Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poor conversion, but a classic nonetheless. And amazing value.
Incredible value for money. Half Life 2 is one of the best shooters ever made, this package also includes Episodes 1 & 2, along with puzzler Portal and online shooter Team Fortress 2.

For someone who has never played Half Life 2, this is an essential purchase. Even on a repeat play its still gripping and lots of fun.
Half Life games have a tradition of...
Published on 16 Mar. 2008 by Stevie G

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars games with some promise, but a lot of flaws
Just got this on monday,
I've given a playthrough to all games on the disc.
specs:

favourite single player game on the disc: Half Life 2
I've never played it before and had some interesting chapters

Least Single player game on the disc: HL2episode 2
what I didn't like:
-lack of a map (as far as I know) I'm not sure why a man...
Published on 19 Oct. 2012 by Zinzi Cambran


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK OK OK, 17 Nov. 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Half-Life 2: The Orange Box (PS3) (Video Game)
I thought this game would be good and it is but... not really my thing, sure its great value for money with 5 separate features at a great price but the puzzle solving and the long complex ghoulish levels are a pain and very annoying at times. The game play i will say however is very entertaining and is darn good fun but can be repetitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half-Life 2: The Orange Box (PS3) (Video Game)
THANKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half-Life 2: The Orange Box (PS3) (Video Game)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half-Life 2: The Orange Box (PS3) (Video Game)
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Portal=wow! HL=Boo!, 4 July 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half-Life 2: The Orange Box (PS3) (Video Game)
Let me preface this by saying I bought this on the back of reviews & word of mouth. Now I may be in the minority here but I didn't like the Half Life parts of the game. They came across as dated and I wasn't really sold on the story. So forgive me but it just wasn't my thing. As for Team Fortress....well I never ever got to play it. It always crashed or there were problems with the servers.

Okay so reading that first part you'd be thinking what's with the rating...PORTAL!!! Boss game, really short but I loved it. Great puzzle game with some serious innovation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quantity over Quality, 26 Jan. 2008
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Half-Life 2: The Orange Box (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a good value pack of 5 games (unless, like me you don't go on line and then its 4 games) - Fortress is unplayable off line.

The Half life 2 games are a pretty poor affair of very sparse levels, poorly animated people and clumpy graphics. A good story does hold it all together but it is just a port after all and its not as good as every one makes out.

Portal is unsual, very imaginative and cleverly thought out with clever level design and a fairly amusing computer helping you along the way, but again the graphics are clumpy and definatly not next gen.

The worst thing about this whole package of games is the shocking loading times (when you first put in the game, at the menu screen, after you have changed options, after you have selected a game, in between sections, between every level!) everything takes ages to load and happens so often it kills any real pace or excitement from the game.

I thought I would be able to play this in quick bursts of 5 mins - but you can't it takes about 5 mins just to start a saved game.

My first PS3 game was Uncharted: Drakes Fortune and when you compare the graphics and sound of that to this, you begin to see why there are 5 games on this disc for £40.

If your a fan of Half life and want an original game (portal) buy this, but if you want a next generation game with excellent graphics and sound - steer clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor conversion, 8 Dec. 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half-Life 2: The Orange Box (PS3) (Video Game)
Sadly, it has already been reported by both 1Up and Gamespot that the PS3 version of Orange Box suffers from framerate issues.

I actually bought an Xbox 360 recently, just to play this game, as the PS3 version's release date kept being pushed back. The Xbox 360 version is excellent, but the console itself is incredibly noisy compared to my PS3. I was intending to trade my Xbox 360 copy for a PS3 copy, but if I'm going to be trading a bit of DVD drive noise (that you soon forget about) for a lousy framerate, I don't think I'll bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Orange Box, 15 Dec. 2008
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Half-Life 2: The Orange Box (PS3) (Video Game)
Very disappointed. Was expecting action and excitment, all the games seems seem to have linear plots, after wandering around for a bit I looked on line about what to do next, as expected linear sequence of actions to progress the game. Perhaps the game gets exciting but life is just to short to spend my time wandering around aimlessly trying to guess THE plot. This ones going on ebay :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Bother, 12 Mar. 2008
By 
M. Protheroe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Half-Life 2: The Orange Box (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this when it just came out expecting to be amazed. However, the gameplay is old hat, graphics are PS2 quality and 5 bad games for the price of 1 isn't a good idea. You just wander around aimlessly for ages in this game waiting for something exciting to happen, which it never does! I recommend COD4 or Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. Either one easily makes up for what seems to be a stupid amount of disappointing games being churned out for the PS3, just for the sake of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why wait?, 22 Oct. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Half-Life 2: The Orange Box (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is already out on the Xbox 360 and I have to say its got amazing visuals for a 4yr old game also it doesn't feel like a game, more like being in a movie of sorts, the way the game plays out it just has you hooked!
By the time this game comes out for the PS3 Mass Effect for the 360 will be out, so if you are eagerly awaiting this game do yourself a favour, get an Xbox 360! Also you need vibration to play this game to get the real feel also the 360 pad is perfect for this game along with others.

I own a 60gb PS3 and it just sits there since there are no quality games and they take ages to come out with poorer visuals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Half-Life 2: The Orange Box (PS3)
Half-Life 2: The Orange Box (PS3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
£59.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews