Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
I remember growing up in the 80s and the George & Mildred repeats being on TV, and my Mum saying it was a good series. As I grew older the repeats stopped, but I always remembered it, especially Yootha Joyce. I was aware of her early passing which for some reason made the series stick in my memory even more.

I recently purchased this box set and it is a...
Published on 13 Aug. 2010 by Mr. P. Fixter

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The wife did not like this but both george and mildred are dear old ...
The wife did not like this but both george and mildred are dear old friends. George as Alvin crarries on in the Last of the summer wine series. His George is an exellent characterisation of the time of the Spiv. Youtha died to young but she enjoyed her illness, A great actres lost.
Published 9 months ago by Charles J. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Aug. 2010
By 
Mr. P. Fixter (Wakefield, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: George And Mildred: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I remember growing up in the 80s and the George & Mildred repeats being on TV, and my Mum saying it was a good series. As I grew older the repeats stopped, but I always remembered it, especially Yootha Joyce. I was aware of her early passing which for some reason made the series stick in my memory even more.

I recently purchased this box set and it is a wonderful series. George is as dim as they come, and Mildred is the bossy wife. On screen, they have a great partnership, and off it, the actors were good friends, and it shows.

The writers did a great job and most episodes are excellent.

Take a trip back in time and enjoy the series - they don't make sitcoms like this any more, it really is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a corker, 12 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George And Mildred: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Having missed out on British television,due to the embargo on South Africa, I am in catch up mode . I am extemely gratefull to dvd's as I can now see all that I had missed out on. This series will put a smile and a chuckle on even the most sour of faces .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, but.., 8 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George And Mildred: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely brilliant, and a wonderful window into the past. Sit-coms tend to follow the ambitions that the average man of the day has. These days there are a lot about becoming famous for little work. The 70's sitcoms were often about trying to climb the social ladder, as a lot of people did. This is the prime example, nae the epitome of this.

Pure wondrous entertainment. Also a few little funny bits. If you start an episode, skip forward a chapter, then back a chapter, and back another [as if attempting to go back to the menu] you come up to the show board, stating the time and date of the recording, and you can hear audience talk, and in some the warm-up guy... well warming up!

The only thing I'd have liked would be extras. Where are the interviews. The deleted scenes, the fluffs.... Nothing. Big Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless sit com., 6 Jan. 2008
This review is from: George And Mildred: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Another must buy as it contains every single episode filmed.You really go wrong here if like us you are big fans.
As a bonus I noticed that the picture quality is much better than when it is shown on UK Gold or whatever.
It looks as if its been remastered but I doubt is has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You gotta feel sorry for George (or maybe Mildred)?, 22 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George And Mildred: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Ah... George & Mildred - a classic British comedy from the time when a fantastic range of clean, quality comedies were being made in the UK. George & Mildred was a spin-off of Man about the House and made Brian Murphy (George) & Yootha Joyce (Mildred) household names in Britain. This is a fantastic set with all episodes included.

You gotta feel sorry for George - Mildred gives him such a hard time. But let's face it - George Roper is a no-hoper bum. Maybe I should feel more sorry for Mildred. She has to live with George - a life with little hope and future.

If you're married or about to get married, this is a great example of how not to relate to each other. Otherwise, just sit back and enjoy classic British comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George and Mildred, 13 Dec. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George And Mildred: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent comedy.great cast well written spin off of man about the house,Brain Murphy and Yootha Joyce worked perfect together.Sheila Fearn, a neighbor and her husband was brilliant.A bone idle Brain Murphy and a bored housewife you never know what to expect next. HUMM what more can I say? just a very entertaining program you should appreciate.Great as a gift or for your own collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun!, 24 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George And Mildred: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoying this dvd....great to look back to 'simpler' times...best bit is the clothes which are something else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, George...this is 5-star comedy, 26 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George And Mildred: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is a real classic. For anyone who doesn't know, Mildred is the socially aspiring one. Husband George is a low-flyer and proud of it. They move to a posh estate, next door to a prize snob. (I could smack his kid for being such a brat but wouldn't want to risk action from Social Services **).

You can guess how things develop. Poor old Mildred is eternally frustrated with George - in every way! The neighbour is permanently exasperated. George has the hide of a rhino, though. The scripts are clever but it's the way the two main actors play off each other that makes it so special. Surely there has never been a better comedy actress than Yootha Joyce.

The show is even more enjoyable now for its 70's period interest. Sit back, dig the clothes and decor... and laugh!

(P.S. ** I lied about Social Services - no risk at all).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memory lane TV, 17 May 2013
By 
C. Rexford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George And Mildred: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
George and Mildred was a pleasant journey down memory lane. The humor is basically what one would expect from this spin-off of "Man About the House", replace the singles life-style humor with married couple humor and you have the gently amusing, nostalgic, and pleasant "George and Mildred". Many of the episodes capture the wit of this ordinary couple in less-than ordinary circumstances...much thanks to the spot-on acting of Yootha Joyce and Brian Murphy.

One flash of those big blue eyes and you know exactly, precisely what Mildred is thinking...often much to the chagrin of George who never ceases to provoke her ire. But in the end, they love each other, they need each other, and sometimes, if you look well into their eyes, you know they may even like each other.

This lovely set is recommended for those who seek the softer side of television, without all of the CGI, crude, lewd and boisterous behaviors of recent offerings. It's dated in its approach to many things, but all the more reason to enjoy a trip down memory lane TV with George and Mildred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly excellent, 22 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George And Mildred: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
George and Mildred the Complete Series is good value for money. I think they were based on me and my husband! You can always be sure of some laughs with anything Brian Murphy appears in. (I would also recommend the Booze Cruise trilogy.) The only problem we have with this package is the infuriating pauses for the ads. With a little effort these could have been edited out saving us from hearing the theme tune ad infinitum. That irritation aside we still find them funny and that includes the Seventies clothes.Booze Cruise - Series 1-3 Box Set [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

George And Mildred: The Complete Series [DVD]
£19.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews