Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "If you look carefully, you'll find everything has a weak spot"
The strength of this film lies with Ted Crawford's (Hopkins) laid-back trivial manner. He sits doodling in court oblivious to what is being said, but it is all carefully calculated. The articulate engineer who calmly shot his wife and admitted it to the arresting officer, whilst with a gun in his hand and subsequently signs a written confession - is surely going down for...
Published on 25 Feb 2008 by @GeekZilla9000

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The gun is missing - so's the excitement
Something warned me this film would be below par - perhaps it was the by-numbers plot synopsis. Killer confesses to murdering wife, then reneges on his confession and courtroom shenanigans ensue. Throw in a cardboard cutout lawyer bent only on furthering his career, and a rather inexplicable love interest (Pike) and what unfolded on screen failed to thrill...
Published 20 months ago by M. White


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "If you look carefully, you'll find everything has a weak spot", 25 Feb 2008
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fracture [DVD] (DVD)
The strength of this film lies with Ted Crawford's (Hopkins) laid-back trivial manner. He sits doodling in court oblivious to what is being said, but it is all carefully calculated. The articulate engineer who calmly shot his wife and admitted it to the arresting officer, whilst with a gun in his hand and subsequently signs a written confession - is surely going down for the crime.

Willy Beachum, the confident and cocky attorney accepts the case after Ted asks for it to go straight to trial with no defence team required. He struts into court as if it's his territory - certain the trial will be over in minutes. It soon becomes apparent that Ted has a plan - he pleads `not guilty', through careful orchestration he ensures there is no evidence against himself. From the initial certainty he will go down for the murder of his wife, it looks as though he's going to get away with it.

You can see that he is revelling in the frustration of Beachum, he plays mind games - speaking in symbolic anecdotes. Parallels have been drawn to Hannibal Lector, and you can see why. For the start there's a feeling of calm genius at work, his composure his disturbingly unemotional and you sense his fun at toying with others.

The film needs a worthy Nemesis for Crawford - and Ryan Gosling is convincing as the `best in the business' young and talented attorney. The interactions between the two are darkly humorous and tense. It's these moments which provide the films best scenes.

In a nutshell: The film is very enjoyable, from the first few minutes I was drawn in by Hopkins' cool as a cucumber manner and felt a compulsion to watch in order to see if he would be brought to justice or not. The film doesn't necessarily stay with you much after you've seen it - but for the duration, it's magnetism will draw you in like an iron filling to a fridge magnet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Slyness of the Lamb, 23 Aug 2007
By 
Philip Solo (UK , Japan, or Thailand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fracture [DVD] (DVD)
Whoa!! .how to transform an `open and shut case' into Jagged Edge!. Plot simple and brooding, man shoots wife, apparently confesses, and bored indolent up and coming new job lawyer gets instant brownie points - wrong!

Gosling's vacuously disappointing baby faced new recruit to major law practice is carelessly lazy and arrival stressed. He unknowingly and lazily is soon out of his depth as he accepts what appears to be a `facts-obvious' case with Hopkins as the seemingly 'hands-up-I-did' it wife shooter. From then on he is amusingly manipulated with `Seven-like' ease by Hopkins' character who veers alarmingly from Celtic to Gaelic vocals and becomes more and more Hannibalised as the frames click by.

A great novel evidence twist of course, which I won't do a spoiler on, but Hopkins has it all worked out to escape justice and commit the perfect murder. The problem with the movie being..reversal.. One identifies almost immediately with the pastiched Lecktor/Hopkins character and revels in his cleverness. Set against the smug, pasty looking, overworked over-reaching and thoroughly unadmirable mega-salaried legal suit stepping out of inwardly neurotic 'Model man's advert land' he scores instant audience points - you want Hopkins to win !

And predictably he does - up to a point. (beware partial spoiler!!) The film should have ended there with its bleak and cold hearted message that clever people can often `get away with murder' because.. well they planned well and the opposition set against them was inadequate.

The movie offers more stereotypical but nevertheless real glimpses into the money power ego culture of American law firms. Our intangibly supported hero is driven by his new `have to impress' fee-driven culture where moderation of loss of face and maximisation of chargeable time is the god of the day. Marginally explored sexual dynamics abound as the delectably sophisticated Rosamund Pike, socialite and partner level lady lawyer, loses her well suited managerial overview to the inevitable body to body appeal of the fresh faced young potential star. She plys her political trade to save his job as he digs himself further into the mire as the movie unfolds.

Hopkins character borrows heavily from his archetypal criminal psychologist as the perfectionist physics-obsessed meticulous murder planning villain let loose in a visually pleasing film noir environment. He smiles and menaces his way through as only he can, evoking the `chess piece' feeling of a master mind easily outpacing and controlling every stage of the lesser antagonist. This movie therefore reflects much we have seen in previous `courtroom duels' mind against mind, mano e mano and Gosling's character would be an unworthy winner that anyone with an eye for daring and excellence would be unlikely to want to support. He doesn't deserve to win. One yearns for Hopkins v Lt.Columbo to see a decent matched pair slug it out.I'm taking bets now!

In the end which again I won't spoil overtly I was heartily disappointed as Hopkins triumphant villain falls into the worn to fragments cliché of `going back for an ego boast and losing it'. The premise that after all that meticulous and skilful planning and legal manipulation he doesn't truly understand one simple legal differentiation of circumstance and didn't take that into account is truly abysmal and made me groan with that ` crap ending ` ..` is this the best they could think of?' feeling.

Weak Hollywood ending with the wolf going to the slaughter instead of the lamb!

Moral is as ever, ( as he would have known) when you win, walk, win, reflect on your victory alone when you are away in safety. Don't look back, don't feel the need to boast about it, and get the hell out before anyone wises up. As James Woods was famously told in another movie ` You sold it once son, don't buy it back !'

Oh and my reviewer award vote goes to Amanda Richards for the best title `Double Jeopardy for Dummies' and the unique novel device of setting the plot to the score of Eleanor Rigby -brilliantly inventive stuff !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...On Advice Of Counsel..." - Fracture on BLU RAY, 20 Jun 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fracture [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Perfectionist and Aircraft Designer Ted Crawford (Anthony Hopkins) pulls up in his Lotus outside a Los Angeles Beach Front property and looks at a man and woman in swimwear walking from a balcony into a bedroom. The woman is his wife Jennifer (Embeth Davidtz) and the man is Lieutenant Robert "Rob" Nunally - A Hostage Negotiator for the LAPD (Billy Burke).

When Jen finally comes home in her open-top Boxster to their beautifully appointed and luxurious gated home - Ted asks for a hug - tells her he knows about the affair - then takes out a gun and shoots her in the head. When Rob arrives as Negotiator (to talk the gun out of Crawford's hand) - he sees a portrait on the wall and realizes which woman is bleeding out on the kitchen floor. He loses it and attacks Crawford but is pulled off by his boss Detective Flores (Chris Curtis). Driven away in handcuffs - cold Ted smirks at Rob from the back seat of the cop car - like he's somehow going to get away with it (despite the overwhelming evidence against him). Downtown - calm Ted is charged with 1st degree - gives a signed confession and the LAPD even have the murder weapon. It appears to be an open-and-shut case.

Meanwhile in a large LA law firm across town - cocky Prosecutor Willy Beecham (Ryan Gosling) is getting a promotion from his boss the District Attorney (David Strathairn) because hotshot Willy has an impressive 97% conviction rate. In a case shuffle he gets to prosecute Ted Crawford for murder (whose wife hasn't died but is in a coma). But then as the bizarre case proceeds - and after initial one-on-one conversations with the soft-spoken Crawford - Beecham's sloppy and unprepared behaviour in court starts to look like Crawford chose him for precisely these reasons - arrogance that would allow him a way to bend the law in his favour. But has the uber-smart Ted underestimated the young buck? Soon a cat and mouse game commences where murder, careers and a comatose woman's life is at stake...

Skilfully Directed in 2007 by Gregory Hoblit with an ingenious script by Daniel Pyne and Glenn Gers - no matter how classy the overall feel is - it was always going to about the dance between the two main leads. Hopkins as you can imagine is magnificent - all cold and arrogant and so smug you just want to hit him. So Ryan Gosling does well to keep up - having to move his character from lippy young legal brat to grown up determined investigator across the movie. Their word exchanges are fabulous. It helps too that the film is propped up with a huge and talented cast that also includes Rosamund Pike, Bob Gunton (of Shawshank fame) and Fiona Shaw.

The BLU RAY picture quality is top notch - beautifully filmed to give it that silver-suit lawyer slickness - cold and shiny like Ted Crawford's silver toys (Aspect Ratio 2.35:1). Extras include Deleted and Alternate Scenes, Alternate Endings and Theatrical Trailer. Audio is English 5.1 Dolby Digital and 5.1 Dolby TrueHD - while the lone Subtitle is English SDH.

"I guess the joke's on me..." Willy says as he leaves Ted in their first encounter - thinking he has this eccentric and his murder case all wrapped up. Ted smirks - you're right.

"Fracture" on BLU RAY is a sophisticated and satisfying legal thriller with world-class actors enjoying great writing. Get your eggs in the basket for this one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two great actors in an excellent thriller!, 17 July 2013
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fracture (DVD)
Any film with Anthony Hopkins and Ryan Gosling as the leading actors is almost guaranteed to be good, and 2007's 'Fracture' does not disappoint.

To be honest, it has all the elements of the kind of movies that I like best anyway. 'Fracture' is a Crime/Mystery/Thriller, which is clever, gripping, atmospheric and well acted. I know that many people probably worked out how the film was going to pan out and what had happened to the so-called 'missing evidence', but I didn't, and as a result was kept intrigued and eager to find out what was going to happen next. When the mystery was finally solved, I thought how clever it had all been done.

In Los Angeles, Ted Crawford (Hopkins) witnesses his much younger wife (played by Embeth Davidtz) and her lover, Lieutenant Robert Nunally (Billy Burke) in the swimming pool of a hotel together. When she comes home, Crawford shoots her, and awaits calmly for the police to arrest him. Young, clever but arrogant Deputy D.A. Willy Beachum (Gosling) believes Crawford's fate is sealed and the case is cut and dry, until he goes head to head with Crawford in a cunning game of cat and mouse, leading up to the answer of that burning question: How is this man getting away with murder?

The game of intellectual chess between Hopkins and Gosling's characters was fantastic to watch, these two worked well together, and although we knew Anthony was already a great actor, if child star Ryan was still trying to prove himself worthy as a serious movie star, he certainly did in 'Fracture'.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fracture (DVD)
brilliant casting twists and turns every which way you never knew what was comming next abolutely great by two fab actors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Did He Do It?, 28 Oct 2012
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fracture (DVD)
This is one of those story-lines in which everything is presented to you and you are left with nothing but the little gray cells. Hopkins is bang to rights but all is seldom as it seems and into his elaborate puzzle steps Ryan Gosling as his mark. Both Hopkins and Gosling belong to the School of Acting Silence, no Hollywood Standard Emoting, though in this case Hopkins has a rogue brogue and Gosling some problem with constant touching of his face and nose. Hopkins is wonderful with the look of a Great White while Gosling seems almost Tintinesque in his clear-faced youth. Both of course are just sent to mislead us from the key questions of the case. The other parts seem rather two dimensional next to our leads, the love interest is so transparent as to be seen through (though very lovely). The solution to the matter of the gun in the night was very clever indeed (and threw me). I'm not up on the Californian Penal Code enough to opine on the ending though it was the one I elected for. As an old London LLB graduate it was a delight to see the fan debates raising such matters as Collateral Estoppel

The photography was wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Did He Do It?, 28 Oct 2012
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fracture [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those story-lines in which everything is presented to you and you are left with nothing but the little gray cells. Hopkins is bang to rights but all is seldom as it seems and into his elaborate puzzle steps Ryan Gosling as his mark. Both Hopkins and Gosling belong to the School of Acting Silence, no Hollywood Standard Emoting, though in this case Hopkins has a rogue brogue and Gosling some problem with constant touching of his face and nose. Hopkins is wonderful with the look of a Great White while Gosling seems almost Tintinesque in his clear-faced youth. Both of course are just sent to mislead us from the key questions of the case. The other parts seem rather two dimensional next to our leads, the love interest is so transparent as to be seen through (though very lovely). The solution to the matter of the gun in the night was very clever indeed (and threw me). I'm not up on the Californian Penal Code enough to opine on the ending though it was the one I elected for. As an old London LLB graduate it was a delight to see the fan debates raising such matters as Collateral Estoppel

The photography was wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, Poor Ending, 19 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fracture [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a wonderfully plotted movie in which the clearly guilty Antnyony Hopkins (as Ted Crawford) shoots his wife. The prosecution's case is hampered by the fact that the gun has mysteriously vanished. A delightfully cat and mouse game follows between Hopkins and Ryan Gosling (as Willy Beachum, who is just about to move into corporate law). Part of this reminds me of 'Dial M For Murder', when the location of the key could not be determined.

What was disapointing was the ending. It was definitely an anti climax, one the makers had put in after trying out two other endings that are featured in the 'extras'. For me, I thought that the first alternate ending was the best one. It had scenes in it which I'm sure were in when I saw it on tv a while back. It shown more detail of how Hopkins did what he did, rather than just listening to it.

My advice is, if you want a good cat and mouse thriller, go for this, but make sure you see the alternate endings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cat and Mouse games, 21 Dec 2011
By 
Valerie J. (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fracture [DVD] (DVD)
I watched FRACTURE (2007) for the second time today and was glad that I couldn't quite remember how it ended or the finer detail because all the tension of watching it the first time was there for me.

Anthony Hopkins plays a wily intellectual who decides to bump off his unfaithful wife because she has been 'messing around' with a detective (played by Billy Burke of the Twilight Saga) who is later on the case . It's an easy-to-follow cat and mouse courtroom-type thriller and the question is: who is the cat and who is the mouse? While Anthony Hopkins' character (very reminiscent of his Hannibal Lecter character in The Silence of the Lambs without the weird appetite) initially admits to attempted murder (and he was virtually caught red handed), he then denies it and the hunt is on for the weapon. The fun begins when he decides to defend himself in court. He has a high old time playing head-games with the prosecutor (played by Ryan Gosling of The Notebook).

I thought this movie great fun and well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FRACTURE, 29 Jun 2009
This review is from: Fracture [DVD] (DVD)
A great film that had me on the edge of my seat. We see Ted Crawford shoot his wife. He then confesses to the police. The police have the murder wepon and a confession, or do they?. The case against him begins to unravel and the fun begins!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fracture [DVD]
Fracture [DVD] by Josh Stamberg (DVD - 2007)
5.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews