Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 113 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underated comedy
It is good to see some of Alistair Sim's films (in addition to his work on the St Trinians series) being issued on DVD. I'm particularly pleased to see Laughter In Paradise issued. This is one of Sim's best and funniest films with good performances all round and, apart from the social setting, it hasn't seemed to have dated-dealing as it does in a very humourous way with...
Published on 2 Sep 2007 by Mr. G. Henderson

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars But where's Alastair?
It's hard to imagine a boxed set in which you see less of the supposed star than this. In only one of the films, The Green Man, can Sim be said to star; others are ensemble pieces in which he has no more than a handful of scenes. Left Right and Centre is definitely an Ian Carmichael vehicle. Equally, some of his best roles are missing: Scrooge, School For Scoundrels,...
Published on 10 Jan 2010 by gille liath


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

108 of 113 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underated comedy, 2 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Comic Icons: Alastair Sim Collection [DVD] (DVD)
It is good to see some of Alistair Sim's films (in addition to his work on the St Trinians series) being issued on DVD. I'm particularly pleased to see Laughter In Paradise issued. This is one of Sim's best and funniest films with good performances all round and, apart from the social setting, it hasn't seemed to have dated-dealing as it does in a very humourous way with issues of greed and justice.Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last, Laughter In Paradise On DVD, 1 Nov 2007
By 
John Meanwood (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Comic Icons: Alastair Sim Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I have been looking for Laughter In Paradise on DVD for a long time after my VHS version wore out and it is not shown on television that often. Unfortunately, so far it is only available in this box set.

Although The Green Man is also worth watching as it is an Alistair Sim classic, Laughter In Paradise is my favourite with a clever twist at the end. These two films make the price worth paying.

There are also another three films in the set 'Geordie', 'Folly To Be Wise' and 'Left, Right And Centre'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great comic actor., 10 Sep 2010
By 
J. Mincham (kings Langley UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comic Icons: Alastair Sim Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Like his female equivalent, the great Margaret Rutherford (with whom he appeared on film only once but not in this collection) Alastair Sim was one of those actors you could not take you eyes off. Even when acting with children and animals he was the one who stole the scenes and attracted your attention. He always seemed as if he was about to go 'over the top' but he never did, so well judged were his performances.
This is an opportunity to revel in some of his popular pictures, even though they might not be the greatest films ever made. Geordie seems somewhat over sentimental by today's standards, but Sim's prowess in sheer physical comedy as the Laird is worth it. The Green Man shows him giving a virtual masterclass in comic acting and is packed with great character actors of the day, even though it tends to drag somewhat in the middle when Sim is off screen. And as for his attempts to put a brick through the window of a jeweller's shop in Laughter in Paradise---well, enough said.
If you like Sim, get these five films. Also I would add that excellent biographies of both Sim and Rutherford are now available on Amazon and I would recommend them too.
Julian Mincham
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars some of the best of Alastair Sim, 10 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: Comic Icons: Alastair Sim Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Great to have this collection. Shame that "The Happiest Years of Your Life" isn't included. Most of these are already available individually. It seems daft not to take this opportunity to bring out more of his work that is so important. The original "headmaster/headmistress" Searle influenced film made before the St. Trinians series. Personally one of my favorite films, currently changing hands on old video for ridiculous amounts of money. Still obviously fantastic for people who haven't already bought most of the content on individual disc. Quite expensive if all you want is "Laughter in Paradise".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection, 24 Jun 2008
By 
Paul S Ell (NI, UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Comic Icons: Alastair Sim Collection [DVD] (DVD)
It's good to see that some excellent Alastair Sim films are out showing his comedy brilliance beyond St Trinians. Although virtually everyone will have seen these films at some point they can be watched again and again. For me they are perfect wet Sunday afternoon viewing.

At the reduced Amazon price I can't recommend this collection enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alastair Sim Collection., 16 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comic Icons: Alastair Sim Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I am somewhat biased here as I love everything that Alastair Sim did. A great selection of films and thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alastair Sim Box Set Review, 23 Nov 2010
This review is from: Comic Icons: Alastair Sim Collection [DVD] (DVD)
One of the great British Character actors, Alastair Sim has a deceptively easy style and inevitably steals every scene. A good selection of his films with Laughter in Paradise the standout performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alistair Sim - The Comic Icons Series, 11 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. Robert Griffen (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Comic Icons: Alastair Sim Collection [DVD] (DVD)
A delightful series of short films made in the 1950's/60's which gave my Wife and I much enjoyment. Some we saw when they were originally produced but some were new to us. Because they are all produced in the UK and location shots were taken in parts of the country we know, that added to the pleasure.

Ideal viewing on the long Winter evenings when much on television was of no interest to us. They are films which will be watched many times over the next few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it just for 'Laughter in Paradise', 16 Feb 2012
By 
Kari Saunders (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comic Icons: Alastair Sim Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Well the title says it all. I bought this collection mainly because it included the real classic 'Laughter in Paradise' and I was not disappointed. This film alone would make it a worthwhile purchase but you also get 4 other films amongst which is the great black comedy 'The Green Man' and the amusing if occasionally cringe inducing 'Folly to Wise'.

Enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nostalga, 29 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Comic Icons: Alastair Sim Collection [DVD] (DVD)
A great box set of Alistair Sim Dvd's. Alistair Sim being one of the finest actors of all time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Comic Icons: Alastair Sim Collection [DVD]
49.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews