Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And keep your knickers on this time !
After watching some of the recent extremely poor examples of what passes for tv comedy these days, it is therefore even more unbelievable that this first class quality sketch show never got at the very least a second series.Great performances and terrific writing by all concerned.At least it made it to dvd rather than being lost forever.
Published on 4 Dec 2009 by The Right Reverend

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like the Fast Show but with swearing...
I've just watched the entire DVD in one sitting.
There are six episodes, each composed of recurring characters played by a likeable ensemble. No extras.
Each episode rehashes the same jokes again, with a slight twist.

Mild as it is for humour, there is some poignant social comment under the surface.
Best of this was the man who goes to a lock-up...
Published on 10 Nov 2010 by John Colman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And keep your knickers on this time !, 4 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Spoons: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
After watching some of the recent extremely poor examples of what passes for tv comedy these days, it is therefore even more unbelievable that this first class quality sketch show never got at the very least a second series.Great performances and terrific writing by all concerned.At least it made it to dvd rather than being lost forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast, funny sketch show, 12 Mar 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spoons: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
In a style vaguely similar to that of the Fast Show, 'Spoons' is made up of a collection of sketches that have social themes and highlights the awkward, embarrassing and unspoken truths that exists in the lives of couples, singles and friends. If you don't take life too seriously, you should find this to be a guilty giggle :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like the Fast Show but with swearing..., 10 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spoons: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I've just watched the entire DVD in one sitting.
There are six episodes, each composed of recurring characters played by a likeable ensemble. No extras.
Each episode rehashes the same jokes again, with a slight twist.

Mild as it is for humour, there is some poignant social comment under the surface.
Best of this was the man who goes to a lock-up storage unit to sit by himself and get away from things.
This (recurring) sketch was nothing short of art - at least the first couple of times around.

In short, don't expect to laugh out loud but you might hazard a knowing smile or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, needs repeating., 30 Dec 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spoons: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this when I first caught it, and kept a little note on my phone 'Spoons - dvd?'. Having just found this note it led me to this page, and I'm glad it did.

Spoons is a brilliantly funny series, with Charlie Brooker's scathing influence clearly felt. Fun to watch with couples, full of uncomfortable truths. The speech about 'conversations with couples' in Episode 1 is a masterpiece - the times I wish I could've said all that. Kevin Bishop's dancing is another highlight :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hillarious!, 2 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Spoons: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is arguably one of the most underrated comedies in history. Having watched the series on channel 4 I was dying for the DVD to come out and now it has arrived I watch it over and over. Simon Farnaby in particular plays his roles brilliantly which will leave you in stitches. A must buy for anyone with a laid back sense of humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a bit of a mixed bag, 27 Nov 2010
This review is from: Spoons: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This show had some very funny skits, but some that were a bit flat. For the price, I think it is well worth it, but now I want to check out some of the other Sketch shows that were put out in recent years, to see how they compare. A bit of a shame that it lasted only 1 season. Sketch comedy is hard. The American show Saturday Night Live had seasons that were truly inspired, and others that were truly dreadful. Luckily it started off strong, and has been allowed to go through rough patches because people hope that it will once again be as good as it used to be. With only 1 season of Spoons, we will never know how good it could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 24 Sep 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spoons: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I totally agree with the other two comments - one of the cleverest comedy series of recent years - sorely underrated. I've been waiting for the DVD for so long!Even emailed the production company who said there wasn't going to be a release. This series really should be repeated on TV. Apparently BBC America picked it up but still not enough for a second series!:-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well I Found It Funny, 12 May 2014
By 
P. Budden (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spoons: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
There are re-occurring characters during each episode. Most are funny some not. There is some bad language, especially one of the last scenes - a couples relationship which is clearly doomed !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest DVD, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spoons: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This was a one off sketch show for channel 4 ,shame they never made a 2nd series as there was some lucid ,bright inventive comedy on show here ,the characters were eclectic and the writing was electric ,a brilliant sketch show all about relationships which are observational gold !! If you dont laugh at this then you have had your funny bone removed !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars strange but funny, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spoons: Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
i bought this expecting it to be as funny as man stroke woman, but it is much more random. i still find some of the sketches funny, but others are a little odd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spoons: Series 1 [DVD]
Spoons: Series 1 [DVD] by Phil Traill (DVD - 2007)
£3.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews