Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent adaptation of Rosamunde Pilcher's great book
Having watched the dire adaptations of the Winter Solstice novel by the same producers, I began this DVD with a heavy heart, and quickly found that, despite a few creaky moments, it really works well. I think the main reason for this is Vanessa Redgrave, an actress of such immense presence that she can carry almost anything. Here she has a decent script, excellent...
Published on 7 Jun. 2009 by Bismaquer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but shame about the changes made by film makers.
Wonderful book. Enjoyed the dvd, and I thought Vanessa Redgrave was perfect as Penelope Keeling, much more like the Penelope of the book than the actress in the previous film. Very disappointed that the ending was completely different for the original story. What on earth was the point of changing it? For me this spoilt an otherwise lovely film. No film could really...
Published 4 months ago by Constance


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent adaptation of Rosamunde Pilcher's great book, 7 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] (DVD)
Having watched the dire adaptations of the Winter Solstice novel by the same producers, I began this DVD with a heavy heart, and quickly found that, despite a few creaky moments, it really works well. I think the main reason for this is Vanessa Redgrave, an actress of such immense presence that she can carry almost anything. Here she has a decent script, excellent performances from Maximilian Schell and Prunella Scales amongst others, and pretty decent production values. A surprisingly good watch, really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent purchase, 2 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] (DVD)
Excellent dvd as so true to the book. A lot of films and dvd's do not match the story, but this one does. Ofcourse, the wonderful acting of Vanessa Redgrave never fails anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahell Seekers, 14 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] (DVD)
I thoroughly wenjoyed this version of the Shell Seekers, Vanessa Redgrave was excellent as Penolope Keeling, and the other members of the cast worked well. Also the best thing was that the film followed the story closely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shell Seekers, 15 Sept. 2007
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] (DVD)
great chick flick hits all the buttons and reminds you of how different life was during and after the war and how relationships at that time tended to differ massively to today. Also great insight into family dynamics. Has its happy, sad, deep, emotional moments really really enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film. To be honest I didn't realise it ..., 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] (DVD)
Brilliant film. To be honest I didn't realise it was in two parts, so was mortified when the titles started rolling on what I thought was a bad ending!!!! Oops, good job I kept watching the titles roll. Bought as a used item in good condition. No problems with the DVD at all. Came to me return of post.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely drama, 26 May 2014
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] (DVD)
The drama spans five decades starring Penelope as an elderly lady who has inherited valuable paintings from her artist father. In her mature years, her grown-up children become acutely aware of the paintings' value and two of them (Noel and Nancy) seek to persuade her to part with them. But Penelope's emotional ties to the paintings and her Cornish childhood home would make such parting an immensely difficult task. There is an uglier side to the drama, as Noel and Nancy display unmitigated greed.

Vanessa Redgrave delivers a convincing performance as the elderly Penelope, and there is good casting and acting from most of the supporting cast. Noel and Nancy on the other hand are portrayed as one-dimensional characters; their dialogue and performance are wooden. Altogether, this is a lovely drama, which well deserves another viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but shame about the changes made by film makers., 16 Feb. 2015
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] (DVD)
Wonderful book. Enjoyed the dvd, and I thought Vanessa Redgrave was perfect as Penelope Keeling, much more like the Penelope of the book than the actress in the previous film. Very disappointed that the ending was completely different for the original story. What on earth was the point of changing it? For me this spoilt an otherwise lovely film. No film could really do such a wonderful book justice, but if you have read the book, be aware that some things will be different. And if you watch the film first, do also read the book. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great present for Mum, 22 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] (DVD)
Bought this DVD for my mum as she is a big fan of the books. She loved it and has re watched it many times! Would recommend to any fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The DVD was a delight, filming was excellent, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] (DVD)
A long time since any of my friends have read the book, so,there was no need to compare..often to the detriment of one or the other.
The DVD was a delight, filming was excellent, and very evocative...even husband enjoyed it, which was a surprise.
Recommend not only for a girly night in with a bottle of fizz, but couples too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Shell Seekers DVD, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] (DVD)
I loved the book and find Rosamund Pilcher has a great insight into people. So the DVD didn't disappoint. Maybe it would have been better to have first seen the DVD before reading the book as peoples' traits and situations do change in a film. I would recommend this DVD to all Pilcher fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006]
The Shell Seekers [DVD][2006] by Piers Haggard (DVD - 2007)
£9.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews