Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
Many people are slating this album and saying it isn't portraying true drum and bass, for me this has no consequence, i am primarily a fan of rock and easy-listening music but this album really has an edge that made me jump up and listen, the fact that it is not genre-specific drum and bass doesn't bother me in the slightest, people can classify it however they want but...
Published on 10 April 2008 by Rodney_Mullen

versus
29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amateur mastering
I'm not going to attempt to review the actual music, as it's already been done for the original release of the CD. But I like it.

I'm writing the review to warn potential buyers of the amateur mastering of this release of the CD. Every single track has a 2 second gap before it - including the tracks that are clearly supposed to be joined with the previous...
Published on 1 Sep 2007 by B. G. Brereton


‹ Previous | 19 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars solid beginning, 28 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Hold Your Colour (Audio CD)
i downloaded a lot of Pendulums songs before the album come out but they havent made it on the album for one reason or another. its a bit of a shame in my opinion because i think songs such as voyager, vault and masochist are all good and its a shame some people wont hear them now.
There is still some songs on here with big bass but some of them are just not my thing, 'sounds of life' being the sort of poop i dislike.
My favourite tracks: slam, fasten your seatbelt, through the loop, tarantula, out here and another planet, all big phat songs with big phat grooves which is what we like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overrated for sure!, 31 Jan 2008
This review is from: Hold Your Colour (Audio CD)
Being a purist who has seen every DJ on the set also having lived with a very talented DJ I can honestly say this is overrated. It is a pop crossover attempt with more emphasis on creating profitising music for the masses than creating solid D+B. Ask anyone who is less than thirty if they like drum and bass and you will invariably get the answer; 'I love pendulum'. And to compare them to the mighty Prodigy is laughable! However I have given them 3 stars on the merit of their instrumental gigs which few artists have the courage/talent to pull off, and the fact that they are actively getting more people into D+B. If you are getting into drum and bass buy anything on true playaz ot hospital!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars meh, 10 Nov 2005
This review is from: Hold Your Colour (Audio CD)
this alum is not amazing its average with excellent sparks. slam is good but the best is fasten ur seatbelts(which is amazing) the rest r just there, sort out ur reviews they all say ur new to drum and bass and it shows
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Think before you buy, 9 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: Hold Your Colour (Audio CD)
I've been listening to drum and bass, in one form or another, since the early 90's and after listening to many of Pendulums' releases prior to this album, I must say that I am extremely dissapointed by what it has to offer. The album generally has a more techno and pop feel to it, and this is far from a good thing in my opinion.

Once the intro is out of the way the music starts off with the track Slam, which in my mind sounds like something conceived by the techno group Scooter. Appart from the tracks "Through the loop", "The Terminal" and "Another Planet" the album steadies it's course toward being a complete let down to anyone who has enjoyed Pendulums' vinyl releases.

It's such a shame that tracks such as "Toxic Shock", "The Voyager" and "Vault" have not made it to the album, and have instead been replaced by poppy techno rubbish.

For anyone who is already a fan of Pendulum and is thinking of buying this album, my advice is don't. Think of buying it as a way to ruin a good memory, like watching a film you loved as a kid only to realise that it's complete crap.

Bad Pendulum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pendulum - Hold your colour, 10 Aug 2008
By 
D. DAVIES "happygoth" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hold Your Colour (Audio CD)
I bought this based on someone else's recommendation, and I have to say that although it's not a bad album, In Silico is much better. Sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hold your colour, 15 Sep 2005
Don't get me wrong, this album isnt bad. Its just that I don't think it will stand the test of time. It is Pendulum doing what they do best & they do it well, but I dont really think it is pushing the envelope. With so many new artists pushing forward in so many different directions in the Drum 'n Bass industry new tracks & albums have to stand out. Unfortunately this isnt one of them.
There are good tracks on here such as my favourite 'Girl in the fire' with its latin feel which is funky, but I dont think people will be listening to this album in 4 months time. Especially with Mampi Swift's album 'Music Forever' dropping in late September, which I feel pushes things alot more then Pendulum's album. Fair play to the Pendulum boys they've got skills but they need to move things forward, Vault pushed things forward back in 2003 but now everyone else has caught up.
If your a fan of Pendulum & the Breakbeat Kaos sound then your like this. If your just into your Drum n Bass then hold tight for Mampi Swift's album which I have been lucky enough to get a promo copy & I can tell you it will definitley be worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ideal for beginners, 22 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Hold Your Colour (Audio CD)
like some reviewers, i have listened to dnb for aaaages since the moving shadow crew really kick started it what seemed to be (nearly!) decades ago. jungle since then has gone techno and some of its good; fresh, mampi swift, dillinja, calyx. pendulum have produced much better than this; vault, trail of sevens, voyager, and im gutted that these arent on here. terminal, through the loop, and another planet are the only highlights. this album is ideal for newcomers but look further if u are looking for more variety than happy hardcore techno.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait ?, 7 Sep 2005
This review is from: Hold Your Colour (Audio CD)
Mmmmm....Pendulum. Out of all of the dnb artists to come about in these last 2 most productive of years pendulum have been the ones to watch and other cliches. Voyager ( Another Planet flip ) is possibly one of the best tunes ever produced. Ever. But after how many remixes and "dancefloor" smashes they have an LP. Firstly I didn't buy the CD. Vinyl all the way. Secondly.... it's not that hot an album as DnB goes. Guys, forget the breaks stuff for starters. One trick pony is a phrase that springs to mind albeit a very good trick (like levitating or something). Giving it 3 stars for "through the loop" . I was gutted .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No children, run away!!!!!!, 16 Feb 2006
By 
Unkle Stu (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hold Your Colour (Audio CD)
Don't buy this! I own this album and i have for my sins seen pendulum live twice. is it me or does the pendulum style get very boring very quickly. it sounds like a throw back to "happy Hardcore" which i really dont like. i am all for progressive dnb, but please kids,t here are options!if you are looking for teckno buy this album but if progressive dnb is what you are after, look no further than Hospital records, london elek, nu:tone, high contrast take your pick.
buying this album will turn our underground dnb community into a brothel! how many of your mates who "hate" dnb liked slam? dnb isn't for the masses! it's for you and me, the select few who appreciate greatness. please boycott those ausie retards!
p.s buy ultra-obscene by breakbeat era, that record changed my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hold Your Colour
Hold Your Colour by Pendulum (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews