Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great family fun for all music lovers.
Game which requires rapid recall of song lyrics and titles.
Can be adapted to fit all ages and tastes in music.
The question categories include opportunities to mime or draw clues for your team mates which is guaranteed to liven up the proceedings! Some questions must be answered, or tasks completed, against the clock (timer provided).
The game is simple...
Published on 29 Jan 2009 by chox

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but not for the whole family!
We own a large collection of games and I purchased Lyrics some time ago since the family and friends all loved a singing game calles "Encore" that I have had for over 20 years, and I reckoned this would be along the same line. The idea is good, but the selection of songs is limited (however many are there by Queen?) and frankly it's not for all age groups. The older...
Published on 21 Jan 2010 by Expat Bookworm


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but not for the whole family!, 21 Jan 2010
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lyric Music Trivia Game (Toy)
We own a large collection of games and I purchased Lyrics some time ago since the family and friends all loved a singing game calles "Encore" that I have had for over 20 years, and I reckoned this would be along the same line. The idea is good, but the selection of songs is limited (however many are there by Queen?) and frankly it's not for all age groups. The older members of the family were able to answer about one in ten questions, while the 25-35 age group did the best. Perhaps an "updated" version that covers a wider range of tunes would make it a real family game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great family fun for all music lovers., 29 Jan 2009
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lyric Music Trivia Game (Toy)
Game which requires rapid recall of song lyrics and titles.
Can be adapted to fit all ages and tastes in music.
The question categories include opportunities to mime or draw clues for your team mates which is guaranteed to liven up the proceedings! Some questions must be answered, or tasks completed, against the clock (timer provided).
The game is simple to set up - no batteries or cables required - open the box and you are more or less ready to go. The rules of play and scoring seem a little complicated when first read but it's fine once you start to play.
Super fun for family gatherings, ice-breaker for parties etc.
Give it a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring and over too quickly., 14 Oct 2009
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lyric Music Trivia Game (Toy)
My sister in law bought me and my husband this game a couple of years ago for christmas, as we are huge music fans so she thought it would suit us perfectly. Unfortunately the actual game doesnt quite live up to the concept, which sounded like it would/could be really good fun. It has huge stacks of question cards but they are all so easy or just stupid that you end up whizzing round the board in no time at all, even my sister and her husband who havent got as wide a knowledge of music thought it was boring. it literally took a group of 6 of us about 15 minutes to finish the game and that was the first time we'd played it.
I think it's really hard to find decent music board games now days, but this is one i would reccommend avoiding i'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun but could be a bit better, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Louise Reed "Tydebrook" (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lyric Music Trivia Game (Toy)
We played this at Christmas and we had some fun with it - but with some of the questions, there are no written down answers, so the answers given could be open to interpretation or wrong without anyone realising it (unless you have someone who knows every single song title or lyric to every single song in one of the teams). Also we couldn't find where to keep the cards, so they went everywhere, and there are also two different batches of cards, so a lot of time was spent trying to work out which one we were supposed to be using, as some colours look the same unless you have bright light.
Overall it was fun and I am sure the more we play it, the more we will get used to the rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great game for a large group, 5 July 2014
By 
J. Brazill "Juls" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lyric Music Trivia Game (Toy)
fun game however it is more fun when there are more people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for all ages., 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lyric Music Trivia Game (Toy)
The lyric game is a great game to play with family and friends. It provides endless Fantastic! laughs all round!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tricky but great fun! Consider playing without the board., 30 Jan 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lyric Music Trivia Game (Toy)
In Brief
This game requires you to recall song lyrics based on questions on cards provided. Using two special dice to progress around the board you land on coloured music notes corresponding to a question type and in order to advance you must answer the question correctly. If you fail to answer correctly, you are sent backwards. On reaching the central "golden note", you stop moving around the board, and must successfully answer a challenging 'gold' question to win the game.

Suitable for...
Adults and older children. Shower-singers. People who "can't sing, won't sing" but are good listeners! You definitely have to know a good amount of songs and be able to recall lyrics quickly.... if you doubt your skills and are not willing to use the game to practice (i.e. you're a bad loser!) then this game will not be for you. Just because you can hold a tune or play an instrument, doesn't mean you know lyrics! It was much harder than I expected with a vast range of songs from old and new bands and singers. However, if you are happy to be challenged, or have a fair amount of lyrical knowledge you will love this game!

Alternative playing Style
We play this game without the board; it just complicates it. We made our own 8 sided 'die' with the 8 different colours of the notes on the cards (the 8 different question types)and just use the dice provided to determine how many points we gain or lose. We decide on a score and the first person to that score wins. This way, you are more likely to get the more interesting questions than you are when you play the way it was intended! We use the provided timer for some questions but set our own timers on our phones for 2, 3, 4 minutes depending on the question as we find the recommended times provided are a little harsh!

Question Types
The doodle and charade questions are the easiest by far and do not require much knowledge of music. They do not work as well if there are only 2 or 3 people, but for groups these end up being the silliest and most fun question types. Then there are some which require your knowledge of a particular song (e.g. sing ten words from this Queen song...") or ask you lyrical/musical trivia questions. The most fun but most challenging questions require you to sing a section from X number of songs which contain the word "hill" or "love" for example. The hardest card is the gold note card which gives 6 words; for each word you must sing a short section of a song which contains the given word. The game recommends a time of 45 seconds for ALL the words on the card, but we tend to give 30 seconds per word. You do not have to sing in this game - you can just speak the lyrics - but we often award an extra point if someone, lost in the moment, starts tunefully belting out their answer!

Considerations
It doesn't take too long to get through the provided cards, even though it seems like a large amount is provided. Hopefully, 'expansion packs' will be sold in the future.
You can easily play this game with just the cards (see Alternative Playing Style) above and a few extra bits and pieces. So if you see a 'used' or board-less version being sold it is worth considering.
It can be a very long game when playing with the board if players find it tricky.
Mainly, it is the on-the-spot pressure which makes the questions challenging - so don't judge the game by the few questions given as examples!

Verdict
If you get the chance I encourage you to 'try before you buy'. It is not for everyone, and you may not know whether or not you like it until you try playing it. However I personally find it the perfect balance of challenge and fun with a sprinkle of silliness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good game, 7 Dec 2012
This review is from: Lyric Music Trivia Game (Toy)
This take is great fun totally of the family. The questions cover a good ranger or older and more modern songs and all of the songs are popular so you've got an equal chance of knowing the answer. Also sometimes it's asks questions like name 5 songs with snow in them which is really fun. I really enjoy the final question which you have to answer to win. There are 5 words on the card and you have to think of a song with the word in it before the timer runs out. I recommend this game to all music fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, good game!, 2 Feb 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lyric Music Trivia Game (Toy)
Good product - fun to play and seems quite durable, Suitable for all ages and types of music liked. Worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good game !, 28 Jan 2012
By 
Kim Martin "KimM" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lyric Music Trivia Game (Toy)
wasn't sure how this would turn out but it's a really good game. Quite easy to play and it will get you singing songs you've not heard for years !! Good mix of easy to hard questions and a lot of fun. Highly recommended .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lyric Music Trivia Game
Lyric Music Trivia Game by Drumond Park
Used & New from: £62.25
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews