Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Random... but in a good way
The Simpsons game is, admitidly, not as good as hit and run, the predeccesor to this game. However, it offers a wide variety of game play, ranging from ww2, to a world devoted to video games. The powers of the charicters are great, especially Homers. Although it does not let you roam free like hit and run, it makes up for this with an intresting storyline and extra...
Published on 2 Mar 2008 by Mr. S. Noel

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious and frustrating
I purchased this game over 3 months ago in time which it has not been played more than three times. Noticeably poor graphics make the game and controlling the characters clumsy and somewhat annoying whilst some aspects of the poorly designed levels are beyond frustrating and too confusing to want me to finish the game. Granted I might be somewhat above the target audience...
Published on 28 Dec 2010 by Flindell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Random... but in a good way, 2 Mar 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Simpsons Game (PS2) (Video Game)
The Simpsons game is, admitidly, not as good as hit and run, the predeccesor to this game. However, it offers a wide variety of game play, ranging from ww2, to a world devoted to video games. The powers of the charicters are great, especially Homers. Although it does not let you roam free like hit and run, it makes up for this with an intresting storyline and extra footage. I would reccomend this game for anyone who likes the simpsons, and wants to play somthing new. Although I got this on my 14th bday in august, I still havn't completed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT GAME! but....., 27 Dec 2007
By 
Jecmkelly - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Simpsons Game (PS2) (Video Game)
I recieved my copy of the simpsons game for christmas and was very excited about playing it. HAving previously played it on the XBOX 360 or some other console in Virgin, I was looking forward to completing the levels and then runing around springfield creating havoc etc. But, I was then very dissapointed to read that this would not be happening becasue you CANNOT RUN AROUND SPRINGFIELD ON PS2 VERSION.
However, apart from this minor setback, the game is very fun and interesting. There are lots of funny lines and some very funny meetings with game creators.
Multiplayer is also very fun and is easy to access. To get multiplayer you have to simply load up a level and then press start on the second controller.
I think that this game has a lot of potential if people would just give it a chance. I admit that the camera does sometimes get tricky but I got used to it very quickly and now find the game very entertaining.
I would definitly reccomend this game as it will have you laughing all day. The levels are all very fun and I especially liked Medal of Homer part two and Grand theft scratchy. Although I was hoping for the open-ended springfield I am content with playing the levels in multiplayer and watching all the movies. So, overall, if you get bored with games easily, I would not reccomend this although while you are playing the levels it would still be fun. On the other hand if you are content with levels and co-op then BUY THIS GAME!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hasn't Got The Spark, 27 Mar 2008
By 
C. A. Mead - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Simpsons Game (PS2) (Video Game)
i am a child of 12 and i have just bought this game yesterday
this is an excellent game with wierd yet fascinating graphics and characters
although i love this game, it just dosen't give the spark to every game players heart, this just dosen't go the extra mile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious and frustrating, 28 Dec 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Simpsons Game (PS2) (Video Game)
I purchased this game over 3 months ago in time which it has not been played more than three times. Noticeably poor graphics make the game and controlling the characters clumsy and somewhat annoying whilst some aspects of the poorly designed levels are beyond frustrating and too confusing to want me to finish the game. Granted I might be somewhat above the target audience but this is not a game teenagers would like (this would have been more appropriate for an audience of around 8 years of age). Hit and Run is far more entertaining and enjoyable and I am therefore disappointed in this game which in my opinion has taken a few steps back. A few one liners and questionable 'entertaining' content was not enough to win me over in overall frustrating game. Linear levels, basic controls and confusing levels, not fun in my opinion until the price decreases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 6 April 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Simpsons Game (PS2) (Video Game)
This game got me hooked for months, it took a reasnoble 12 hours to complete but because I had so much fun I played it over again and again. I would recomend this to simpsons' fans or just people who are bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy!, 18 Oct 2009
By 
Ad Keogh "surfer" (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Simpsons Game (PS2) (Video Game)
Very pleased with this purchase. Had one before but misplaced, hence the purchase. Excellent condition, woill buy form this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last a Simpsons game worth having., 28 May 2009
By 
Dragonlord (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Simpsons Game (PS2) (Video Game)
This has to be the funniest game I've played since Psychonauts which deserved more success. It takes the micky out many great PS2 games Simpsons style and has a lot of funny refernences. There are many great ideas and different types of gameplay in this platform romp. Most of which you would have seen before and it's fairly easy, but not insulting easy like many cartoon tie-ins are. The voice acting is the cast of the show and the graphics go well with the movie scenes which are of the same standard as the movie. If you like the Simpsons you should enjoy this game unless you hate platform games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars oh the irony..., 11 Feb 2008
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons Game (PS2) (Video Game)
The irony is this game is rated 12+ yet I wouldn't recommend it to anyone over 12 years old. I hate this game and I wish I'd never bought it.

Biggest annoyances:
any game levels with Lisa in them (boring!)
repetitive annoying game play
characters saying the same things over and OVER
poor humour

Good bits:
Homer (any bits with Homer) and fighting Bender(s) and Bart's gliding ability (upgraded).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fun to be had if you perservere, 4 Nov 2007
By 
Gary Hilton "ursinebrute" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Simpsons Game (PS2) (Video Game)
Like many Simpsons fans out there, I was hoping that this would be the title to turn it around for America's favorite animated family in the video game arena. With two-player co-op and a focus on the humor that has made the show a primetime staple since 1989, The Simpsons Game has everything a fan could want...but not everything it needs to be a fun, interesting game.

The biggest problem is illustrated through one of the game's funniest features: the cliché. As you jump and punch your way through each mission, you will encounter hackneyed video game traditions like giant saw blades and pressure pads. Then the Comic Book Guy pops up and calls attention to the blatant unoriginality of these devices ("Ah, the crate. As seen in everything."). While this almost always gets a laugh, pointing out clichés doesn't make them any more fun to play.

The development team clearly knew that basic switch puzzles and time trials are tiresome, yet the player is forced to endure them. Even though the goals themselves are sometimes funny, the generic combat and platforming rarely make them fun to complete. There are also dozens of stupid collectibles like coupons and bottlecaps scattered throughout the world. Trust me, they are not worth picking up.

I know that I'm not making the game sound great - it isn't - but the important distinction here is unlike most mediocre platformers, you are actually rewarded for bullying through the levels. The comedy is so pervasive and well done that it still makes you want to keep going just to hear a good one-liner or see the next hilarious parody. This is the first licensed game I've seen that captures the essence of its source material so well; it sometimes feels like you are playing an episode of the show (albeit with poor cinematography).

For all of its self-referential humour and nods to gaming classics (there are brief segments mimicking the likes of Frogger, Missle Command, Space Invaders, and Wolfenstein 3D), the process of actually playing The Simpsons Game is unfortunately average. The chuckles along the way make it worth the trouble for fans, but unless you're the most ardent Simpson's fan then of the game's redeeming elements will fall on deaf, bored ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons Game (PS2) (Video Game)
Brilliant a1 service, product as described would recommend to friends, my son is over the moon with the product x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Simpsons Game (PS2)
The Simpsons Game (PS2) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation2)
12.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews