Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


129 of 131 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's magic
Imagine if Harry Potter grew up to be Philip Marlowe, and you'll have a pretty good idea of what "The Dresden Files" is like.

While it starts weakly -- and is rarely faithful to Jim Butcher's novels -- "The Dresden Files" manages to whip itself into a solid supernatural-mystery series, with a pretty good cast and some genuinely twisty-turny mysteries. And, of...
Published on 25 Jun 2007 by E. A Solinas

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Dresden Files
I've given this show 3 stars as it isn't even remotely like the wonderful series by Jim Butcher but as a stand alone tv show, it isn't half bad.

My first half of the rating. The Dresden Files is a bestselling series of novels by Jim Butcher. They are fast paced, the characters are highly developed and believable, the plots are well thought through and packed...
Published on 10 Dec 2011 by veggie_grasshopper


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dresden Files: Complete Season 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Great series, shame they stopped it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars oh dear Jim Butcher...., 20 April 2011
By 
This review is from: The Dresden Files: Complete Season 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
If you have not read the books, I think you will be disappointed with this TV series. If you have read the books and are buying this as a fan, I think you will be even more disappointed.

For me, as a fan of Jim Butcher, the author, I read his Codex Alera book series first and loved them, which got me to read his Dresden Files. These I found to start off ok, but then with every book grew on me more and more.
So when I saw the TV series out I had to buy. So so disappointing. Basically Jim Butcher has sold the rights to some TV series. These have his name in the titles, they use names of the main characters and have used, loosely, the story of Storm Front from the books. This is the only story from the books to be used. So, this may not be a bad thing, but why make a TV series based on a top selling book series if they decide to change good enough everything?

For examples:

Book - Harry's car is a Beatle, bust up and multi-coloured.
TV series - Harry has a Jeep.

Book - Murphy has blonde hair, no children and her father is dead.
TV series - Murphy has brown hair, a 9 yo daughter and father is alive.

Book - Bob is a ghost, contained in a skull, only let out with permission. He is basically a spirit of a dirty old sod. Quite funny!
TV series - Bob is a ghost, has human form, walks about as he pleases. He is basically a spirit of a miserable old sod. Quite boring.

Book - Morgan, a paranoid law enforcer of Wizards, would never trust Harry no matter what.
TV series - Morgan, a paranoid law enforcer of Wizards, helps Harry, seems to even respect him and grateful to him. Complete charater change tbh.

Book - Harry is part of Wizard group called The White Council.
TV series - Harry is part of Wizard group called The High Council.

Book - Harry carries a staff which is his wizard wand.
TV series - Harry carries a hockey stick which is his wizard stick. Cool! (Not).

Book - The White Council has about 7 leaders lead by a Wizard called Merlin.
TV series - The High Council is lead by Ancient Mai.

I could go on and on. Basically they took the title and some names from a top selling book series, then changed everything, and did it badly.

So disappointed. Hope they paid Jim Butcher a lot of money because I am sure he would be shaking his head at the changes they made.

I am not surprised either that the TV series was cancelled after 1 season. That says it all in my opinion. Take a good thing,....... and ruin it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 13 April 2009
By 
C. J. Gornall (Preston, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dresden Files: Complete Season 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this on the strength of the (mainly) positive reviews on Amazon, but after watching it once it is being recycled via Ebay. I just really couldn't connect with Paul Blackthorne as Harry Dresden and found Bob to be only slightly less annoying than Tony Piccolo in SeaQuest DSV. Coupled with fairly uninspired acting & storylines I really can't recommend it. Go for Moonlight instead - far superior!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sacharine and brainless, 21 Dec 2007
This review is from: The Dresden Files: Complete Season 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Sacharine and brainless, The Dresden Files will appeal to those fans of Charmed who can overlook the frequent bad acting. Completely lacking the observation and wit of Buffy or the bittersweet depth of Carnivale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and sort of cheerful, 4 Oct 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dresden Files: Complete Season 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
First off if you have read the books I would consider giving this series a miss.

Like the early Buffy the series doesn't seem to be up to much but it does build up in skips and jumps as the 12 episodes progress. I'm a bit biased because I have really enjoyed all the books so far and nervously tried this. The sound track comes off like an early 1980s porno film and really annoys after a while.

At the moment I consider the first series of 12 episodes a glorified pilot with the hope it will improve a lot if the US ratings cause a big input on funding.

There is some good humour in the episodes but the loose relationship to the books seems to have lost the depth of the characters. Sometimes the editing leaves a little to be desired when characters are supposed to be looking at each other in conversation but appear to be looking over their shoulder at something else.

Don't get me wrong there is potential here but the acting, direction and special effects all have to be tightened up to make it work for me. Maybe I'm just spoilt by how good Buffy became and the fun of the Dresden books.

If you're open minded it's worth a shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shame no second season, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dresden Files: Complete Season 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
No where near as good as the books. They have seemed have made Dresden a bit of a psychic rather than a wizard. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Third chapter would never load., 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dresden Files: Complete Season 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Third chapter would never load.
I tried yesterday to watch the third chapter of Disc 1. My DVD player would never load it, though I could watch chapters 1 & 2 on it. So, I tried watching it on my computer, which kind of worked, but at a given point (about 15 minits from the beginning of the chapter) it would crash. I could use the slider to pass said point, but that obviously is not what I'd expected.

Maybe it was a problem with just that chapter and that disc, maybe the other ones will be ok, but I don't really care. I don't like finding this kind of issues on paid media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So Disapointed :-(, 19 Oct 2013
By 
Debbie L (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dresden Files: Complete Season 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
To be fair to this series if I had never read the books I suppose it might stand up and be watchable but if you like the books I would advise avoiding this at all costs, I nearly started hurling things at the TV! To say that it is based on the books is laughable, they have simply taken the name Harry Dresden and the fact that he is a wizard and then turned everything else on it's head. For fans of the books here is a (by no means complete) list of the most annoying changes:
- Harry has a hockey stick instead of staff and blasting rod
- Karrin is called Connie, is tall, slim and brunette instead of short, stocky and blonde. She has child, and her father is still alive instead of childless with a long dead cop father.
- Bob is the ghost of a dead wizard instead of a spirit of light and air and strolls around wherever he feels like it instead of needing permission to come out and a body (usually Mister) to inhabit.
- Harry runs a shop.
- Morgan works with Harry and although disliking him doesn't actively try to arrest him and often comes to him for help.
- The leader of the White Council is Ancient Mai not the Merlin, Ancient Mai is anything but ancient, played by an actress who looks about 20 years old.
I could probably come up with a lot more if I had been able to bring myself to watch more than three episodes. I genuinely don't understand how they made such a pigs ear of turning such great books into a TV series, staying faithful to the books would have made excellent television. What on earth was the point of messing with it so much?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dresden, 6 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dresden Files: Complete Season 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Disappointed with Season 1. Each episode was the same old story, regurgitated. Acting was poor and rather wooden. Shame, as I was really looking forward to watching this series. On the more positive side, some of the special effects were good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Awful, 9 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Dresden Files: Complete Season 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I can't believe how anyone who has read the excellent books in this series can find anything to say about this dreadful, dreadful, appalling adaptation. The characters are nothing like their written counterparts - except by name. The plots are so transparent that within 30 seconds of each episode you know what is going to happen. Absolute drivel.

Please don't let this waste of space put you off reading the books - which are really very good. If I could have awarded -5 stars I would have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dresden Files: Complete Season 1 [2007] [DVD]
The Dresden Files: Complete Season 1 [2007] [DVD] by Michael Grossman (DVD - 2007)
14.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews