Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent adaptation of Rosamunde Pilcher's great book
Having watched the dire adaptations of the Winter Solstice novel by the same producers, I began this DVD with a heavy heart, and quickly found that, despite a few creaky moments, it really works well. I think the main reason for this is Vanessa Redgrave, an actress of such immense presence that she can carry almost anything. Here she has a decent script, excellent...
Published on 7 Jun 2009 by Bismaquer

versus
7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
The first Shell Seekers with Angela Lansbury, although enjoyable, was a bit 'light and fluffy' so I looked forward to watching this version with Vanessa Redgrave - how wrong can you be? Some of the acting was 'wooden' as though the actors had forgotten their lines and most of the film was stilted and boring. Very disappointed - even the scenery wasn't up to much. Won't...
Published on 24 Dec 2007 by Tilly Flop


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent adaptation of Rosamunde Pilcher's great book, 7 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] (DVD)
Having watched the dire adaptations of the Winter Solstice novel by the same producers, I began this DVD with a heavy heart, and quickly found that, despite a few creaky moments, it really works well. I think the main reason for this is Vanessa Redgrave, an actress of such immense presence that she can carry almost anything. Here she has a decent script, excellent performances from Maximilian Schell and Prunella Scales amongst others, and pretty decent production values. A surprisingly good watch, really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent purchase, 2 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] (DVD)
Excellent dvd as so true to the book. A lot of films and dvd's do not match the story, but this one does. Ofcourse, the wonderful acting of Vanessa Redgrave never fails anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahell Seekers, 14 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] (DVD)
I thoroughly wenjoyed this version of the Shell Seekers, Vanessa Redgrave was excellent as Penolope Keeling, and the other members of the cast worked well. Also the best thing was that the film followed the story closely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shell Seekers, 15 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] (DVD)
great chick flick hits all the buttons and reminds you of how different life was during and after the war and how relationships at that time tended to differ massively to today. Also great insight into family dynamics. Has its happy, sad, deep, emotional moments really really enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] (DVD)
I had read the book and was curious to see how it transferred to DVD. I thought the production was excellent and stayed reasonably true to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shell Seekers comment, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] (DVD)
Would have preferred the film to be continuous instead of a break half way through - otherwise it was very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars shellseekers, 16 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] (DVD)
Thank you very much for this quick access to The Shell Seekers. I enjoyed reading it again as much as I first read it in the paper version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story., 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] (DVD)
A lovely story with an excellent performance by Vanessa Redgrave. First class entertainment for the discerning viewer. Go and buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely easy film to watch, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] (DVD)
Good story, very enjoyable and easy to watch. Ideal to get away from it all kind of production. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True to the book, 11 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] (DVD)
I have read the book, which was an excellent read. I am in possession of both dvd versions. The Angela Lansbury version was nice to watch, but not as true to the book as the Vanessa Redgrave version. The latter for me was more enjoyable and enthralling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb179abc4)

This product

The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006]
The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] by Piers Haggard (DVD - 2007)
8.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews