Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars66
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2014
It's the Simpsons. No more needed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
My grandson loves all the discs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2007
The classic years are over folks. But don't let that put you off buying this fab boxset, yet!

This is still when the Simpsons were a great T.V. show with consistently good episodes and the characters still had, well their character. Homer isn't the total selfish jerk of later seasons, Lisa is still considerate and not a selfish political motivated mini-horror and Bart still has his genius wit.

This season is a slight change from the previous seasons. The stories become a bit more zany, well quite a bit more zany and thus the founations for the massive drop in quality later on are placed. However, here the writing is still brilliant for much of the season. You can clearly tell it's not as perfect throughout as the previous 7 or 8 seasons but it's a massive step up from the seasons that come later and still retains the brilliant satire and quick wit that made the series one of the best ever.

A worthwhile purchase because it's still a mostly good season of a great comedy series. Sometime after this the quality of comedy and the quality of characterization gets into freefall. I'll consider the next couple of series to see where it all went wrong, but this might be the last Simpsons boxset I buy and it's still a very good purchase.
0Comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2007
I was - to put it mildly - delighted to receive this as a Christmas present, being a massive fan of the show. Even though I'd seen the episodes featured, they are so packed with jokes and layers of humour that you'll probably miss something the first time and notice it the next. The makers are absolute geniuses and they always deliver! Long Live The Simpsons, it'd be once and for all a dull world without it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2015
it adds to his collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
Great value came quick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
My son loved this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
classic simpsons
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2008
OK, every Simpson fan acknowledges that season 10 marks the beginning of the slip in Simpsons quality, a trend that the show has never recovered from. Let's just ignore the past greatness of the show for a second and just concentrate on season 10 by itself. Overall season 10 is a compilation of fun and very entertaining stories with great humor. This season is well worth a purchase, 23 episodes, all good and are getting every year I view them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 August 2007
Season 10 of The Simpsons continues the decline in the show's quality that started with season 9, and which continued for several seasons to come. Part of this was to do with the writing, which was no longer as consistently funny as it had been. Another reason is that, after 200 episodes, there are few storylines left that hadn't been done before. Therefore, this season includes stories in which Marge is disappointed in Bart and Homer; Homer behaves selfishly; Lisa's intelligence is questioned; Homer gets a string of inapproporiate jobs; Bart misbehaves; and the family cause chaos on a foreign holiday. Been there, watched that. Admittedly, there are few (if any) shows that last for ten years and don't repeat popular storylines, but most of the 'repeat' offenders (Cheers, Friends etc) bowed out before they became stale.

There is also a palpable move in focus towards the supporting characters, and we see spotlight episodes for characters including Apu, Mr. Burns, Chief Wiggum and Ned Flanders. For the most part, these episodes are so-so, but they tend to rely on characters behaving 'out of character'. This means that we get a drunken Ned Flanders marrying a cocktail waitress in 'Viva Ned Flanders', and Mr. Burns trying to be loved in 'Monty Can't Buy Me Love' (surely an episode title conceived before the story was itself). Another mainstay of The Simpsons, guest stars, is over-used this season. In one episode, 'When You Dish Upon A Star', the stars of the episode are Alec Baldwin, Kim Basinger and Ron Howard, and the Simpson family seem like hurried additions to the plot. Episodes featuring guest stars work when the 'star' has a supporting role, or cameo, not when they dominate the entire story!

Sadly, there is not one truly outstanding episode in this season of The Simpsons, and the only reason I've given this DVD set 3 stars is because of the quality of the DVD contents. There are the usual entertaining commentaries, deleted scenes and behind the scenes featurettes, as well as adverts featuring the characters, and a look at The Simpsons Movie DVD (although this feature is 'a rather shameless promotion'!) We also see the last appearance of the late, great Phil Hartman, voicing Troy McClure in 'Bart the Mother'. This is not enough, however, to convince me to buy this DVD, and I would advise you to pick up some of the earlier seasons on DVD, if you don't already own them.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)