Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars10
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£12.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2012
By any standards at all this is masterly story-telling, originally in Angus Wilson's novel, of course, but also in this exceptionally effective adaptation by Andrew Davies. It's inventive, sad, funny, intelligent - what more could you ask for? There's scarcely a weak performance anywhere, and the best are as good as it gets - principally Richard Johnson, who is simply magnificent down to the finest detail, but I'd also single out Amanda Mealing, Deborah Findlay, Nicholas Jones, and Dorothy Tutin. Don't hesitate to give it a go.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
This is a superb adaptation of an odd, but I believe important and even outstanding novel, which I read as a young man, and have continued to admire. I still think of it as Angus Wilson's best work. the casting and general approach in this televised version could not be bettered, with Johnson and Spriggs ideal as Gerald and Inge.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2011
Mixture of costume drama,tragic story of lost love and the failure of people to connect,and a finely observed social comedy.With every viewing,I notice another detail I missed from before - there are so many layers to this piece.Acting and dialogue are superb.Each little scene is carefully crafted.A real treat for those who enjoy a film with depth as well as subtle humour.
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
An interesting adaptation of a very complex book that doesn't totally work but is still a very good attempt. The cast is excellent but the normally very impressive Andrew Davis doesn't quite bring to the script the full nuance of the novel and it ends up being rather a disjointed affair. Still it's well worth seeing and the transfer is excellent.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Excellent British mini-series with wonderful performances from Richard Johnson and Elizabeth Spriggs, really scene stealing. Would recommend this series to anyone who likes good drama or comedy for that matter. Great to see Dorothy Tutin in the latter episodes.
The British really know how to make shows like this and, of course, there are some spicy scenes as well and gay characters to boot. A must for those who like good British drama.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2008
Elizabeth Spriggs's performance was excellent as the sad, well-meaning Inge. The other characters were also portrayed with sharp insight. The wide ranging settings of this gripping story were projected in photography of distinction. It was a great pleasure to be reminded of Wilson's witty and engaging novel in this faithful representation after twenty years or so since I read it avidly. One of our greatest 20th century novelists, Willson's works deserve to be household names.
22 comments|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
British at its best. A must see drama. I see i have to write 12 more words so here they are ?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
Found it hard to follow. Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
Excellent film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
I found this an excellent cover of Angus Wilson's novel. Great cast! Elizabeth Sprigg was just amazing, quite awful but amazing!
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)