Shop now Shop Now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars46
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 18 December 2008
This is premium Simpsons merchandise. Matt Groening has never put his name to a non-broadcast product anywhere near this good, and he's endorsed more products than there are grains of sand in the biggest sandy desert in the known universe (and that's including Dune the sand planet)!

The humour is generally top notch, good story with loads of references to the Simpsons cartoon and computer games in general. I preferred it to the Simpsons movie in terms of story and there are a comparable number of laughs in each (as far as I remember). The land of chocolate intro alone makes the game at least worth renting.

Although short for a computer game, it's more than long enough for me. I loved the GTA parody among others and although comedy is the most enjoyable thing about the game, the gameplay itself is pretty good in its own right.

(I ought to say I haven't played any platformers this century, so perhaps the gameplay's rubbish when compared to other games of its ilk. I have played GTA4 though so it's not like I'm a complete dinosaur!)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 20 October 2013
The Simpsons Game is a really nice game.I love all the awesome references to the show,the great locations and some of the levels are actually really nicely designed.The plot revolves around the Simpsons rising against the video game industry and fighting aliens.This opens the door for many game references and video game cliches [I love the cliches].You can play as all the Simpsons'
family members,even Maggie.Each character has his own special skills and moves;Homer can turn into a ball,Bart can turn into Bartman,a superhero,Lisa can move things with her mind and Marge can command people to do whatever she wants and send Maggie through vents to solve puzzles.The overworld is the town of Springfield,where 75 collectibles for each character are hidden throughout.These colllectables can also be found at all the levels.Once you collect the designated amount of them ,you'll get a special price.Some of my favorite levels are Big Super Happy Fun Fun Game,with its creative locations,Land Of Chocolate,with its clever use of candy, and Five Characters In Search Of An Author,with a great boss battle against the Simpsons' creator,Matt Groening.There are several flaws [ex. the graphics are lame] but the biggest and most noticeable is the final boss with God himself.It's a lame and frustrating rip-off of Dance Dance Revolution.But it's a great game overall.If you're a big Simpsons' fan,you really should buy this game .You won't be disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 2 February 2009
This is a nice are very nice especially for a far a a cartoon can be brought to a game, that's always a difficult task for the game studios. Well they did an excellent job, as far as possible on todays gaming consoles. The game is fun and includes a LOAD of the TV series characters. Seeing as were the Simpsons come from (remember 'Bart vs. the space mutants on NES) this progression is outstanding. The humor which the TV series hold is fun....this is nicely worked in in the game....also the cut scenes are very nicely done as well...instead of the computerized cut-scenes (simpsons road rage, Simpsons hit 'n run) they now use real cut scenes like the series...which is very nice to re-create the simpsons 'feel'.
Sometimes the gameplay is a hassle (camera a lot of third person games), but it's forgivable. The game holds a lot of fun, nice extras, gameplay is good, you can have hours of fun (just walk through the missions or collect every possible item).
As a simpsons fan I'd have to say 'best Simpsons game ever'...although that isn't difficult seeing the EA legacy of simpsons games thus far...but it's fun, entertaining and nicely done.....7,5/10
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 10 June 2013
I enjoyed this game so much but mine was on PS2 i'm so retro J/K. It's an amazing game I never got around to getting it on xbox. It's typical of the simpsons sort of being a sarcastic take on video games in general! There are mini missions and bout 12/13 levels. There is even a sims reference in there which (as an obsessed sims fan) is my favourite level.
There are two levels that are timed. You will have played as all the characters when you've finished the game. When you're done the fun isn't over, you can now go back and beat your time records, you can collect different pick ups on all the levels depending what your character eg. Homer collects duff caps. the animation is drawn which I felt looked better than hit and run which was video game animation... just me?
The clever part is that you get two characters on some parts of levels and you'll have to switch between them to do certain tasks. Bart may use his slingshot while lisa can stun people with her Jazz power!
Well I highly recommend the game its awesome and you can play with another person too.
Like the sound of it? I do I want to dig out my old ps2 now!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 6 November 2007
I rented this game from blockbusters just to ry it out and I must say the game is brilliant! The graphics are awesome, at time you can't tell the difference between the FMVs and the actually game itself. The game plays as a team one so you can control two the simpsons at any one time, then all have indivual powers and are so useful and needed for specific tasks within the game. There are loads and loads of rip offs of other games and films that are subtely done including, star wars, terminator, everquest, mdal of honor, grand theft auto. You can also walk around springfield itself going into loads of different places like moes, kwik-e-mart, simpsons house amd many more. This is a really good game but no real lastablility for me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 12 July 2012
I was thinking of buying this game back in 2007 but all the bad reviews made my thorts die.So my birthday comes up in 2012 and i thourght i should finally try it. I was amazed on how good it was,sure its not as good as hit and run but it is still a solid, funny, polished game. I am very pleased that i bought it and dont make the bad reviews make your opinion change. I will give this game a 10/10 its an Ea masterpiece!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 13 May 2011
I played this game in co-op and if you like the Simpsons characters and stories, it is really, really tremendous fun!
As mentioned in other reviews: the production is top notch: original stories, voices, a lot of humor. Of course, do not expect a Halo-environment - this is a cartoon after all!

If they would make a sequel I would not hesitate to buy it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 25 September 2010
My son wanted the game so I got it for the best price on Amazon. The game arrived as new and my son loves it. Having watched him play it I can say that the game is typical Simpsons. It's off the wall humour and pokes fun at the video game genre. All in all well worth the money and the kids are happy. Doh!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on 4 November 2007
Like many Simpsons fans out there, I was hoping that this would be the title to turn it around for America's favorite animated family in the video game arena. With two-player co-op and a focus on the humor that has made the show a primetime staple since 1989, The Simpsons Game has everything a fan could want...but not everything it needs to be a fun, interesting game.

The biggest problem is illustrated through one of the game's funniest features: the cliché. As you jump and punch your way through each mission, you will encounter hackneyed video game traditions like giant saw blades and pressure pads. Then the Comic Book Guy pops up and calls attention to the blatant unoriginality of these devices ("Ah, the crate. As seen in everything."). While this almost always gets a laugh, pointing out clichés doesn't make them any more fun to play.

The development team clearly knew that basic switch puzzles and time trials are tiresome, yet the player is forced to endure them. Even though the goals themselves are sometimes funny, the generic combat and platforming rarely make them fun to complete. There are also dozens of stupid collectibles like coupons and bottlecaps scattered throughout the world. Trust me, they are not worth picking up.

I know that I'm not making the game sound great - it isn't - but the important distinction here is unlike most mediocre platformers, you are actually rewarded for bullying through the levels. The comedy is so pervasive and well done that it still makes you want to keep going just to hear a good one-liner or see the next hilarious parody. This is the first licensed game I've seen that captures the essence of its source material so well; it sometimes feels like you are playing an episode of the show (albeit with poor cinematography).

For all of its self-referential humour and nods to gaming classics (there are brief segments mimicking the likes of Frogger, Missle Command, Space Invaders, and Wolfenstein 3D), the process of actually playing The Simpsons Game is unfortunately average. The chuckles along the way make it worth the trouble for fans, but unless you're the most ardent Simpson's fan then of the game's redeeming elements will fall on deaf, bored ears.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 3 November 2007
This has all the traits of the simpsons from genuine voice actors to cartoon graphics and unique comedy. A fun if not taxing game, you will complete this quite quickly, but will have fun doing so!

Camera angles can be awkward at times but this doesn't detract from overall game play which sees you playing through different "epsodes" of simpsons playing as all your favourite characters with a range of special moves to both attack and reach different areas of the game.

throughout the game are hidden tokens from krusty tokens to duff beer caps to be collected as you pass through the different levels.

A good easy to play over the top FUN! game, don't expect anything different. A must play (possibly rent though!) for all fans of the simpsons!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions

Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Simpsons Road Rage
Simpsons Road Rage by Electronic Arts (Xbox)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.