Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Voice - a 'must have' album
This is truly an excellent album, with great song choices! Aled Jones' voice is warm, tender and rich. 'If' is hauntingly wonderful 'Halleljah' is uplifting in a relaxed manner and the duet with Cerys Matthews compliment each other and its the song you'l find yourself humming along to long after you've switched off the CD player. None of the songs are over produced or...
Published on 15 Oct 2007 by Clive Butler

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little older
Aled Jones is famous for being a boy soprano grown up, he is a nice singer but not exceptional. I quite liked this but wouldn't go overboard.
Published on 10 Mar 2009 by K. Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Voice - a 'must have' album, 15 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Reason to Believe (Audio CD)
This is truly an excellent album, with great song choices! Aled Jones' voice is warm, tender and rich. 'If' is hauntingly wonderful 'Halleljah' is uplifting in a relaxed manner and the duet with Cerys Matthews compliment each other and its the song you'l find yourself humming along to long after you've switched off the CD player. None of the songs are over produced or over sung, but each slightly different in tone and texture giving a great album to listen to time after time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular!!, 17 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Reason to Believe (Audio CD)
Another superb collection of Aled Jones' gift for music and probably his most brilliant adult album to date. The warmth and richness of his voice has developed to an even greater height than his previous wonderful albums, with every song reflecting the genuine passion he feels when he sings.

There's no randomness in his choices...Aled has chosen some incredible tracks that are full of emotion and a spirituality that have the essence of the more sacred music he's famous for, but this time in the uplifting qualities of more secular, but nonetheless inspiring music. Coupled with the magnificent backing of a string orchestra, there's great depth to the rich sound of this album.

Aled's very cruisey approach in 'Some Kind of Wonderful' which he duets with the talented Cerys Matthews is fantastic and showcases the great versatility in his style. He takes us on a journey through poignancy with 'No Frontiers', another duet, this time with the great voice of Gretchen Peters, into a touch of love with 'If' and the hauntingly beautiful tracks of 'Hallelujah', 'Angel' and 'The Rose'.

The richly spiritual tracks of 'Be Still My Soul' and 'All My Trials Lord' are supremely emotionally moving and a reminder of Aled's faith.

There are so many very special songs which highlight Aled's own reasons to believe in people as well as God, but 'Always There' is the one which captured my particular attention. It's the one which reflects the warmth and complete humility that epitomises Aled Jones...a genuine and unassuming man who just loves to sing. For those of us who enjoy his talent, we see it as a gift.
Reason To Believe is a triumph that will warm your soul as well as your heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catchy, 3 Dec 2007
This review is from: Reason to Believe (Audio CD)
The more I listen to this CD, the more I am enjoying it. I have never been a great fan of Aled Jones but it is good to actually be able to hear the words been sung which means I can then sing along!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reason to Believe -it will be as good if not better!, 9 Aug 2007
This review is from: Reason to Believe (Audio CD)
I can't wait for this album to be released in the shops/internet.

Another uplifting, inspiring and motivating album to listen to while I work. Well done Aled - the tempo sounds more up beat but it still retains his charm and appeal which when you see him live is magical - Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little older, 10 Mar 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reason to Believe (Audio CD)
Aled Jones is famous for being a boy soprano grown up, he is a nice singer but not exceptional. I quite liked this but wouldn't go overboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Aled's best!, 20 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Reason to Believe (Audio CD)
I was rather disappointed, there wasn't the clarity in his vioice, and I thought including Cerys Matthews a BIG mistake, she's terrible! One good thing with Aled is being able to hear every word, and as usual there is sincerity. I couldn't shake the feeling that his voice seemed to be showing signs of strain, was this caused by his apparently singing in a lower key?

He has such a strong personality, I hate having to be critical. I certainly don't endorse Susie's review, especially as I've listened to this CD several times now.

Betty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reason to Believe (Audio CD)
Fantastic songs and hymns to lift your spirits every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aled Jones Reason to Believe, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reason to Believe (Audio CD)
I have bought a few Aled Jones cds but I think this is my favourite because it is different to his usual stuff. His voice sounds very natural and clear and there is a few bouncy tracks to go along with the more slower ones. Great Album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely CD, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reason to Believe (Audio CD)
Never bought an Aled Jones CD before, just happened to hear him singing 'The Rose' on the radio, and thought what a beautiful version. Searched through his CD's for one with this track on, and bought it, and have not been disappointed. The whole CD is a real pleasure to listen to. Nice mixture of standard and religious songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reason to Believe, 21 Feb 2012
This review is from: Reason to Believe (Audio CD)
I have enjoyed and appreciated this choice of songs by Aled Jones. I know that his singing style has been criticised as being too influenced by his choral background. Even if that comment has some validity, you can hear all the words, and they are given meaning and beauty(old fashioned word, but true) by his excellent singing voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reason to Believe
Reason to Believe by Aled Jones (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews