Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As Good as it Gets
Ok first of all the new improvements : Actual golfer face can be your own, the game is now based on confidence which is logged and determines your accuracy thoughout the game, it doesnt reset either. More courses and better graphics and feel to the game, The tiger challenge has remained which is good and improved, this is the best way to get your stats up to the level...
Published on 31 Aug 2007 by groucho one

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As Eyery Year Some Changes & More Courses
Having played the 08 version now for a few days I would like to comment for the first time on a Tiger Woods release.

The graphics certainly have not improved from the last instalment but playing on a Full HD Philips TV the courses look very realistic. Some new courses have been added but I haven't had time to play all of those so far.

I am still...
Published on 11 Sep 2007 by E. Franken


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As Good as it Gets, 31 Aug 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ok first of all the new improvements : Actual golfer face can be your own, the game is now based on confidence which is logged and determines your accuracy thoughout the game, it doesnt reset either. More courses and better graphics and feel to the game, The tiger challenge has remained which is good and improved, this is the best way to get your stats up to the level needed for the tour, Theirs a mixture again of well known golfers and made up ones , a nice touch is you can play Tiger from rookie status and build him up to legend status, the only down side is the price, 40 to 45 pounds is very expensive, but longevity and variety is the games saviour, overall though this is the best golf sim you can buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Major freezing issues!, 13 Sep 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Tiger Woods 08 on the Xbox 360 has major freezing issues! EA Sports know about the problem and are releasing a patch it fix it. Of course if you don't have Xbox live who knows how it can be fixed? The Carnoustie Challenge and the Tiger Woods challenge both freeze, meaning you can't complete the game.
On the up side the ball physics seem to be spot on.
It's a disgrace that EA Sports have released a game that has not been thoroughly tested. If the game didn't have all these problems it would be a great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As Eyery Year Some Changes & More Courses, 11 Sep 2007
By 
E. Franken (Austria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having played the 08 version now for a few days I would like to comment for the first time on a Tiger Woods release.

The graphics certainly have not improved from the last instalment but playing on a Full HD Philips TV the courses look very realistic. Some new courses have been added but I haven't had time to play all of those so far.

I am still missing the fantasy courses included in the old Xbox versions. They were so different and at times difficult to play. With all the online content why is it not possible to download additional courses or include them directly? Everything spins around the new FedEx Cup.

The Photo Game Face idea seems pretty good on the video demos but so far I have not been able to upload any photos. I always receive error messages or I cannot get onto the necessary web pages at all.

The game play is more or less the same. The introduction of draw and fade settings before the shot makes going around doglegs and approaching difficult pin positions easier, if you get it right.

Putting, in my opinion, is now more difficult. You now can only view the ideal line ones and as a result I have not reached my low scores from previous versions. Luckily I have so far not experienced the annoying problem of the ball stopping on the lip of the cup on so many occasions as it was the problem with the 07 version.

I am very disappointed that the only way I can play with my wife or friends is a round of stroke or match play. The 03 and 04 versions made it possible to play the whole PGA seasons with (guest) players which was a far better overall experience.

With this feature sadly still missing I cannot give it more than 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new year a new game, oh wait its not 08 yet, 9 Sep 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ah tiger woods a solid game, new courses, actual picture face in game thats nice but is it me or are the graphics a lot rougher with this release, that new swing system seems to be hashed in from the ye olde fifa penatly kick system (i dont think it even made it into the later ones). More anaoying comantators, hes a brilliant example,
"Its going into the trees" - A shot i had just hit across a lake and landed on the bank.

Overall a quality game with some nice live content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gmae, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
great game. Very good price and promt service. Just what i wanted. No hasstles or worries with this product, you must buy,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing but still fun, 22 Dec 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have experienced many versions of this game but this one seems to be the least satisfying. The user interface seems complex and the process of creating your own career makes it difficult to get into the game to start with.
Graphics are noticeably better than the 07 game but the team challenge has gone. The controller gives very little feel of a golf club and it is difficult to gauge why shots which you've aimed to hook are soaring away perfectly.

It still has many of the addictive qualities of older versions but the voices of the commentators are now becoming a bit tiresome- why not a few new ones?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant experience, 23 Jun 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is more enjoyable if playing with friends because the realism of the game makes for fantastic friendly competition, great for a lads night in. The graphics are superb, lovely and bright and pretty much flawless. The controls are very straight forward and easy to use and the gameplay is intelligent and sophisticated. There are tonnes of different real life golf courses and you don't need to be a keen golfer to enjoy this game, it is enjoyable in its own right...

There are loads of different game modes, from skins (which I prefer) to the Tiger Woods Pro Challenge, you can also develope your own golfer in career mode making your golfer look any which way you want and this has got to be the best I have seen on a game, from making your golfer old and wrinkly to adding scars and age spots...really good, especially when making your golfer look like you (only a bit better looking) or like one of your mates, (and allot worse looking)...

A very well put together game and very enjoyable, well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars How lazy are EA?, 5 Nov 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
There are a few contenders out there but lets face it, EA have got hold of a very large slice of the markeplace with their Tiger series. It's a sold game with a good range of all the usual shots and club selections, and the tiger challenge provides a well judged learing curve. This is the umpteenth iteration of the Tiger golf 'sim' and EA seem to know they will sell shed loads without putting in too much effort. Graphics are not the number 1 concern to me but the rendering of the scenery and crowds in 2007 is apalling, something you would expect to find on a PS1 not even a ps2 or xbox, and im looking at the 360 version here (i've checked out the ps3 and they are just as rubbish). Also I don't expect the crowd to show a level of AI found in something like Halo 3, but if i'm trying to make a pitch shot and have to play through a crowd then for goodness sake GET THE CROWD OUT OF MY SHOT LINE, you don't find the spectators at the open being allowed to stand between you and the green. it sounds like a small matter but in a competition of 18 holes where there are NO save points it can ruin a whole round, forcing you to take shots in order to get around the damn spectators.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Frustratingly Inconsistent, 22 Oct 2007
By 
Blakey (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game provides exactly what we've come to expect from the TW franchise, it's clear that there are some new features and some extras but overall it's not vastly different from any of the older games.

One of the best new features is EA's gameface, which allows you to upload photo's via the EA website and automatically create your own player. This is actually pretty cool, and the character you create will actually look just like you, although it can be a bit frustrating trying to get the EA website to recognise your gamertag (you need to use the game on xbox live before you try to create your profile).

The game itself plays pretty well, although one of the major flaws is the inconsistency between shots. You can play exactly (and I mean exactly) the same shot twice and get totally different results. This is the first TW I've owned on the xbox (having had a PS2 until recently), so maybe it's just the nuances of the xbox controller, but the swing accuracy seems to be a lot more unforgiving than on previous games. Personally I miss the 'caddy tips' that you used to get for putting on the earlier games, you would think they would at least give you the option of turning this on. Final critisicm would be the loading/saving times, especially with the autosave turned on, virtually everything seems to require waiting/saving/loading which drives you up the wall when you've just screwed up your first shot of a challenge and are trying to restart, this is pretty typical for EA though.

One other word of warning, be prepared to return this game to EA (or wherever you bought it) for exchange after a week or two. This seems to be one of the games suffering from the seemingly terminal 'unreadable disc' error which is afflicting a lot of new 360 releases.

There are a good selection of golfers to play against, and a good selection of courses. The way you grow your skills by training and playing well rather than by just winning and spending points is good as it forces you to concentrate on improving where you're weak rather than just buying your way out of trouble, the extra kit available to modify your player and his/her attributes is also pretty extensive.

All in all this a quality game, if you're a fan of TW games you won't be disappointed, but if you're the type of guy who throws his controller at the TV when it all gets too much then you might want to invest in a safety net too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Why do I like this game again?, 27 Sep 2007
By 
Simon Bailey "bail" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ok, I hate golf and I have never played a golf game before it fact I have no idea why I brought this. However, I am glad I did. It is remarkably good and very addictive, but I have no idea why. Give it a go you will surprised I know I was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08 (Xbox 360)
Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08 (Xbox 360) by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews