Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead and buried is dug up for an uncut release
Finally Dead and Buried is given the respect it deserves on DVD. Remastered and uncut the way it should be. I only just saw D&B just yesterday and i must say i was blown away by it. It terrfied me. I have never seen a film that could scare me as much as this one did. The story leads from violence to dread and ultimately the revelation shock ending that scares you right to...
Published on 6 Jun 2005 by Great White

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars quite a little gem
having watched this early 80s movie i was impressed by the fact this little gem is now on dvd and also uncut. basically a little village some gory killings of course the famous hypodermic needle in the eye and altogether a very good ending with a great twist at the end of it make this a watchable good horror film, the quality of this on dvd is good and also the extra...
Published on 11 Sep 2004 by Sharon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars quite a little gem, 11 Sep 2004
By 
Sharon (s wales united kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead And Buried [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
having watched this early 80s movie i was impressed by the fact this little gem is now on dvd and also uncut. basically a little village some gory killings of course the famous hypodermic needle in the eye and altogether a very good ending with a great twist at the end of it make this a watchable good horror film, the quality of this on dvd is good and also the extra features make this a very enjoyable movie. i would recommend this if like me you like your early 80s horror movies well worth a watch .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead and buried is dug up for an uncut release, 6 Jun 2005
By 
Great White "GW" (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dead And Buried [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Finally Dead and Buried is given the respect it deserves on DVD. Remastered and uncut the way it should be. I only just saw D&B just yesterday and i must say i was blown away by it. It terrfied me. I have never seen a film that could scare me as much as this one did. The story leads from violence to dread and ultimately the revelation shock ending that scares you right to the bone. The characters are great and the stars do a great job to bring the story before your eyes. Jack Alberton (Charlie's grandpa in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory) is great as the creepy mortitian Dobbs, James Farentino as Sheriff Dan Gillis makes a great portrayal of a man determined to find out the truth but when he does he wishes he hadn't as the end reveals he is more part of the conspiracy than he wants to be. Melody Anderson (Princess Dale in the 1980's movie Flash Gordon) as Janet the wife of Gillis who hides a terrifying secret. There are some great cameos from stars today too. Robert Englund a.k.a. Freddy Krueger pops up as Harry the salvage merchant and Tim Burton ex-squeeze Lisa Marie makes a brief appearance as a young teenage hitch-hiker who gets her head smashed in then lovingly recreated by Dobbs.
Dead and buried is a flim that will stick with you way after the movie has finished. A vintage horror that i will be taking with me to my own grave. If this movie doesn't scare you, then you're already DEAD & BURIED!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exhumed at last!, 5 Feb 2007
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dead And Buried [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Great to see the full uncut version of this cult classic horror available at last! Dead and Buried is very creepy little horror, punctuated with a few inspired make-you-jump and make-you-wince moments. Whilst not perhaps as explicit as horror flicks that melt the gorehounds' butter today, Dead and Buried builds at a measured pace, to a clever and shocking conclusion that is sure to make you want to watch the movie again to check for clues you may have missed.

This two-disk edition spoils the viewer for extras, with commentaries, trailers, stills and biogs galore. The sleeve notes also give a fascinating insight into the problems that beset this film and the tortuous path it took to result in this DVD release. Only slight downside is that the picture quality of the main feature is not great - looking like a straight port-over from VHS and the so-called 5.1/DTS sound may be pushing something out through all 6 speakers, but it gets a bit mushy at times and some dialogue is difficult to follow. No matter though, Dead and Buried is certainly something of a minor classic and deserves to be in every horror buff's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You can try to kill me, Dan. But you can't. You can only make me dead.", 16 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead And Buried [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
A photographer is on the beach taking photos of the area, when an attractive young woman appears before him. After some flirting, the man starts to take some photos of her, when suddenly he is attacked by a group of people taking photos of him. He is beaten and burned, in an attack that seemingly has no motivation. A while later the police arrive at the murder scene, and make a shocking discovery.

Sheriff Dan Gillis is investigating the crime, when he hears about yet another murder. A drunk has been discovered brutally murdered, making it two grisly attacks in the small sleepy town of Potters Bluff in a matter of days. Convinced that something strange is going on, he dedicates all his time to these murders. Things start to get creepier when it appears as though the victims of these horriffic murders, are seen alive and well with no sign of injury. Is the sheriff going crazy and imagining the whole thing? Is the townspeople playing a cruel joke on him? Are the dead coming back to life? And what does the strange elderly mortician Dobbs have to do with it?

The acting is mostly excellent, James Farentino gives a powerhouse performance in the lead role of Dan Gillis, it's his character that we follow and without his wonderful performance the film would have fallen flat. By far my favourite performance of his, despite the fact I initially thought it was Dan Lauria who played the dad in The Wonder Years. Jack Albertson is a delight as William G. Dobbs, the local mortician that seems to like his job and the dead bodies a little more than he should. Better known as Grandpa in Willy Wonka And The Chocolate Factory, he steals every scene in what was one of his last roles before his death. Melody Anderson, Lisa Blount, Christopher Allport and a young Robert Englund all offer excellent support.

Dead and Buried is well directed by Gary Sherman, who later went on to direct the slightly disappointing Poltergeist 3. Screenplay was done by Dan O'Bannon, who has done the screenplays to some of my favourite movies including Total Recall, Alien and Return Of The Living Dead. Special Effects were designed by the legend, Stan Winston. Steven Poster was the cinematographer, he did a great job as the coastal town is drab and foggy, yet beautiful. The music by Joe Renzetti also needs mentioning, I love the music in this and it adds to the atmosphere more than most films music score does.

The 2 disc Anchor Bay DVD is fantastic, the picture quality could have been a little better but the extras more than make up for it.
Audio commentary with director Gary A. Sherman.
Audio commentary from co-writer/co-producer Ronald Shusett with actress Linda Turley.
Audio commentary from cinematographer Steve Poster.
Stan Winston's Dead And Buried EFX' featurette.
Robert Englund: An Early Work Of Horror' featurette.
Dan O'Bannon: Crafting Fear' featurette.
Stills gallery.
Biographies.
Theatrical trailer.
English subtitles only.

I believe Dead and Buried to be one of the most underrated horror films of the '80s, I adore it and I'm struggling to think of anything negative to say about it. The death scenes are shocking and sudden, there's some nudity and gore, at least three scenes stuck with me for years after I first saw it at maybe twelve years old, the ending was great and it didn't feel contrived and tacked on, the atmosphere is terrific, the film moves at a leisurely pace without being boring and the subtle horror is nice when compared to today's "in your face" techniques.

Dead and Buried is a wonderful subtle horror film with outstanding performances from Farentino and Albertson, definitely in my top 10 '80s horror movies and a film that deserves to be far better known than it is. 5 star movie, 5 star release from Anchor Bay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars X rated X-file, 1 April 2010
This review is from: Dead & Buried [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film with a friend when it first came out. We sat there, and even after just a few minutes my friend commented 'do we really want to sit through this'? The film had opened with some very violent an gruesome scenes. However, after watching a bit more it became apparent that the violence wasn't just 'gratuitous' but necessary to the plot.

So, as the plot unfolds we find a small town sheriff (James Farentino) investigating a sudden spate of murders of drifters, or of people passing through and all happening in a similar, bizarre, fashion to each other. The killings are photographed and filmed making them seem rather more ritualistic than just random. If any hapless victim survived the onslaught, another attempt would be made to kill them. And it would succeed. Then, the body would be taken to the town Morgue.

Without giving too much of the plot away, we also have 'helping' with the investigation, the local town mortician who by any accounts is a more than a little bit dotty. Then there are the towns folk who suddenly and mysteriously appear from nowhere, all bearing more than a striking resemblance to the various deceased but with no knowledge of anything except the idyllic town's day to day events, acting as if they had lived in the town all their lives... which in a way they have. When you persevere with this film, all becomes gruesomely clear.

The sheer savagery of events make this an intense experience and as I sat there watching it again after all these years, memories flooded back about 'do I really want to sit through this...'! It's an intriguing story with a taste of the paranormal - a sort of 'X-Files meets Frankenstein' if you like, but one that's definitely NOT for the faint hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So low key that it feels like you’re attending a compliance lecture, 19 Mar 2014
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Dead and Buried is a half decent idea executed with surprising restraint but which is so low key that it feels like you’re attending a compliance lecture rather than watching a horror film that tries to put a new spin on zombies. Dan O’Bannon and Ronald Shusett’s script is set in one of those small, permanently overcast towns that time and most people have passed by. The few who do stop there find themselves mutilated and murdered, much to the consternation of local sheriff James Farentino, who’s even less happy when the bodies start disappearing and his wife, Melody Anderson, starts developing an interest in voodoo and keeping secrets, among them her regular chats with big band-loving local mortician Jack Albertson. You can see where it’s going, but not why it seems to go there quite so slowly and monotonously. Death Line director Gary Sherman’s rather leisurely approach sort of works in the opening sequence as it lulls you into a false sense of security before things get nasty, but it becomes increasingly lethargic, failing to build tension or shocks even as the killings multiply. He’s not helped by Steve Poster’s dreary cinematography, flat and lacking in much range or detail and not imaginative enough to convince you that there might be something nasty lurking in the murk. In many ways it feels surprisingly similar to the same year’s Strange Behavior, but not in a good way: when the final revelations come long after you’ve guessed them for yourself, the sensation is not so much shock or catharsis as relief that it’s finally got to the point. Sadly, Dead and Bored is more like it.

Both Blue Underground's region-free US Blu-ray and Anchor Bay's deleted UK DVD release certainly offer plenty of special features - no fewer than three audio commentaries, featurettes Stan Winston’s Dead and Buried EFX, Robert Englund – An Early Work of Horror and Dan O’Bannon – Crafting Fear, and three theatrical trailers - though the Blu-ray transfer certainly doesn't gain much in terms of picture, though considering the source material that's unsurprising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead Terrifying, 8 Feb 2014
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dead & Buried [DVD] (DVD)
Dvd Info.
Running time 93 minutes approx, Region 2.

Trivia.
1)Melody Anderson starred in 1980's cult sci-fi classic movie Flash Gordon as Dale Arden & appeared in the short lived 80's tv series Manimal.
2)Look out for a early apperance by Robert Englund in this movie who went on to terrify us as Freddy Kruger in the Nightmare On Elm Street franchise.
3)The late Lisa Blunt appeared as Lynette in the movie An Officer & A Gentleman, sadly she passed away aged 53 in 2010.
4)Gary Sherman directed 1988's Poltergeist III.

Review.

A series of brutal grisly murders are being commited in a coastal town by a mob of local townsfolk against visitors & tourists.

Local Sheriff Daniel Gillis is baffled by the gruesome murders that are occurring around the town but for the undertaker William G.Dobbs he's quite happy to take care of these recent deaths that are occurring as it's good for his business.

Very soon Sheriff Dobbs realises that the people who were murdered are not dead as first thought they are alive & well with no memory of ever being attacked or murdered as there corpses have mysteriously come back to life.

The mystery deepens even further for Sheriff Dobbs as he starts piecing together the clues & realizes that most of the town's inhabitants are involved in committing the murders including Sheriff Dobbs wife Janet.

Timelord Thoughts.

This is a great horror film that delivers a twist ending that shocks the viewer.

At last this film has finally been released uncut on dvd & Blu ray & features a early performance by Robert Englund who would later become synonymous with his role as Freddy Krueger in the Nightmare On Elm Street franchise.

This is a slow paced movie to begin with but it builds up the suspense & delivers some truly shocking scenes one that features a syringe that will have the viewer squirming.

The story is engrossing & will have the viewer wondering what is actually going on with the town's inhabitants which will become blatantly clear in the movie's excellent twist ending.

The dvd is good but the print transfer could've been remastered a little better but this is a small flaw & doesn't distract from the whole atmosphere that the movie creates.

A hidden gem of a horror movie that maybe has been overlooked by many but I would recommend this film to horror fan's who like a intriguing mystery included in there horror movie's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Should be left dead and buried, 18 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead & Buried [DVD] (DVD)
I had heard so many good things about this film - atmospheric, Dan O'Bannon co-script, Stan Wintson Special fx an early Robert Englund appearance and a major role for the late great and underrated Jack Albertson. I had heard it was an intelligent film and one that deserved a place in the collection of any good horror connoisseur's collection. Boy was I wrong! This film is dreadful. It just seems to drag on and on and jumps from slow pace, to maniacal murdering pace and back again. There also seems to be a severe problem with the tracking of the Optimum Release edition, as from the start to mid point on my DVD the actors mouths were out of sync with their dialogue. This would have been a far greater problem had I actually been able to properly see what was going on in the first place. The transfer quality is dreadful - the film stock is so dark that it makes it nigh on impossible to witness the genius of Stan Winston at work. The picture is a grainy poor VHS transfer quality on this DVD. Perhaps the alternative releases are better than this, but to be honest I feel so let down by this version and the film in general, that I think I will pass on that one and you should too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quality review, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead & Buried [DVD] (DVD)
good quality and played well with no problems. i had no issues of any kind when i used this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Movie & Edition, 15 April 2013
By 
Aron Ramna (Porto,Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead And Buried [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutly love this classic. Love the case in paper. There's too, one made of paper & the second plastic. Has a nice dvd print, nice extras, nice inside cover picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead & Buried [DVD]
Dead & Buried [DVD] by Gary A. Sherman (DVD - 2008)
9.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews