Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Find the Lost Room
Joe Miller is a Pittsburgh detective not unlike any other. He lives alone with his young daughter and must struggle to balance his police work with family life. However, an underground world is opened to him when he is asked to investigate a particularly mysterious murder site. Two men are dead, each one seems to have been welded into the walls, how could this be? The...
Published on 18 Oct 2007 by Sam Tyler

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars great in theory, terrible in practice
This series has an intriguing premise and starts promisingly. However, it quickly descends into trite, contrived, smug nonsense. The dialogue is simplistic and predictable; the acting, in most cases although not the two leads, is pitiful and cringe-worthy (Dennis Christopher who plays Dr. Martin Ruber should be very ashamed, he evidently believes that all baddies have...
Published 23 months ago by Pixie pilo


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Find the Lost Room, 18 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: The Lost Room [DVD][2006] (DVD)
Joe Miller is a Pittsburgh detective not unlike any other. He lives alone with his young daughter and must struggle to balance his police work with family life. However, an underground world is opened to him when he is asked to investigate a particularly mysterious murder site. Two men are dead, each one seems to have been welded into the walls, how could this be? The prime suspect is on the run, but every time someone gets near him he seemingly vanishes. Joe finds himself spiralling deeper into a supernatural world when his family is threatened. What is the lost room and why are people so obsessed by a simple motel key?

`The Lost Room' is one of the freshest and best science fiction shows that I have seen in a long time. At only 4 hours this mini-series crams in more ideas that all of `Enterprise'. What I loved the best about it was the everyday feel of the characters and situations. There are no aliens here, just normal people trying to deal with situations that they can not possibly understand. It feels like `Lost', but without pretending it's not sci fi. This is how intelligent science fiction should be made with the characters and stories being just as vital as the special effects. Unlike many shows that I love I would have no qualms about recommending this to any lover of American TV shows. It easily transcends its science fiction roots to become just an excellent TV show.

Sammy recommendation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing series, sadly overlooked..., 26 Aug 2007
This review is from: The Lost Room [DVD][2006] (DVD)
I first heard about The Lost Room through word of mouth, which seems to be the primary method of distribution for this fantastic show as it was criminally under-marketed.
I would recommend it to anyone who is a fan of clever, cliffhanger style American dramas such as Prison Break, Lost or Heroes, though The Lost Room is generally a little more sedate than these shows.
I have been fortunate enough to see the whole four and a half hours of The Lost Room in one sitting, not something I would usually undertake, and can say it was one of the most enjoyable televisual experiences I can remember in recent years.
The concept is truly original, if a little strange, but it is testament to the show's compelling story and compassion you feel for the protagonist that you quickly suspend your disbelief at the idea of a wrist watch that can boil an egg or a cufflink that lowers blood pressure (merely throwaway examples) and enjoy the great writing, genuine suspense and intrigue.

This miniseries is crying out to be picked up for a more complete run - the ending, while satisfactory within the story arc, leaves many questions unanswered and the series very open. I urge you and anyone you know who enjoys this kind of thing to purchase this DVD. The show didn't cause enough of a ratings spike in the US to warrant it being immediately snapped up for more episodes, so the networks will be watching the DVD sales carefully.

Even if you don't buy this DVD, please just find a way to see this show and if you like it, tell someone about it, it truly is well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Room, 26 Jan 2011
By 
Andrea Bowhill (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Lost Room [DVD][2006] (DVD)
The first time I heard about The Lost Room was from a friend - word of mouth - who I had known for years only to learn recently she was a secret Sci Fi Channel fan and encouraged me to rent The Lost Room and so I did, going to unravel the story best I can stay with me.

The Event is a shorthand term given to a moment in time that the Lost Room was created. It occurred at 1:20:44 p.m. on May 4, 1961, and erased the room and all of its contents from history. The reason behind this and the ultimate purpose of the Objects is yet unknown, the truth remains a mystery. Both theories essentially lead to the same conclusion, but attribute the event to different causes.

Detective (Peter Krause) Joe Miller stumbles upon The Key and the existence of the Room, his daughter thereafter becomes lost after a room reset inside the Room somewhere parallel, Joe sets out to get her back by using The Key to track down other Objects. (Julianna Margulies) Jennifer Bloom a member of the Legion, a cabal dedicated to finding all of the Objects and hiding them for the protection of humanity. Jennifer tries to warn Joe of the inherent danger of the Room and the Objects therein. Her brother, Drew, became obsessed with the Objects, and Jennifer believes that something in Room 9 of the Motel destroyed him.Joe also Teams up with (Kevin Pollak) Karl Kreutzfeld a former member of the Legion and collector of Objects. Kreutzfeld claims to be searching for the Glass Eye to cure his son Isaac's leukemia.

The Collectors The original group of Object seekers formed some time after the Event. Led by Arlene Conroy, the manager of the Sunshine Motel, most of the Collectors were killed or driven insane after the disaster in Room 9 in 1966. The survivors hid their most important Objects in a place called The Collector's Vault. Then there's The Order or The New Religion. They believe that the Objects are pieces of God and must be reunited. Once so restored, members of the Order would be able to communicate with God for the first time in human history. Unlike the Legion, The Order have no qualms about killing.

Two Disc Set, Action, Thriller and Psychological six object episodes - The Key, The Clock, The Comb, The Box, The Eye and The Occupant. The objects, although there are more than six, others intertwine throughout with the original six to help resolve the puzzle. Each object holds a special and different power, which can change peoples reality and perspective, all objects lead back to The Lost Room. The Room itself, a Motel room, number ten, but can only be accessed by the current owner of The Key and the owner is the only person who can bring people in. The Key opens any door back to The Room, there is nothing but basic inside The Room and it never changes no matter what a person rearranges, each time the room is left and reentered with The Key everything resets. The Room is the puzzle but which of the objects are needed to unlock and retrieve things lost during a reset provided they have a clear idea of what they wish to retrieve.

Love a puzzle, not sure what I expected but it was not this, very smart and thought through, clever not scary but it has its darker sides as the objects begin to take over, you have your good guys and villains, the objects are very powerful and the idea of what they can do and what you could get away with you'd be filled with ideas the mind wanders.

The cast are fantastic and you get actors coming and going in small parts all the time but they all stand out in their scenes. One of my favourite characters Suzie Kang a tough, chain smoking, independent operator who works as an object locator, selling information about the locations of the Room's objects. She never touches them, as she recognizes the dangers that the objects carry. Suzie runs her object tracking business out of the back of her mother's dry cleaning business. She charges a fortune for the information, what a great little number she runs.

Entertaining from start to finish, fast moving. Just for the record my favourite object The Key, places I'd go. Thoroughly enjoyed one to Watch.

Andrea Bowhill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films I've ever seen, 14 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Room [DVD][2006] (DVD)
Well, not a film really because it was actually a mini-series. When I saw Peter Krause (I thought he was great in Six Feet Under) was the lead in this and I searched out some reviews which were very positive, I ordered it and it arrived yesterday. We began watching it last night and just could not go to bed until we'd seen it to the end.

Sci-fi is not a genre I usually enjoy but this made an unbelievable story totally credulous. It sucks you in and you just have to find out what happens next. I understand that this was a pilot and there is a rumour that a second series might be commissioned and I really hope this is the case.

Just as reading the reviews on here for Prison Break 1 made me buy it and not regret it for one instance, then trust me when I tell you that if you buy this you will think it absolutely wonderful. One minor gripe is that occassionally one of the actors mumbles a bit and we were so involved in the story that we did not want to miss one word, so we replayed a few bits with the subtitles on. But I'm still going to give it 9.75 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 5 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: The Lost Room [DVD][2006] (DVD)
A fantastic and fantastical TV series that is hugely entertaining. Original, intelligent, gripping, thought-provoking, humorous... what more do you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't ever write reviews but I had to for this!, 24 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Lost Room [DVD][2006] (DVD)
We happened to see this on Sky One and I have to say it was brilliant.

It was divided into 3 episodes and we ended up staying up to watch all 3 together and going to bed after midnight.

Captivating, intriguing and brilliantly written. An absolute must to see.

I haven't wanted to watch the next episode of a series so much as this since Lost season one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Original Gem, 4 May 2007
By 
Nathan Turnbull "Nathan" (Doncaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like your TV shows to give you all the answers and explain everything in detail then this mini-series is not for you.

However if you want to see a series with a truly original and imaginative storyline then the Lost Room is a must.

Other reviewers have explained some of the storyline, but until you watch the series you cannot fully appreciate the characters and their interaction with the mysterious objects they own and hunt. I think it is great that the objects themselves are just mundane everyday things instead of some the fancy made up items you see in most fantasy and Sci-Fi shows.

A lot of questions go unanswered but this in no way detracts from how good this series is and just leaves you wanting more... much more.

Few people seem to have heard of The Lost Room, which is a real shame as it is one of the best mini-series I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A genuine original, 26 Aug 2007
By 
Ray Blake (Hemel Hempstead, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Room [DVD][2006] (DVD)
Originally a TV miniseries that very few people watched, this quickly acquired cult status through word of mouth. Because of the miniseries format, the mysteries have solutions and the story is resolved. Scripts and photography are faultless and the concept is genuinely original. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lost classic, 7 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: The Lost Room [DVD][2006] (DVD)
Every now and then you stumble across something that makes you think why dont more people know about this. The Lost room is a great concept and whilst it shares a lot in common with series like Lost, at only 6 episodes long it doesnt suffer from that mid season lag that other US "concept dramas" tend to.
The premise is deceptively straight forward - a key to a hidden motel room , every day objects that have unsuala nd random powers all sort by a series of parties with conflicting interests.
The ending does leave questions unanswered so I only hope they make a second series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Series, 1 Nov 2007
By 
A. Clarke "Kit Nubbles" (South Northants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Room [DVD][2006] (DVD)
An excellent mini series this gets 5 stars because it relies on clever writing and a good script, the CGI effects take a back seat and there isn't a reliance on overt violence or morals something wich American programmes usually shove down our throats. I was suprised at just how good it is, it's a cross between 'Sapphire & Steel' and 'Heroes' and much better than the latter series which has dragged on for too long.
If you like original well thought out sci-fi drama than this is for you. If I was the controller at BBC2 it would have been on that Wednesday 9.00 p.m. time slot by now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Room [DVD][2006]
The Lost Room [DVD][2006] by Craig R. Baxley (DVD - 2007)
9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews