Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Call my bluff for the family
I just love this game. Brought for Christmas and met with groans from several members of my family, it swiftly won them over and became a new favourite. The premis is pretty simple, think call my bluff and you're there.

One gamer reads out the card - it could be a law (In Ohio it is illegal to tip your hat at what..?), initials (such as U.F.O. stands for...
Published on 31 Dec. 2008 by theTramp

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This is not as good as the original Balderdash
This is not as good as the original Balderdash, I'm not too keen on the division of words into categories and the whole game has become very complicated to play, with new rules for moving round the board. I think think Drumond Park have tried to modernize the game and as a result I don't find it as interesting or as easy to play as Gameworks Original Balderdash...
Published 2 months ago by Liz S.


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Call my bluff for the family, 31 Dec. 2008
By 
theTramp "thetramp" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: 20th Anniversary Absolute Balderdash (Toy)
I just love this game. Brought for Christmas and met with groans from several members of my family, it swiftly won them over and became a new favourite. The premis is pretty simple, think call my bluff and you're there.

One gamer reads out the card - it could be a law (In Ohio it is illegal to tip your hat at what..?), initials (such as U.F.O. stands for what?), a real person (Peter Smith is famous for what?) etc and then all gamers must write down an answer - only the key here is not to write the correct answer but something that you hope others will think as correct. All the gamers answers are then read out by the question reader along with the correct answer and everyone has to guess which is the real answer.

If it sounds complex believe me its not. The real skill is in pegging your fellow contestants and coming up with bluffs that appeal to their idea of truth. Fantastic fun, even for those who initially groan at the thought of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!, 11 Mar. 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: 20th Anniversary Absolute Balderdash (Toy)
Balderdash is a great family game whereby players are given statements from different categories and have to write their own explanations for each. Next, they have to listen to each anonymous explanation and decide which is the correct one. Players receive points for guessing correctly and when other players choose their (incorrect) explanation. With a lot of cards and categories ranging from film plots to unusual laws, this is a fun and informative game that will provide hours of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most laughs and fun I have had with a board game for years, 3 May 2012
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20th Anniversary Absolute Balderdash (Toy)
Nowadays with the WII , PS3 etc, at Christmas we have played as a family, Buzz, Just dance etc.

Until now, we bought Balderdash and I must say I have never laughed so much in ages.

The best thing about this is that my 12 year old can play (and won the last game) and he doesn't need 30 years of knowledge to know the answers, to be honest nobody knows the answers. That is where the fun lies.

I will give you an example, one question was something like "In Texas, on the 1st day of May it is illegal to do what?"

The answer is so obscure I can't remember. But the answer that one member of the family gave was "To carry your monther in law on your shoulders in public" and 4 people voted for it, giving the person who created the answer 4 points.

This game is the best family game for decades.

We are getting Dominoes and playing it again Saturday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars balderdash banter, 27 Jan. 2008
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20th Anniversary Absolute Balderdash (Toy)
This is a game you can take seriously or be ridiculous, several strategys exist if you are observant, and the mentally creative will have a real treat trying to decieve cogoal their apponents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 26 Feb. 2009
By 
El "El" (York, England) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: 20th Anniversary Absolute Balderdash (Toy)
I got introduced to this game at a friends party and it was great! So I bought it myself and now got some other friends hooked on it. It makes a great gift for someone too. One of the best boardgames I have bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleasing board game, better with lots of people, 25 Jun. 2009
By 
Mr. N. J. Henderson (Bude, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: 20th Anniversary Absolute Balderdash (Toy)
Balderdash is a great board game, we play it alot at Christmas when we have alot of family over.
The basic concept is to come up with a clever, witty and believable answer that your opponents will pick as the correct answer, thus scoring you points.
These answers cover a number of different catogories including initials, movie titles, laws and famous people.
On the subject of initials, and just to give you a laugh, this is the answer that my mother in law gave on that round.
The initals were H.A.R.E.
You have to make something up that fits those initals that sounds realistic.
My mother in law's two answers were:
Heights Above Right Eye...
And just when you thought that was bad, her alternative was:
Hyenas Are Rarely Electric!!
I feel she failed to appreciate the basic idea, but it was her first go.
In summary, get this game, it's great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Triumph, 18 Mar. 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: 20th Anniversary Absolute Balderdash (Toy)
The hardest part of playing this game is mastering the rules. We are not an unintelligent family but we did have a few hiccups. After a little trial and error, we were off and the whole experience goes beyond winning and loosing. It's such a hoot you don't really care about the outcome. You can be old and a bit forgetful, young with a limited vocab, have learning difficulties, have several degrees, be competative, be reluctant, it makes no difference, you will enjoy this game. If you love English and words you'll love this game but you do not have to be clever. It's infectious and if you've got a little creativity or a sense of fun then this could really be the game for you. I own the game and have bought it as a requested gift. I honestly have not played with anyone who didn't really enjoy the experience and am happy to recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Brilliance, 29 Dec. 2012
By 
TomPhil (Stockport, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: 20th Anniversary Absolute Balderdash (Toy)
This game is brilliant fun and I'd highly recommend it.

The concept is very simple; the only slightly complicated thing is the scoring, but you pick that up pretty quickly.

Essentially each player takes it in turns to read something from a card - it could be the start of a description of an event, it could be a set of initials, it could be a person's name. Each player then writes down a plausible answer (so eg the rest of the event description, what the initials stand for, what the person is famous for). The person who read out the card then reads out all the answers, including the correct one, and players must guess which is the real one.

There is much potential for hilarity, as even the strangest of the answers can prove to be the correct one, and plenty of fun to be had both in writing the answers and guessing them. The different categories provide plenty of variation (though you may prefer some to others) and it stays fun right until the end (especially when players who realise they have no chance of succeeding start putting in deliberately ridiculous answers!)

The game works fine with four players (although it contains alternative rules for two or three players, it wouldn't really work properly for that number), but is even more fun with more players. It is (as some other reviewers have said) rather Americanised, though that does in some ways add to the fun, trying to come up with sufficiently American sounding answers without going so far over the top that it becomes obvious what you are trying to do!

Great fun and definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple to play, surprisingly addictive, great for when guests or family are over. Not for the over competitive!!, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20th Anniversary Absolute Balderdash (Toy)
We (a group of students sharing a house) ordered this game based on a friends recommendation and I cannot overstate how much fun we had with it. Games generally last 1-2 hours, and are very much like a game of 'call my bluff', so there is a lot of posturing, nodding carefully as ones own rubbish definition of the word oologist is read out, and general laughing at each other. Some of these bogus definitions and games approached legendary status! One great aspect of this game is that it works with a wide age range, and it's certainly one of those infectious board games, people who played it at our student digs soon bought their own copy.

I would say it depends how confident the participants are at letting their inhibitions go and being creative. It's a game well worth having when guests come over.

We found this is not a game to take too competitively if you really want to get the most out of it (but then you could say that about any board game really!). I would say that it does help for everyone to have a decent grasp of the english language as everyones answers to questions are read out and it quickly becomes obvious who's answers are who's if one person in particular sticks to similar wording and grammar.

In general a simple to play, easy to enjoy, well-thought out word game that encourages a great deal of creativity.

Happy balderdashing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 24 May 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20th Anniversary Absolute Balderdash (Toy)
Having played this game on previous occasions I was no stranger to it. However, on playing it again I was reminded just what great fun it is for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

20th Anniversary Absolute Balderdash
£19.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews