Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a game by skaters for skaters
Don't get me wrong, I've always loved the Tony Hawk's games but they now seem average because I play Skate. As someone who skates, this is the most realistic skating game I've ever played. Tony Hawk's games are fun but their lack of realism means they are not pure skating games. Skate on the other hand is different. It's difficult and you can't always do tricks like 360...
Published on 31 July 2008 by Mr. S. R. Moxon

versus
2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overhyped and out of control
The control system for this game makes absolutely no sense. Half the time it doesn't perform the 'flickit' tricks anyway. After a couple of the most infuriating hours of my life trying to get to grips with this control system I have given up.

I'm sure some of the other features are great but i'm not going to get to use these because the control system is...
Published on 27 Aug. 2008 by Mr. Aj Paterson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a game by skaters for skaters, 31 July 2008
By 
Mr. S. R. Moxon "crouch1212" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Skate (PS3) (Video Game)
Don't get me wrong, I've always loved the Tony Hawk's games but they now seem average because I play Skate. As someone who skates, this is the most realistic skating game I've ever played. Tony Hawk's games are fun but their lack of realism means they are not pure skating games. Skate on the other hand is different. It's difficult and you can't always do tricks like 360 flips. The flick it system means you have to get it right to do a trick and the game itself is just completely addictive. This is certainly the best skatebaoarding game ever made and I would call it one of the best games I've ever played. If you skate or ever have done you must own this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best skateboarding game ever !, 8 Nov. 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Skate (PS3) (Video Game)
Button mashing is over. Skate has completely reinvented skateboarding games by the use of the flickit control system. On tony hawks you would think nothing of trying to leap a gap or grind a rail, but on skate you have to line yourself perfectly then flick the right analogue stick quickly to gain height to ollie and turn your body in the direction to grind down it. This makes the game feel more realistic and add new ways of doing tricks. Instead of going from place to place you have the whole huge city of san vanelona to explore with plenty of areas to skate on which adds to more freedom.

You have to start off by doing skateboarding films to get coverage in the local skate mag.You then get asked to skate 4 thrasher which gives you money and sponsership to getting better skateboards, wheels and clothing and eventually leads you to face the pros in the x-games. There are also pro challenges you can do which you can unlock there character,clothing,video and extra money if u beat them. Each mission gives you money so you should never be short of cash. There are a variety of objectives such as photo coverage, filming, skateboarding races and playing a game of skate which gets u to take it in turns against a pro to beat them at tricks.

Online is also a plus as you can play against up to 4 people at once in a spot battle, jam, skate,and own the spot. you can also choose to play ranked events which earn you points to increase your rank out of all the other skaters around the world, and unranked matches which offer a no pressure against anyone event.

Also on career mode you can edit films that u have made and pictures taken of you skateing. Then you can put them online for other people to view and rate because without footage its fiction. If you have friends to play with you can play with them at a game of freeskate online which lets you muck about in a small area in the city.
Luckily this game just isnt online to play against people, you can also play against 2-4 friends in party play where u can choose either to play a spot battle or skate.

Disadvantages ? Hardly anything, only that the career mode is too short and easy, there are only 2 difficult pro challenges throughout the whole game and you dont have to do them if u dont want 2. There is one with paul rodriguez and the other with black where you have to avoid hitting him and grinding a bench while doing an fs crooked grind at the same time. If you play this game on a regular basis such as 2-3 hours a day you will be able to complete it in a week at most. But theres always online to keep you busy and occupied if youre trying to become the best skater in the world.
This game is so much better than Tony hawks proving ground and every other skateboarding game out there.

Elliot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So addictive!!!, 18 Oct. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Skate (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is awesome!

Unlike the previous reviewers, I have no personal experience of skating, so don't think its only a game for people who skate!

I downloaded the demo, and that was so addictive that even after promising myself I would not buy any games until PES2008 came out, I just had to buy this. I put it on last night, and literlly could not turn it off.

So much better than Tony Hawks, and really brings across the vibe of real skate videos. The way the game is structured, like getting sponsored, trying to get photos of your tricks in magazines, entering trick contests etc is very cool and there is just so much stuff to do.

Its a bit like grand Theft Auto in the respect that you're on a huge map, and have the freedom of the city, and travel round looking for chalenges etc. Its also like GTA in the respect that regardless of the challenges, you can easily just put this game on and mess about and go for a free skate, and its still very enjoyable and moreish.

The way the tricks work means they are not easy to perform like on Tony Hawks, and that makes pulling them off that bit more satisfying.

So even if you got bored with the stale Tony Hawks series, DON'T think that this is in the same mould and "just another skating game"....you will be pleasantly suprised!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Redefined., 25 Sept. 2007
By 
L. Otto (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Skate (PS3) (Video Game)
I could write this review for two groups of people; the Tony Hawks generation, or completely new players to the skateboarding franchise.

Firstly, this game is completely different from any Tony Hawks game. The control method is no longer a button-bashing-combo-scoring medley, Skate has definitely taken things a step or two back down to reality. Skate is definitely the closest I have ever been to skating on a console. Coming from an ex-skater, this is a big feat! I like how physics has developed in games, and Skate has just about nailed the 'reality-engine'. The control system in Skate utilises dual analogue sticks (the left controls your body, and the right controls your board) this takes some getting used to, but after a while you ask yourself 'why hasn't it always been like this?'

When talking about the 'reality' aspect of skating games, Tony Hawks has always been more of an entertainment package, with challenges such as grinding down a rollercoaster track faster than the speeding rollercoaster behind you, and elements like that. Skate doesn't have these things, instead the makers have decided to focus on a gameplay method closer to the real thing. In essence, your capabilities are limited to that of your imagination. You have an entire city at your disposale. What could a real-life skater do in a city? Try it in skate.

If you're new to skating games on consoles, you don't need to play any Tony Hawks games, as they are pretty much old-hat now with the only thing changing between them being the graphics level. Skate is a new experience, it's pretty difficult as the learning curve is steep (steeper for those familiar to the Tony Hawks lineup) but once you nail a tight line on a spot you've just discovered, it makes it all worthwhile.

In conclusion, Skate has redefined skating games. I think the people at Tony Hawks are scratching their heads at the moment (don't get me wrong, I like the Tony Hawks series) and wondering how they're going to improve now. This game is totally fun, addictive and I would recommend it to absolutely everyone regardless of what kind of game they play, I can just about guarantee they'll like Skate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you expect for a Top Game., 18 Dec. 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Skate (PS3) (Video Game)
Firstly.. you don't have to be a skater.. or young.. or hip.. to enjoy this game. I skated a bit but didn't take it too seriously.
I enjoyed the early Tony Hawks skating games..
They got too diluted when they tried to do new things though.
I wanted a skating game because TH3 on PS2 was so much fun back then.
I was tied between whether to get Skate or THPG.
I opted to get Skate, I got it free with my ps3 and not on Amazon FYI.
Lemme tell you, i've got the TH demo and it's pants, i'm so glad I chose this!
It's fresh.. it doesn't have all the trendyness of TH.. it's all about fun and not about being cool.
From the intro video to the game you can tell they've put in the effort and it's worth the money.
Once you're about an hour into the game you can tell that the physics are awesome, the graphics beautiful.. [check out the floor textures].. and the gameplay is satisfying..
It's not a matter of pressing X to ollie, you have to do it yourself with the analog stick, making it all the more personal. It's all like that, giving you so much more satisfaction for simply grinding a bench.
There's lots of tasks and missions of varying difficulty, and they pay off, as you can afford more stuff and you gain popularity and rise to a pro.
I played it 2 days running this weekend.. it's rare a game keeps me that involved these days. I'm not sure how long it lasts, but i'm sure i'm only a third the way through.
I haven't even tried 2 player yet, or online.
The in-game characters are funny and likeable. With lots of funny commentary and voiceovers.
Basically this game has impressed me highly. And I would recommend it for any gamer. You won't be wasting your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for XBOX360 and PS3 owners, 30 April 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Skate (PS3) (Video Game)
This is one of the best games on the PS3. The realism and challenges are the best i've ever scene. It opens up this sport to people who are into and are not into skateboarding alike. The freedom of movement, no rules, refrees, pressure. The ability to define what, where and when you do it realy does catch the spirit of skateboarding...

EA Skate has redefined this genre. I tried the Tony Hawk games after i completed this, and they were awful in comparison. EA conrol mechanism is the key to realsim, and hopefully they will release more titles like a BMX version or extenstions to Skate. They will sell by the bucket load.

The game has huge lastability to. I completed the game within 2-3 months, but once you get that good you can play against other friends in online mode. I practically play most evenings. It was in fact the the only reason i brought the PS3.

The only game i think that's got the same feel as this (but with guns instead of skateboards) is GTA IV. Rockstar had 2 attempts at that before it really broke the mode. Electronic Arts did it in one hit!!! I don't say that lightly but EA Skate really is the BEST game of the last 9 months or so.

Buy it now. You'll be kicking yourself u didn't get it sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skate - Online, 29 Jan. 2008
By 
N. Jones "sly but silky" (Loughborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Skate (PS3) (Video Game)
Skate is a much needed and fresh change to Tony Hawks which although was and is a very good series, it is not a skateboarding game in the same sense as Skate.

Im going to focus on the multiplayer aspect of the game. Once you have learnt the basics and are up to scratch the amount of fun you can have online is silly. All the game modes are fun so the 'play now' feature is great as it bypasses one of 2 major annoyancies - how hard it is to find anyone to play against! Play now will usually put you with 3-4 others but selecting a game mode manually often leaves you in the lobby waiting for some1 to play with. I dont know why this is but its annoying, especially when you just want to annialate. The spot race in my opinion has to be one of the best online modes testing every aspect of a player - only once found an opponent and they dropped out.

Second down side is the lagging, very annoying and seems to happen a lot but at least the game goes in slow motion rather than freezing as this can make a stylish trick look even more swish!

any1 dares to challange the master send the silkmaster an invite - silky_fox66 - you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought from Amazon UK! American game?, 20 Dec. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skate (PS3) (Video Game)
Hi,
I bought this game because it was given really good reviews. I gave this review a 4 star, this wasn't because of the game because the game is absolutely brilliant, it was the company I was annoyed with. On the picture it is a 'PAL' game as I got the american typed game 'NTSC' Although for some reason it works? I thought the picture was misleading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This game rocks!, 27 Nov. 2007
By 
D. Postill ""Geek Gaming God"" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Skate (PS3) (Video Game)
Have to agree with everyone here. This is EASILY the best skateboarding game out bar none.

The controls do take a bit of getting used to if you're used to button bashing on the Tony Hawks series, but within an hour i was used to it and popping kickflip to 50-50 grinds down stair rails. It feels SO natural.

It does, however, have a few minor flaws.

The camera angle. Sometimes you cannot see where you're going because the camera is so low, and so close to your skater. Theres no way to change this.

Lag/Gameplay slow down. Every now and again the game will get a little slow. No idea why but it usually sorts it's self out after a few seconds.

Career mode. Career mode is a little difficult due to the flickit system, some tricks are hard to pull off, meaning you have to try the same challenge over and over and over. Feels good when you finally do nail it though.

Other then that, this is THE best skating game i've ever played. 5 out of 5 from me.

Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best game on 360!, 25 April 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Skate (PS3) (Video Game)
I've always loved the Tony Hawk games, and i've been an on-off skater for about 8 years now. I always felt the Tony Hawks games were fun, but not quite all there. Skate is so much fun, you can practice a trick in skate, then go outside and try it yourself! Skate made me take skateboarding up again, and ok... I still suck, but the thought was there!

If you ask me, you cant go wrong with skate, its really good fun online, with some good xbox achievement thingys to keep you going once the single player is completed. You get to make your own character, and mine looks just like me! You also get sponcerd by firms such as FLIP, Enjoi and DC's. Something i've always dreamed of!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Skate (PS3)
Skate (PS3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
£14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews