Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Growing Artist
Peter Cincotti is talented. There is no getting away with the fact. Since his self titled debut album, he has shown that he is an artist who is willing to take risks, and move in different directions. East of Angel Town is just that, and it is a brave move as he will lose alot of fans who have a narrow view of musical styles and prefer their artists to churn out the same...
Published on 8 Nov 2007 by D. Ralph

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars where has jazz gone...?
The first 2 albums from Cincotti is crystal clear jazz from the roots mixed with his own jazzy melodies, real pleasure to listen to. This one, his 3rd album, is a big disappointment. A copy of popular pop, very much Billy Joel-like (who I admire by the way), the originality of Cincotti's style has disappeared, a lot of drums and synths, heavy guitar, strange voices - I...
Published on 1 Nov 2007 by Dr. Mohacsi Peter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Growing Artist, 8 Nov 2007
By 
D. Ralph "Ralph001" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: East Of Angel Town (Audio CD)
Peter Cincotti is talented. There is no getting away with the fact. Since his self titled debut album, he has shown that he is an artist who is willing to take risks, and move in different directions. East of Angel Town is just that, and it is a brave move as he will lose alot of fans who have a narrow view of musical styles and prefer their artists to churn out the same album time and time again. Instead with a fair wind Peter Cincotti should become a name that is recognised by all music fans as his songwriting skills have taken a huge leap on this album. I first heard these songs when I saw him play live in London in October, and found them strong and memorable. Now after several plays I love them. Radio Friendly yes. Great playing yes. Different yes. What more could you want? Buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, lay back & enjoy, 31 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. N. Robins (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: East Of Angel Town (Audio CD)
Excellent CD, Cincotti is IMHO Billy Joel, Jamie Cullum, Michael Buble with a touch of Don Henley rolled into one. He mixes 'Cullum' stye Jazz with a pop uptempo spin. It worked for me & I found every track an enjoyable experience. Have already ordered 'On the Moon' (previous CD) based on the fact that I love this guys voice/music.
Give it spin !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This ain't dinner party music...it has something to say!, 1 July 2011
This review is from: East Of Angel Town (Audio CD)
Pure genius, I cannot understand why I came to this album so late having purchased Mr Cincotti's first album back in 2004. O.K., it's easy to see why it's content can be contrasted against Billy Joel ( please NOT Elton John!) but this album may indeed be better compared with Jackson Browne's work. Yeah, it's political to the point you hang on every well crafted word and stanza about American life, but it's also beautifully produced and arranged with Mr Cincotti's voice exploring a new dimension at almost every turn, whilst still allowing those 'jazz chops' to shine thru' whenever appropriate.The 'dinner party' background element of Peter Cincotti's early music has gone, he's moved on and away from Messrs Connick, Buble, Cullen. Now his music has something to say that's individual which in time could become quite unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great jazzman, 11 May 2011
This review is from: East Of Angel Town (Audio CD)
Just about the best album I have bought in the last ten years. East of Angel Town is amazing and in quite a different style Fallen Star. Go buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 14 Oct 2010
This review is from: East Of Angel Town (Audio CD)
I first saw this on u tube and then I had to down load it, then I wanted the CD, a brilliant album play it all the time, waiting for the next album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great album,.., 30 May 2010
By 
D. Schulten (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: East Of Angel Town (Audio CD)
This is such a great album, with influences of the supreme singer/songwriters such as Billy Joel, Elton, Andrew Gold, Lennon/McCartney and Jimmy Webb. It's very different from his previous 2 jazz albums but this is what Peter Cincotti wants to do now, so who's to say he can't or shouldn't. After all, didn't the Beatles change musical direction more often than they changed their socks! I hope he releases another contemporary, well-produced album like this which is crammed full of great tunes and lyrics - songs which actually mean something. If you like tuneful, intelligent 'pop' music give this a listen, it's terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch Songwriting, 11 April 2008
By 
Mr. Peter Steward "petersteward" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: East Of Angel Town (Audio CD)
Imagine an early day Billy Joel mixed with a mid-term Elton John and a sprinkling of Jamie Cullum and you get some idea of just how good this album is. New York features large in these songs and somehow Cincotti has managed to conjure up the feeling of the Big Apple with a sassy collection of places and people.

To me this was one of the surprise albums of 2007. It wouldn't normally be my kind of thing but Cincotti has come up with a wonderful album almost from the old school of American singer-songwriters.

Songs of love, circuses, places and times, it is a top notch collection that crosses over from the purely jazz genre into a mix of rock and folk with sax and piano combining on so many of the tracks.

Virtually ever line is a gem and sets Cincotti up as one of the best of the new American breed. An added bonus comes in the shape of the wonderful final track "The Country Life" - the most romantic song of 2007. It should be played over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful album, 13 Jan 2008
By 
D. Tuck (Gloucester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: East Of Angel Town (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the strength of Peter Cincotti's excellent single, Goodbye Philadelphia. This idea has backfired on many on many occassions, with the single that I like being the only good song on the album.

Not so in this case. The whole album is superb, with stand out tracks being the title track, East of Angel Town, Goodbye Philadelphia, Cinderella Beautiful and December Boys.

Some reviewers have complained because it's not "jazz" enough - listening to Cincotti's earlier albums, I'm glad: he's an excellent jazz pianist and vocalist, but every track was a standard, with nothing much to stand him out from the others. With most, if not all, of the tracks written or at least co-written by him, this is a near-perfect album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different - But Different Is Good!, 22 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: East Of Angel Town (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to see Peter Cincotti when he last played in Edinburgh and during the show he played several of the tracks that have now found their way onto this album. One that was particularly memorable and stuck with me and I am pleased is now on the album is 'Cinderella Beautiful' which is a brilliant track. I also love 'County Life'.
In my opinion this album has a little more of the native New Yorker about it, with an influence of Billy Joel coming through and for me I think it's nice to have an album that isn't a carbon copy of On The Moon or his debut album. It's an excellent offering from one of the most talented musicians of his genre and is not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Phenomenal album, 14 Nov 2007
This review is from: East Of Angel Town (Audio CD)
This is my first encounter with Peter Cincotti. When I first heard it I was blown away. Every track is brilliant. I can't stop playing it.

Having listened to it a few times I looked on Amazon for his other albums and I noticed some people rated this album as a poor follow up to his previous 2 albums, so I thought "if this album is a poor follow up, the other 2 must be orgasmic". I immediately ordered "On the Moon", and although it is a good album in it's own right, it doesn't come close to the brilliance of this latest album. There are too many covers on the previous albums. Every track on East of Angel Town is totally original (as far as I know), and the lyrics, musicianship, and production is brilliant.

Buy this album now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

East Of Angel Town
East Of Angel Town by Peter Cincotti (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews