Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars21
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£10.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 5 September 2007
The excellent and much overlooked 'Oz' has finally been released on region 2 and Season 2 is even more hard hitting than season 1.

After the terrible riot that brought the first series to a close, Emerald city is finally reopened. Most of the familiar faces survived the SWAT assault and have been languishing in solitary or general population ever since. This time McManus has identified all the rival factions (white supremacists, blacks, latinos, bikers, mafia etc....) and allowed five of each to reside in Emerald city like some twisted take on Noahs Ark. Of course, this racial melting pot is carnage waiting to happen and it's not long before the bodies begin to pile up.

Nino Shebettas' son Peter is determined to sieze control of the drug trade and kill the man responsible for his fathers death which unfortunately is the unstable Adebisi. Aryan leader Schillinger is up for parole and wants to avoid trouble which is going to difficult when Beecher is making it his business to scupper his chances of release. Kareem Said is still making waves for the governor and Alvarez is usurped as the Latino leader by the psychotic El Cid.

The series is excellent but very very violent. Even more so than series 1. It probably is a little on the extreme side but Oz offers a scary insight into prison life and should keep anyone who watches it on the straight and narrow, even if nothing else will.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2009
This series starts amidst the aftermath of the riot that occurred at the end of season 1. The police are called in to investigate the cause of the riot i.e. whether or not the prison staff or the prisoners were to blame. When it is ultimately decided no-one is to blame, it sparks off consequences which reverberate throughout the rest of the season, with some prisoners (led by Kareem Said) feeling that the justice system owes them. If anything this series is even more gripping than the last. The storylines are more hard-hitting, the dialogue and acting is sharper than ever, and you find yourself becoming more and more engrossed in the lives of the prisoners and the prison staff. Moreover, this season marks the introduction of one of Oz's most infamous criminals, Chris Keller, and the start of his ill-fated relationship with Beecher.
Overall Oz is one of the finest TV series to come out of America, and season 2 holds it own. I would definitely recommend this!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2007
As with the first season, the writing and acting are first rate. This is a compelling series and well worth watching if you've enjoyed other HBO productions. For some, the violence and sexuality may be a bit too explicit; however, nothing in this series is ever gratuitous. I found myself genuinely involved with these characters--on both sides of the bars--and was sorry to the series end.

Watch and enjoy!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
Having see the first series to this somewhat epic prison drama, I was compelled to buy the second and third series. I have to say that the directors of this unpredictable and invigorating series, certainly brings the audience 'up to date' with contemporary prison systems that house a plethora of good and bad inmates alike. Narrated and fronted by the poetical actor Harold Perrineau, makes introduction to 'who' the inmates are and their crimes throughout the first and second series, though is waxing lyric about crime and moral judgement as he spins round in his suspended wheelchair, he is both a positive distraction and a disciple, if you can keep up with the momentum!. Takes a little getting into the mindset of a criminal, even as the series unveils itself, characters are far more complex as well as the relationships that are forged on the inside, yet definitely keeps you on your toes - despite the pacing of some scenes that can allude the viewer if they like well scripted crime genre.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
I have loved watching this series. Another great triumph for HBO! I love that they aren't afraid to make programmes that push the boundries of American TV. My boyfriend who had no interest in watching Oz become instantly hooked and now can't wait for me to buy the next series on DVD. This is quite a violent look at prision life so if you don't like violence then it's not something you'll like. But otherwise I would definately recommend it!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2012
Violent, nasty and gratuitously so. I felt, even though this is old now, that there was a desire to shock. All of that said the story lines and character development and just wonderful and it made for compelling viewing. If you are at all easily offended then dont watch this but if you enjoy incredible story lines and great acting watch away.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2007
Brilliant - great performances and if you dont recognise half the cast now you dont watch tv!! Not afraid to pull its punches and so good to watch this without the falling asleep problem associated with Channel 4's insane scheduling when this was first shown!

Watch and enjoy
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2007
Season 2 is more character driven than plot driven, which is no bad thing, but season 1 had an edge to it. The writing in season 2 is not as tight as 1 either, but still worth a watch.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
Someone recommended OZ to me but seeing the price elsewhere put me off of trying it. See the first season for a bargain price and I was hooked. Soon be looking for season three.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2009
After seeing OZ for the first time this year I have become addicted. It is a must see for anyone who has seen such things as The Wire, The Corner or even The Shield.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.