Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PROBABLY THE TOUGHEST ACTION MOVIE EVER!
STEVEN SEAGAL plays a brooklyn cop,(GINO) and things go from bad to worse, when his partner is gunned down in broad daylight. To further complicate matters, GINO knows the assassin to be none other than former childhood pal RITCHIE (a very intense WILLIAM FORSYTH.) GINO swears revenge, and in the course of the night, will use any means to get RITCHIE, even if it means...
Published on 5 April 2001

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
erm... well the films are not as good as either of the under siege films, but they are still good films. The martial arts scenes are done exceptionally well, although at times it looks like they put them in just for the sake of it. Hard to Kill is probably the best of the lot, were he has to get revenge on the people who killed his wife. On a whole the package is worth...
Published on 27 Aug 2001 by Paul Barrett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PROBABLY THE TOUGHEST ACTION MOVIE EVER!, 5 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Out For Justice [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
STEVEN SEAGAL plays a brooklyn cop,(GINO) and things go from bad to worse, when his partner is gunned down in broad daylight. To further complicate matters, GINO knows the assassin to be none other than former childhood pal RITCHIE (a very intense WILLIAM FORSYTH.) GINO swears revenge, and in the course of the night, will use any means to get RITCHIE, even if it means defying the mafia, or the law, for which he stands for. Trouble is, RITCHIE (now psychotic with drugs) is more than ready for the vengefull cop and is leaving a litter of dead bodies to lead him to his trail. OUT FOR JUSTICE is without doubt STEVEN SEAGALs finest moment on screen. The violence (some of it, stomach-churning) is nevertheless dispatched out to some worthy looking lowlifes. Action, thriller and of least all, martial arts fan will not be disapointed with this gritty urban thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A vast improvement, in more way than one!, 13 Oct 2012
By 
IOWBOY - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Out for Justice [Blu-ray] [1991] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
I'm a big fan of Steven Seagal, so much so that I have every film he as released to date across multiple formats, but even the most ardent of fans surely cannot deny the considerable drop in the quality of his output.

There has been a gradual decline in production values from more or less his first few films, there have been the ocassional glimmers of hope offered but these are very much few and far between unfortunately.

This film, 'Out for Justice', is generally considered to be one of his very best outings, in fact it probably is my favourite (it was was the first film of Steven Seagal's I actually watched and have subsequently gone on to watch it more than any other!); it was released in 1991 and further established him as one of cinemas leading action stars following 'Nico/Above the Law' Above the Law [Blu-ray] [2009] [US Import], Nico - Above The Law [Blu-ray][Region Free], 'Hard to Kill' Hard to Kill [Blu-ray] [1990] [US Import] and Marked for Death [Blu-ray] [1990] [US Import].

The film has a pretty standard storyline for this genre, but it has a strong cast with William Forsythe portraying a particularly nasty villian in the shape of Richie Madano. The fight scenes are some of the very best from Seagal's career, with the tear-up in the pool hall probably being my all time favourite, and the film is both tightly scripted and directed; for me the thing that sets this film apart from others in Seagal's career is the realistic dialogue and a very natural interpretation from its lead, I would actually say this is the best performance that Seagal has given to date and for me it's the only time in his career that he has shown a true acting ability.

I won't take the time here to provide a synopsis of the storyline, I can imagine that there are few purchasing this Blu-ray who have not seen the film at some point, I will instead concentrate on the reasons as to why someone who may already own this film on DVD should re-invest in this high definition version from America.

Ok, first things first, this Blu-ray disc is REGION FREE.

Secondly the disc casing whilst having the same general dimensions as UK versions is the thinner American type, measuring 10mm thick (rather than 15mm), I only mention this because it may bother some, personally I think I actually prefer them!

The running time of the feature is 91 minutes, the UK DVD release is 88 minutes, and therein lies the first advantage of this version, it is UNCUT.

Just about all of the Region 2 DVD releases of Steven Seagal's early films (ie. the best ones!) have been heavilly censored; I actually first became aware of this several years a go when I purchased the Region 1 DVD version of 'On Deadly Ground', this much maligned film certainly has its faults but I simply could not believe just how much better the longer uncut version was.

And so it is also the case here.

The main difference is that the scenes of violence are generally just that little longer, the camera shots linger just that second or two more when a limb has been broken for instance, but trust me when I say that it makes a huge difference. With my Region 2 DVD version I have always felt that the fight scenes were so obviously cut, always changing to another angle as the actual trauma occurs, but it was not until I saw this American release that I realised by just how much. The fights now flow much more realistically and the breaks that Steven Seagal applies to the various villians limbs are far more gratuitous with the camera lingering on the shot for that few seconds longer, this version of 'Out for Justice' feels like a different film at times with the violence being far more graphic; two good examples are the fight scene in the butchers and the final fight with Richie, these have been heavily edited in the UK release and are VERY different in this uncut version!

The film has many additions to the fight scenes, in fact just about every violent encounter has additional footage, and although there are no major alterations to the actual story what changes there are do add up to it being significantly improved over the UK version.

With regards to the audio and visual improvements, they are noticeably better.

This Blu-ray release of 'Out for Justice' delivers everything you could hope for from a 1080p High Definition transfer of a film that is now over twenty years old.

I have played it side by side to my DVD version for comparison and the difference in clarity is quite amazing at times, the sharpness of the image on the surface textures and on peoples faces is very impressive indeed. The picture quality of the original DVD version was not too bad actually, but when comparing it to this version I was really quite stunned just how much difference a transfer to HD could make to a film of its age.

The sound is also excellent, although it is not such a huge improvement as the picture, the Dolby Digital 5.1 track is more or less the same as the one provided on the DVD release; this is not necessarily such a bad thing though, it is still good and with the sound turned up it compliments the action perfectly.

There are subtitles provided in just English, French and Spanish; and the aforementioned audio track is provided in English 5.1 and in Stereo for French and Spanish.

The disc is pretty much bare bones with just a theatrical trailer for the main feature included.

Overall I am really pleased with this Blu-ray; despite already owning the film on DVD (and VHS before that!) it has still proved to be a most worthwhile acquisition, with the added bonus of having additional footage that improves the film on top of the massively improved picture quality, thus making it a justifiable purchase for anyone regardless of whether they already own it on DVD or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Early Seagal, 7 Oct 2005
This review is from: Out For Justice [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
In this film Steven Seagal is a rookie cop (er...how many times have we seen him in this kind of role), who is spurred on in his search for JUSTICE by the death of his close friend. You see some excellent fight scenes which are probably the best I've seen Seagal do in a long time. The bad guy in this film is quite good as well and for most of film Seagal's main aim is to terrorise anyone who knows the whereaboouts of this psycho. For me it still doesn't beat his best film-Under Siege-but it's not bad. If you're a die hard Steven Seagal fan then you'll like this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one of seagal's best, 13 Jun 2013
This review is from: Out For Justice [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
This along with under siege and marked for death stand out as seagals best with the pony tailed one showcasing his trademark akido fighting skills against a boyhood adversary. Plenty of meaty shoot outs and limb breakings and enough gritty street profanity make this my favourite.

Co starring are William Forsythe(the rock) putting in a snalling out of his head performance as richie the boyhood adversary, the late great jerry orbach(dirty dancing and law and order) performs well as seagals world-weary partner and theres also a cameo from erotic b movie star shannon whirry always a welcome sight.

The film itself is uncut thankfully after years of bbfc cut versions on video and tv but the dvd is extras free apart from the usual languages and subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 27 Aug 2001
erm... well the films are not as good as either of the under siege films, but they are still good films. The martial arts scenes are done exceptionally well, although at times it looks like they put them in just for the sake of it. Hard to Kill is probably the best of the lot, were he has to get revenge on the people who killed his wife. On a whole the package is worth it cos you will be entertained. But dont expect brilliant films, just average ones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A NO-BRAINER BUT HIGHLY ENTERTAINING, 16 Jun 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out For Justice [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
OK, turn your brains off and enjoy. Needless to say this is a no-brainer. But Seagal delivers and is fun to watch. The story: a drug addict goes on a killing spree, gunning down the wrong man - Seagal's friend and fellow cop. Seagal goes off the grid to track him down - taking down half of NY City's underground as well. No matter if bare-knuckled or with a shotgun - Seagal knows how to take out the baddies. And this one is a good 90 minutes of good entertainment which never gets boring since it is brilliantly paced. What else do you want in an action movie? Caution though: deserves its 18-Certificate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Hardcore Kick Ass Seagal, 25 Feb 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out for Justice [Blu-ray] [1991] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Out For Justice (Blu-ray Import)

Blu ray Info.
Format: AC-3, Closed-captioned, Dolby, Dubbed, Subtitled, Widescreen
Language: English
Subtitles: French, Spanish, English
Dubbed: French, Spanish
Region: All Regions
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 2.40:1
Number of discs: 1
Classification: R (18)
Running time 91 minutes
Uncut version

Trivia.
1)Brooklyn born William Forsythe was told by Seagal to work on his Brooklyn accent, Forsythe replied "Trust me YOU do".
2)114 times the F word is used in this film.
3)The stick fight sequence Seagal has in Vinnies club with Daniel Inosanto was a student & friend of the late Bruce Lee & featured with Bruce Lee in Game Of Death.
4)Steven Seagal broke actor William Forsythe tooth during there fight scene when Seagal accidentally shoved Forsythe face into a brick wall.

Classic Seagal Quotes.

"Yo F...nuts" .

"You tell Ritchie I'm going to cut off his head & p..s down his throat".

"The one with nipples you could dial a phone with".

"Don't be a bad guy be a nice guy".

Review.
Drug dealer Richie Madano shoots police officer Bobby Lupo in broad daylight infront of his wife & kids.

Bobbys best friend & partner Gino Felino is called to the crime scene & tells his captain he can find Richie as he, Bobby & Richie all grew up together as kids & Gino sets about tracking Richie down as Gino starts investigating his hangouts & meeting Richies acquaintances including Richies family.

Also looking for Richie are the mob who Gino has a connection with as they want Richie to pay for his crimes there way but Gino rebuffs the mob as he's determined he will be the one to find Richie & kill him.

Richie is coked up on drugs & lost his rational state of mind as he'll kill anyone who upsets him including his family & friends & as the net closes in on Richie very soon Gino & Richie will confront each other were only one of them will survive.

Timelord Thoughts.

This is without a doubt a classic Steven Seagal action movie when Seagal was at the top of his game.

This movie is brutal at times which features excellent fight sequences & shootouts aided by a great script & good performances especially William Forsythe as Richie.

This film has it all a great paced & choreographed fights that are brutal, Great villians that deliver menace which makes Out For Justice a classic Steven Seagal action movie.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The missing piece, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out for Justice [Blu-ray] [1991] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Would have loved for this movie to have been in the Steven Seagal Collection, but it;s not, so I ordered it seperatly from the US.
It's a Warner Bros movie so you can be sure it's region free and playable everywhere.
Nice quality blu-ray and one of the first and better Seagal movies in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Top class Seagal, 14 Aug 2009
This review is from: Out For Justice [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
We could have done without the long 'how it used to be in the old neighbourhood' morality speeches Stevie Seagal gives, but away from these this film was a lot of fun!

Loved all the Bronx/Italian-American accents spewing out endless (wonderful) insults, the violence was brutal and totally gratuitous (hooray!) and the ever welcome William Forsythe was delightfully over the top as the psycho bad guy.
Plus Seagal's character was outragously ruthless...blatantly murdering bad guys even when he had unarmed them!

Cheesy as all hell, but damn it...it entertained!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars the usual kind of stuff, 13 Aug 2009
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Out For Justice [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
This film is daft but its also very good,good action,pretty violent and certainly fast paced,segal huffs and puffs his way through the film but does his best in showcasing a cop who doesnt want to play by the book.
The film is a bit loopy here,there isnt really an explanation why he is on such a suicide mission as he kills for no reason and has the cops and the mob after him,like i said,it is daft but a decent show all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out for Justice [Blu-ray] [1991] [US Import]
Out for Justice [Blu-ray] [1991] [US Import] by John Flynn (Blu-ray - 2007)
£10.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews