Customer Reviews

1 Review
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...A Sweet Little Compilation..." - Do It Again: Fantastic Jazz Funk Of... EUMIR DEODATO (2007 CD Remasters), 18 April 2010
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Do It Again (Jazz Club) (Audio CD)
After he left the CTI label - and just before his "Night Cruiser" stuff on Warner Brothers - Brazilian multi-keyboardist EUMIR DEODATO punched out a string of jazz-funk albums for MCA in the mid Seventies - and that's where this October 2007 CD comes in.

Digitally remastered and at mid-price - Universal Verve Jazz Club 06007 5300715 (Barcode 0600753007150) breaks downs as follows (76:15 minutes):

1. Do It Again
2. Peter Gunn
3. Amani
4. Moonlight Serenade
5. Havana Strut
6. Whirlwinds
7. Juanita
8. Theme From Star Trek
9. Adam's Hotel
10. Funk Yourself
11. Speak Low
12. Black Widow
13. St. Louis Blues
14. Super Strut

1, 4, 5 and 6 are from "Whirlwinds" (1974)
2, 3, 7, 8 and 12 are from "Very Together" (1976)
9, 10 and 11 are from "First Cuckoo" (1975)
13 and 14 are live tracks from "Artistry" (1974)

His covers of Steely Dan's "Do It Again" and Henry Mancini's "Peter Gunn" open the jazz-funk proceedings very nicely, followed soon afterwards by a particular favourite of mine - the speedy synth funk of "Whirlwinds" - and it pretty much continues like that all the way to the enthusiastic crowd on the live "Super Strut" track that ends the disc. The smooth lurch of "Adam's Hotel" may be a little too elevator music for some but it's soon redeemed by the brilliantly foot-tapping "Funk Yourself" and slinky almost Steely Dan's "Aja" feel of "Black Widow" - very nice stuff indeed.

The remastered sound is fabulous throughout - really clean and muscular - which in turn brings out the great musicianship contained within - guitarist John Tropea, drummer Billy Cobham, Tony Levin on bass - and many, many others.

Disregard the naff 'luscious lips' artwork - this dinky little compilation delivers where it matters - great track choices coupled with top sound - and it's a steal at less than four pounds...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Do It Again (Jazz Club)
Do It Again (Jazz Club) by Deodato (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews