witchcraft [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Both films have some good atmospheric moments especially Witchcraft with the late great Lon Chaney.Picture and sound are very good but just make sure your dvd player is multi region.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lon Goodbye, 13 Mar 2014
This review is from: Devils of Darkness & Witchcraft [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I'm writing about Witchcraft: it has its moments especially when the gorgeous long-dead witch Vanessa comes to 'life' with a modish goth beauty. I like Jack Hedley's underplaying. There's a frisson here and there and there's the usual sixties creepy music and that interesting England sixties mise-en-scene. But in the end it's not really exciting and has B movie written all over it. It could have gone all "Bunuel" and seriously surreal but they hadn't got the guts or the intellect at the time or in the studio system. In the end, history, not permanence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars devils of Darkness & Witchcraft., 2 July 2013
By 
James "I'm a retired security guard. I enjoy ... (MARYPORT, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devils of Darkness & Witchcraft [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Since this item got lost in the post I cannot give it a review. Perhaps i'll have better luck if I try to get this disc in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews