Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very dark and very funny. An extreme work
Briefly, Harold and Maude is an early seventies film waking up from the hangover at the end of the sixties. It's a highly creative and well crafted account of a bizarre set of relationships between Harold (Bud Cort), death (Goths will like this bit!), cars (E-Type Jaguar hearse), his rich and societal mother and a fabulously delinquent senior citizen Maude (Ruth...
Published on 23 Oct 2002

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A real oddity
This is frankly a completely bonkers film. The titular couple come together through a shared fascination with funerals; Harold is a thoroughly morbid teenager whilst Maude is a borderline octogenarian with a seemingly unquenchable thirst for life - making her attendance at every funeral going even more unusual.

Director Hal Ashby handles a potentially...
Published on 19 Jan 2009 by Captain Pugwash


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very dark and very funny. An extreme work, 23 Oct 2002
By A Customer
Briefly, Harold and Maude is an early seventies film waking up from the hangover at the end of the sixties. It's a highly creative and well crafted account of a bizarre set of relationships between Harold (Bud Cort), death (Goths will like this bit!), cars (E-Type Jaguar hearse), his rich and societal mother and a fabulously delinquent senior citizen Maude (Ruth Gordon).
You'll either find it sick or inciteful, adolescent or poignant. It's one of my favourite films of all time and has the added benefit a lovable Cat Stevens sound track.
Watch this film and start to understand the diversity and creativity that underpinned the seventies arts scene.
Jab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little black comedy, 24 Sep 2007
By 
Jason Mills "jason10801" (Accrington, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I hadn't seen this for 20 years, and its broad black humour is even funnier than I remembered. It's a subversive little story of a morbid youth in love with an old and slightly bonkers woman, who is nonetheless younger than him on the inside. Although Maude is nearing death, it's Harold who needs saving, so their relationship is a bittersweet passing-on of the joy of life. Original and memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful tale of love between the old and young, 1 May 2001
This review is from: Harold And Maude [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Harold is a very confused young man, who attends funerals in his spare time. Maud is a very old lady, who has such a joy for life, you immediately love her. When they meet at a funeral the story is set.
Maud teaches Harold how to enjoy life and that it is there to be lived. She pulls some wonderful stunts and it leaves you wanting to go out and do what she is doing now before you get to her age. It also makes you realise that life is there for the taking and to be grabbed by the throat and lived to the full.
Although it should be a sad ending, it gives you hope and makes you wonder at life and love.
It is a wonderful film, full of fun, laughter and joy and a must for anyone who loves to see life from a different point of view.
It also has a wonderful sound track by Cat Stevens, which fits is ideally with the mood of the film.
Things to watch out for are at the very start of the film when Harolds mother is trying to pair him off and his numerous (non serious) attempts at suicide.
A lovely, warm film suitable for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is something else, 7 Dec 2005
By A Customer
I saw this film by mistake a few years ago and it completely changed how I see things. It was made for a different generation than mine (I'm 21), but I think the world would be a better place if everyone my age saw it. It's the only film I could watch an infinate number of times, in fact I always put it on when I'm not feeling my best - and even when I am! Hal Ashby is a god for making this. It's more than a film, it's a lesson in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marilyn Manson is nothing new!, 31 Dec 2004
I have just watched this film for the first time because I was bored and had nothing else to watch. OH MY GOD! This is one of the best films I have seen in a long time.
There is no doubt that at times it is essentially very macabre, however, it is ultimately a love story, that leaves you with a warm glow.
Although an American film, it has an eccentric British feel about it, and an excellent soundtrack too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest film ever!, 5 Nov 2007
By 
Truman (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Harold & Maude - Paramount Originals (includes Limited Edition reproduction film poster) [DVD] (DVD)
I'll be the first to admit that in some ways this film hasn't aged well. It was filmed in the early seventies and looks every bit it's age. But underneath the rough exterior, there's a fantastic film here - one that's funny, moving, intelligent and downright weird in places. Yes, the story is about a 20-year old man/boy falling in love with a 79-year old woman, but what's so remarkable about this film is that it's done is such a wonderful way. It's not disgusting, or creepy, or sick - it's love, which is never wrong, just sometimes strane. The film is full of fantastic little touches that a less-compentent director might have messed up, but Hal Ashby was a director who understood film and he doesn't put a foot wrong here. The film also has a fantastic soundtrack made up of Cat Stevens songs, and if you're not humming the tune for "If you want to sing out" at the end, then I pity you. Harold and Maude is everything you could possibly hope for in a film - PLEASE buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harold and Maude, strangely joyful, 4 Mar 2005
By A Customer
this is a must watch film.
beautifully shot, beautifully acted and best of all will leave you feeling happy to be alive and excited by the possibilities of tomorrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harold and Maude for King and Queen!, 8 Feb 2007
By 
Four Violets (Hertford UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really love this film. Its in my top 5 all-time favourite films. I will still be watching in in years to come....its that good. And think about it, how many films nowadays are there you could watch even twice? Maybe the Cat Stevens music has a lot to do with it. Its just so uplifting, positive and very, very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How odd! But still hypnoyically brilliant., 28 Oct 2003
By 
Paolo (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Harold And Maude [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Well! i don't quite know what inspired me to buy this video, but it has to be one of the best decisions I ever made. ( Not least because i now have a favourite film that nobody in my generation - 19 - has heard of. )
The film asks a lot of you. It makes you question the boudaries of love and whether they actually exist. It invites you to laugh at the dark side of things and the playful mock-suicides of Harold, as well as the pure energy and joy of Maude's view on life. It leaves you inspired by the union of two completely different people. It basically does everything a movie should.
The music fits the movie perfectly, and the characters are so wondefully crafted that you find yourself laughing at them without knowing why. Like Harold's mother constantly trying to set him up, and answering a dating questionaire for him. That said, the film is covered in very black overtones, which make it moving and mysterious.
A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the greatest love story evertold..., 13 Dec 2010
If you're at a stage in life where the best you can hope for is a weekend shopping trip, a weeks holiday to Butlins, and the same Christmas presents you've been recieving from Great Aunt Dolly for the past 10 years, then Harold and Maude is for you! It takes approximatley just 3 mins for the film to work its magic on you! Right from the begining you will be engrossed by the truely original opening scene, with the melodic sounds of Cat Stevens being played out, in conjunction to an ostenbsibly macabre series of events. In the course of 100 mins, the dull and uneventful chores of life will seem but a distant memory, and you will imagine a world full of possibility and wonder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews