Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars history come alive ; very interesting, very well done
This is a straightforward, no-nonsense dramatised documentary of the life of the extraordinary Emperor Q'in, the man who united China over 2,200 years ago - the man for whom the terracotta warriors were made and who ordered the linking and completion of the defensive walls which came to make up the Great Wall of China. It is very well done indeed and tells its story in...
Published on 16 Jan. 2008 by hillbank68

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A useful presentation of the basic facts
This is not a real movie. It is a docudrama. It's a well made one, with no obvious flaws, but the dramatization struck me as thin and staged. The actor playing the emperor completely lacked the gravitas I'd expect in the lord of heaven and earth (or whatever his old title was) and I couldn't take it seriously. But the facts about the man and the time are overwhelming...
Published on 27 Nov. 2012 by Andrew Ross


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars history come alive ; very interesting, very well done, 16 Jan. 2008
By 
hillbank68 "almac1975" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Emperor [DVD] (DVD)
This is a straightforward, no-nonsense dramatised documentary of the life of the extraordinary Emperor Q'in, the man who united China over 2,200 years ago - the man for whom the terracotta warriors were made and who ordered the linking and completion of the defensive walls which came to make up the Great Wall of China. It is very well done indeed and tells its story in an interesting and involving manner throughout. We see some of the excavations on the site around the Emperor's tomb, which itself has never been excavated and the story of his life is told by distinguished academics from American universities and the University of Cambridge. Several episodes - battles, an assassination attempt, the death of the sinister Marquis and his two children by the Queen Mother, the final disintegration of the Emperor's physique and personality - are tellingly dramatised, but this is in no way a sensational film ; we see also earnest (but not dull! - actually very interesting) discussion about the meaning of some of the artifacts at the pits around the tomb, glimpses of the modern China, the text from which what is known about the Emperor's reign mainly comes, and so on. In particular the informed speculation about what is actually in the tomb is very well brought to life. I've visited the warriors and seen the tomb, but this I did not know about. In this way it is both informative and dramatic, and both aspects contribute to the narrative. I enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The life, death & legend of the First Emperor, 18 Sept. 2007
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The First Emperor [DVD] (DVD)
Qin Shi Huangdi was the first man to unite the whole of China into one land and ruled as the First Divine Emperor of China. This drama-documentary follows the Emperors life from when he became King of Chin (one of six Chinese states), through his conquests, his autocratic reign and charts his decline into madness and death. Spaced with the dramatic reconstructions are interviews with scholars and archaeologists who detail the discoveries that shed light on the life of one of the most powerful men to have ever lived. The drama is beautifully reconstructed and is generally historically accurate, if a little brief in places. This is a must see documentary for anyone interested in China and its history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Emperor DVD, 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Emperor [DVD] (DVD)
Another really excellent production, draws the viewer into the historical dramas of the time. Costumes, scripts and locations very informative. well worth buying and watching again and again. Packaging appropriate.price fair
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 13 Jun. 2011
By 
JJ Diamond (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Emperor [DVD] (DVD)
I originally watched this on TV and, as I enjoyed it so much, bought the DVD and watched it again. What makes this documentary special is that the team have got right under and into the character of the China's first emperor making him a personality you will be thinking about long after you have switched off the TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The First Emperor, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Emperor [DVD] (DVD)
Having just returned from visiting China and having seen The Forbidden City and The Summer Palace this film filled in a lot of the gaps left by the tour guides.

It's a brilliant reenactment of the last years of Imperial China. And I'm not a big historian you have to watch every moment of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Historical Drama, 12 Oct. 2009
By 
C. Fox "cfoxy" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Emperor [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent historical documentary/drama that shines a light on how China was forged into one country by force of will and arms. Highly recommended. Chris
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars China DVD's, 19 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Emperor [DVD] (DVD)
We just returned from an amazing tour through China and this reminds us of all the things we learnt about the Chinese Dynasties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and informative, 22 April 2012
By 
D. Niedringhausz (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Emperor [DVD] (DVD)
Very pleased with this purchase. A nice blend of drama and archeological/historical research. An English language subtitles option on the main menu would have been a nice addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good background when going to China., 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Emperor [DVD] (DVD)
Gives you a good background when going to China and then good to look at again once you have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A useful presentation of the basic facts, 27 Nov. 2012
By 
Andrew Ross "J. Andrew Ross" (Southern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Emperor [DVD] (DVD)
This is not a real movie. It is a docudrama. It's a well made one, with no obvious flaws, but the dramatization struck me as thin and staged. The actor playing the emperor completely lacked the gravitas I'd expect in the lord of heaven and earth (or whatever his old title was) and I couldn't take it seriously. But the facts about the man and the time are overwhelming enough to make the production as a whole still well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The First Emperor [DVD]
The First Emperor [DVD] by Nic Young (DVD - 2007)
£9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews