Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best
My favourite film of all time. Even those who aren't into war films will get a lot out of it and find a lump in their throat at the end. Fans of RAF/war films will find plenty of period/procedural detail (and if you're like me, plenty of phrases with which to drive one's family mad!) Not a blood and guts film, and all the better and more profound for that.
As is...
Published on 22 Jun 2008 by S. Moore

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Life on an English Airfield
I must admit that I'm a bit of a sucker for old black and white British war films and this is one of my favourites. Of course, not all are good and judged against today's standards probably few are great. But even without making those comparisons this is a pretty good effort at portraying life on an English airfield during the Battle of Britain and it balances an element...
Published on 8 Jun 2010 by Eddie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 22 Jun 2008
By 
S. Moore "p-s-moore" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angels One Five [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
My favourite film of all time. Even those who aren't into war films will get a lot out of it and find a lump in their throat at the end. Fans of RAF/war films will find plenty of period/procedural detail (and if you're like me, plenty of phrases with which to drive one's family mad!) Not a blood and guts film, and all the better and more profound for that.
As is often the case with older movies, there are no 'deleted scenes' or 'directors' commentary'. However, whilst some background might have been interesting, the film stands tall on its own and doesn't need any hype. Definitely one you'll watch over and over.
Just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 97 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Classic, 18 Dec 2007
This review is from: Angels One Five [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
I love the British black and white war movies, Dambusters, Wooden Horse, etc and this is another classic. Angels One Five is set during the Battle of Britain and follows the arrival of a new pilot at a squadron.
Mixing the grim realties of war with the whit and humour that I love about these films, and with classic lines such as:
" They've really caught us with both pairs of trousers at the cleaners this time!"
Its a must have for your B&W WW2 collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angels One Five, 25 Dec 2008
By 
C. W. Bradbury (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angels One Five [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
Angels One Five is one of the most accurate films ever made about the Battle of Britain. The depiction of a strong and self-confident England, centre of a world enbracing Empire; reluctant but determined to save the world, seems almost a parody now. Later films, although blessed with unlimited budgets, incredible special effects and even computer generated imaging; have so far been unable to recreate the tribal atmosphere that was the backbone of 1940's England. The calibre of the public schoolboy pilots, their emphasis on self control, duty and team spirit, can all be seen in this film as they were at that time. This authentic portrayal is due in no small part to the director George More O'Ferrall having served at Fighter Command HQ, with many others involved also having "done their bit". Few other films encapsulate so well an era that now is also gone with the wind..... Angels One Five [DVD] [1952]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tally ho, 30 May 2009
By 
Peter Wade (Colchester England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angels One Five [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
This is the British at their best. Britain alone against the Hun with a stiff upper lip fighting alone with no allies not even the Americans on their own soil.

It is a good version of what we believe it was all about, professional airmen such as the station commander the Tiger and all his cohorts Bonzo etc.

It depicts the pilots as glorified public school boys all having a lark whilst have a crack at fritz.

Wonderful lines as they were all remaining calm " Battle bowlers please" as their base was being bombed.

It embodies the essence of all the best British war films of the period as pilots are killed and things go on. The new pilot puts up a black but is accepted and the final scenes deal with him being shot down.

Good story line and sympathetic characters. You really believe in these people and their problems. All the WAAFs speak with such impeccable English accents none of this working class sloppiness of these days. You really believe that the second world war was carried out in clipped tones and everyone was very brave in deed.

Great for plane spotters as there are some good flying scenes. The special affects are amateurish but we accept that for such an old film.

I reckon this is a better film on story line and characters than Battle of Britain made in 1969 but of course the photography is not so good.

This is a classic amongst British war films and I can watch it many times. My dad was in the air force but he was never a pilot so I recognise a lot of what goes on.

Must see if you are a fan of British war films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Life on an English Airfield, 8 Jun 2010
By 
Eddie (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Angels One Five [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
I must admit that I'm a bit of a sucker for old black and white British war films and this is one of my favourites. Of course, not all are good and judged against today's standards probably few are great. But even without making those comparisons this is a pretty good effort at portraying life on an English airfield during the Battle of Britain and it balances an element of good humour with the seriousness and tragedy of wartime.

The characters are well defined by some solid performances (especially from Jack Hawkins as you'd expect in a role like this), and they go about their business with a typically stiff upper lip. What gives the film its strength though is the treatment: most of the action takes place off screen and our connection with it is largely through radio communication between the ops room and the pilots. This adds to the tension and keeps the audience involved in the claustrophobia of the ops room and the relationships which take place within it. Unfortunately the film does occasionally waver from this by showing the odd cutaways such as vapour trails in the sky (without an aircraft in sight), shots of the approaching bombers (probably the worst special effect you'll ever see) and the farmer with his cart which seems to have been dropped in as an afterthought.

Certainly one to add to your collection of you like this kind of thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent re-release - poor PR, 3 Aug 2009
By 
Vincent Avery "Bede John" (Durham, NH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angels One Five [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
An excellent addition to the collection of 1950s British war movies. Please keep them coming, but be careful of the PR wrapping. Whoever wrote the printed synopsis on the cover had not seen the film, did not know the story line, and did not know the meaning of the title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars angels one five, 7 Aug 2010
By 
Jack Pittam (middlesbrough England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels One Five [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
an excellent film about very brave men and women,many who gave all that they could even unto death that we could enjoy our freedom today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars INSPIRING, 18 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Angels One Five [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
This wonderful film for me is all about the ending. Beautifully done and I'll bet any man or woman not to be in tears at its climax. But in a wonderful defiant uplifting and spiritual way, not, ultimately, in a sad way. 5**** for me and a must for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He melts into his part like a natural this film as the station commander of ..., 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels One Five [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
I tend to be drawn to any film that has Jack Hawkins in it. He melts into his part like a natural this film as the station commander of an RAF Station in WW2. John Gregson stars as TB (Septic). Delivers a new Hurricane to the station but over shoots the runway and ends up in a garden of a bungalow at the end of the runway. A superb cast. Like the Cruel Sea makes for a great and very enjoyable British wartime classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love those old Brit films, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels One Five [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
This WW2 british film adds to my collection of old faves. Hope lots more come up for purchase soon. Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angels One Five [DVD] [1952]
Angels One Five [DVD] [1952] by George More O'Ferrall (DVD - 2008)
£9.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews