Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars20
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2009
I'm so glad that eagle vision have decided to release the 'Live in Montreux' series in HD (I also own the Tori Amos DVD from the series). The picture quality is excellent, as is the sound. A large percentage of my CD/DVD collection consists of 70's rock bands; from Black Sabbath through to Yes. The problem is that only a handful of these bands are still going and lets face it some should have hung there instruments up over a decade ago....

Not so with Ian Anderson and co. Like many other bands of the era they've gone through many personnel changes over the years (Only Anderson and Barre are here from the early line up) but once you sit down and press play it doesn't seem to matter. Regarding song choice, admittedly I always crave more of the earlier classic stuff but I guess you have to have a good mix to cover a somewhat lengthy career - Living in the Past, Aqualung and Locomotive Breath are all present and correct to satisfy the nostalgic amongst us. What strikes me most about watching this gig is how tight the band are. The arrangements are fantastic and the musicianship is second to none. Mr Anderson jigs around (almost) as nimbly as he ever did and the DVD seems to have captured the feeling of energy perfectly. If you have a Blu Ray player and can stretch the budget a bit, it's well worth the extra cash.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2007
We've been waiting 20 odd years for this! Why Ian has to ruin the viewing of previous DVD releases by putting interview segments between the songs only he knows ..... Hopefully the success of this DVD will show him the error of his ways!

The first half of the concert is mostly acoustic songs and instrumentals - in the midst of which the hard rocking 'Hunting Girl' sits a little incongruously, but is nonetheless (for me) the highlight of the concert. Although not listed, the set ends with the usual brief segment of Protect & Survive (with balloons) and Cheerio.

My only gripe is that, according to ministry of information, the concert included the Songs from the Wood/Too old to Rock & Roll/Heavy Horses medley that was a mainstay of the setlist at the time. Maybe it wasn't played? But in any case, it would have rounded the concert off much better. You just feel something is missing without those 3 classics ....

Now, if Ian's reading this - get out a torch, brush away the cobwebs, delve into the deepest, darkest corner of your cellar, and find us the tapes of a gig from the mid or late 70s to release as a 40th anniversary pressie. Go on, you know you want to!
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2007
At last an up to date LIVE Tull DVD, with no distractions just the whole concert with no annoying extras bolted on in superb 5.1 sound. This is the one to buy if you want a no nonsense record of recent jethro tull live with a good variety of tracks, ones that stand out are 'With you there to help me' which is one of the best tracks on the DVD also 'Budapest' and 'Beside myself' being some of the newer featured tracks as well as a selection of IA solo tracks and a few from the Christmas album, Martin also gets a chance to perform one of his solo tracks (Empty Cafe) overall an essential DVD purchase. Look out for the blooper in the encore track ' Locomotive Breath' which also gives Martin a smile.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2010
The only time I have seen Tull live was at Redcar Jazz Club, now closed down regretably, in the early 1970's. Ian Anderson looks distinguished rather than youthful now, and no longer plays his flute with one foot resting on his other thigh. However he has not lost his youthful enthusiasm, or his 'patter,' and regales the audience throughout this concert with witty comments which serve to enliven the whole proceedings. The pictures on this Blu Ray dvd are of excellent quality on my 32inch flat screen device, as is the sound quality - I played it through my hi fi system with the volume raised somewhat. The material covers 30 years or so of their music and all the musicians display excellent musicality, as I expected. They are all recorded giving solo renditions from time to time, though Anderson's flute and Barr's guitar have the majority of the limelight. The audience is very appreciative of their efforts which adds to the atmosphere. Tull fans I fancy will love it, non Tull music lovers should consider buying it and sitting back to enjoy the entertainment value and the musical arrangements therein.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2007
Very best of Jethro Tull, good DVD without insert an other strange "bricolages" in french in the text... Only a concert, a great show....
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2007
The quality of this DVD is first class. The way it is filmed, the sound and the editing make it well worth buying. Many previous Tull DVD's sufferered from over production with songs cut off before the end and interviews wrongly placed between exerts from concerts. We have waited a long time for a DVD in which we see a concert as it was, BRILLIANT
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2007
With reference to Prospect, the second half of this show was broadcast on Swiss TV some years ago, and is excellent quality. I was hoping with this release to be able to have the complete concert but alas, I can confirm that "Songs from the Wood/Too old to Rock & Roll/Heavy Horses" medley were included on the broadcast from swiss TV, so why are they not included on this release? This release will now suppliment the TV broadcast instead of replacing it! I agree with his comments about the "Nothing Is Easy" DVD of the Isle of Wight where Ian kept interrupting the flow of songs, this was extremely annoying, so much so that I created my own copy with all the interviews edited out and placed at the end separately. I will have to double check to see if any other songs are missing from this release. Maybe they had to cut back without having to make this a 2DVD release and give us the COMPLETE concert instead of what will fit onto one DVD.
Certainly not impressed
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2010
A recent purchase that I wish I had made so much earlier. A combination of a Blue Ray with great visual quality but in particular wonderful DTS sound. There must be something about Montreux as a venue that brings the best out of performers and this concert matches that of the magnificent "YES" concert of the same year (2003). A nicely balanced set list covering the many changes over the years in the musical direction of Jethro Tull. A superb band at their peak with every instrument clearly heard to it's best effect. Ian Anderson is a true Icon and what I would not do to have the opportunity to share a pint or two with him in a good old fashioned English pub and talk about it all!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
As a long time fan of Jethro Tull (since 1969) and having seen them many times and introduced many friends to their musical good taste, then it comes as a bit of a disappointment to tell you that, this was a little bit of a let down. The band are in good fettle, although sadly, Ian himself was vocally, sounding a little tired. The set list wasn't particularly inspired either, although with a band that's been going for as long as they have, it must be difficult to choose what to play and inevitably some people will be as disappointed as I was. Nothing from 'A', 'Stormwatch', 'Heavy Horses' or 'Broadsword and the Beast' for example, which for me, is among the very finest of their (or anybody else's!) musical art. Some songs from their other albums are also indispensable too.

If you've already purchased the Jethro Tull DVD of 'Living With The Past' (from the same era), then that's an altogether better DVD, with good extras, even though some of the same tracks (and the same clothes), make an appearance, you do, at least get an acoustic set with the former members of Tull as well. So musically more interesting too.

Still, it's good to have them on Blu-Ray, but come on lads a bit of extra rehearsal and a nice long Blu-Ray covering more of the back catalogue to show the youngsters what a great band should sound like would be nice!

So till then 'Cheerio'.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
Firstly big thank you to Amazon for immediate dispatch as usual.

IAN ANDERSON you are a fantastic musician and very intelligent man.

I remember seeing TULL a few times back in the early seventies when Ian was in his physical peak and can honestly
say they were the best live band I have ever seen, he really was the PIED PIPER and fantastic showman, in my opinion
the best , how can you play the flute/guitar/sing and yet dance, pirouette, , play on on leg, and enthrall a crowd like
he does.

O.K this concert is of his later years and he obviously cannot do what he used to do physically, but the music is still
the same FANTASTIC and he still has that charisma and stage presence of a remarkable performer

The footage is superb, sound quality superb and the music superb so too are the rest of the band, excellent selection
of music from their repertoire and a couple of new tunes which are really good, some really nice classical pieces
which Ian makes look easy but I am sure they are not.

excellent value for money and should be in every TULL fans library
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)