Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars67
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£12.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2007
This is the first 17 episodes of the original TV series (on 5 CDs)starring Roy Thinnes and produced by Quinn Martin. I was not cear from other reviews how good the picture quality was but I have found it to be better than standard broadcast quality though there is no indication it has been digitally re-mastered. Certainly I am very pleased with the picture and sound quality.
How much you like the programmes yourself will depend on your taste and they do show a bit of 60s style dating with feeble fist fights and credibility quirks. Me, I enjoyed them as much as before and can completely overlook the quirks.
Guest appearances by Jack Lord, Burgess Meredith, Michael Rennie (rather too much like Klatuu perhaps) and Ed Asner are among other less familiar names (but often familiar faces) to appear in these episodes.
Good value all round.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2008
Anyone contemplating buying the UK release should be aware that an authoring bungle on the discs results in subtitles occasionaly popping up in a couple of episodes even when they are turned off. It's only for a few seconds, and is usually of an out-of-sight sound effect (such as "DOOR CLOSES"), but is distracting and should not be seen at all. Aside from this the episodes look and sound good. However, errors plus the fact that the UK release is totally lacking in extras whilst the USA one has the extended version of the pilot episode AND a commentary by Roy Thinnes, means this welcome but ultimately inferior release only merits two stars.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2007
This is an excellent release, despite all the confusion about it. It is all 17 episodes of series 1 spread over 5 discs. The front cover does indeed show Roy Thinnes as David Vincent and although its not exactly the cover design I'd have preferred, its the DVDs that count. The picture quality is fine and it is great to have this classic 60s series at last. Roll on series 2.
Oh and yes: the run time is 835 mins.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2007
One of the best science fiction series of the 1960's is finally available on DVD. This is the best season of the two because of its high production values (with top directors: Joseph Sargent, Paul Wendkos and Sutton Roley) and pessimistic stories. This season features four original scores by the legendary "Outer Limits" composer Dominic Frontiere ("Beachhead", "The Experiment", "The Mutation", "The Leeches"), one by "Wild Wild West" composer Richard Markowitz ("Quantity: Unknown") and one by Sydney Cutner ("The Condemned"). This season 1 set contains optional English subtitles which is a good tool to read the dramatical narrations of the voice-over William Woodson. Don't miss the cream of the crop episodes: "Beachhead" (pilot), "The Experiment", "The Mutation", "The Leeches", "Nightmare", "The Ivy Curtain" (that shows an Invaders training camp for subversion warfare that refer to two espionage series' episodes : "Colony Three" from "Danger Man" and "The Carriers" from "Mission: Impossible"), "Storm", "Wall of Crystal" and the ultimate masterpiece with a strong dream-like leaning: "The Innocent" (making reference to Alfred Hitchcock's "North by Northwest", Don Siegel's "Invasion of the Body Snatchers", Robert Wise's "The Day The Earth Stood Still" owing to actor Michael Rennie).
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2008
I only say that to capture your attention .... BUT seriously, when I watched the series and was terrified as a youngster all we had was a black and white television, and I've never ever seen re-runs, so the pleasure when all my black and white memories of episodes were turned into technicolor was a real high!

It's cheesy at times, but considering it is from 40 years ago the plot, the acting, the direction and scripts are first class in this first series and Roy Thinnes' acting will have you as paranoid and suspicious as him.

For 17 episodes and £17.00 how can you make a mistake ... purchase immediately and enjoy your socks off, I did! Best purchase on DVD for many a year.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 July 2007
"The Invaders... alien beings from a dying planet. Their destination, the Earth: their purpose, to make it THEIR world. David Vincent has seen them: for him it began one lost night on a lonely country road looking for a shortcut that he never found. It began at a closed deserted diner, with a man too long without sleep to continue his journey. It began with the landing of a craft from another galaxy. Now, David Vincent knows that The Invaders are here, that they have taken human form. Somehow he must convince a disbelieving world that the nightmare has already begun."

Way back in 1967, aided by the spooky music written by Dominic Frontiere, those words spoken by that sombre voice introduced each episode of a TV series that soon attracted a cult following. The Invaders was born into the end of and was a product of that era of Cold War paranoia that Senator Joseph McCarthy's "reds under the bed" perception of the Soviet empire had engendered with his partisan politics in the U.S.A.. This attitude along with the relatively recent arrival of atomic weapons & nuclear physics spawned a plethora of sci-fi & horror films & TV series based on the hidden and dangerous presence not of Soviet spies & subversives but of extra-terrestrial beings - all of which were intent on destroying or dominating their enemy - not the freedom of the American way of life - but the entire human race!

In many ways, The Invaders was also the 1960s version of the X-Files. The aliens assumed human form and were by and large indistinguishable from normal human beings - apart from a different ribcage bone structure and a misformed little finger on the right hand - oh, and they glowed red & burnt up when they died! Pretty good visual effects for the day too!

But whilst the X-Files relied ever more heavily on conspiracy theories as time went on, The Invaders relied on ever more people becoming aware of the presence and sheer ingenuity of the aliens to infiltrate American society and ultimately dominate it. Perhaps in some ways this proved to be the nemesis of the series: after all, there are only so many ways you can infiltrate and ultimately destroy the human race! But at least The Invaders bowed out before it got past its sell-by date - something the X-Files didn't do!

Roy Thinnes was excellently cast and played his role well as the architect David Vincent who stumbled onto the arrival of the aliens one night whilst taking a break from a long car journey. Thus began a TV series that ran to 43 episodes - most of which were of an excellent standard and featured many top-drawer guest stars. And whilst nearly every episode relies on the "I'm the only one who knows about this hidden deadly danger and how can I get people to believe me" premise, each episode entertains well and is equally well scripted.

There was a much inferior 1995 remake which was a poor shadow of this the original series.

This DVD set contains all 17 episodes from Season 1 that was first aired on American TV screens in 1967 and is an absolute "must-buy" for all sci-fi fans. And if the sound & video quality is up to that of the last TV repeat of the series in the UK a couple of years ago, then it looks like they will be of a high standard for the age of the material.

Highly Recommended for any serious sci-fi fan - or for anyone who's never grown up!!
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
One of the finest US series from the sixties. Roy Thinnes has never been finer as architect David Vincent. It's nice to finally have a proper version of this, I had it all on DVDR from dodgy eBay seller, so the quality is amazing!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2008
If, after watching an episode or two of this quintessential (and vastly underrated) American Science Fiction Series from 1967, you are not looking over your shoulder...then something's wrong! This is the ultimate experience in paranoia, as week to week we follow protagonist David Vincent trying to convince an unsuspecting world that we are being taken over slowly and surely by malevolent aliens from another world.

At almost every turn he is thwarted by our own human authorities, or the aliens themselves. How can you have proof of an alien body when they disintegrate in earth's atmosphere after dying? How can you have proof when the aliens seem to pack up their operations and move to a different locale just at the right time? Moreover, who can you trust...because anyone can be an alien. If that's not paranoia, I don't know what is.

So for 17 wonderful episodes, we are taken into a world that looks like ours, but perhaps is vastly different below the surface, because just WHO is an alien? Roy Thinnes is superb here as David Vincent. We feel his frustration, we feel his paranoia, and like him...we know the truth, which makes it even more uncomfortable and completely plausible.

The video quality is outstanding, given the fact that the series is 42 years old. Sure, you're going to have some scratches and blemishes, but this is the best I've seen the series look on either Videotape (God-awful transfer), or eBay copies (although I have a really good transfer on the latter discs). The audio is in exceptional Dolby Digital mono that clearly brings forth the dialog and music nicely. I've also tried it in "All Speaker Stereo Mode" and it sounds great as well.

So whomever has the rights to the second season...please, get that out as soon as possible. This is a show for the ages, and one that is sadly overlooked in the television pantheon of greatness.

Quite simply, this is one great show which deserves more attention. Kudos to CBS and Paramount for finally getting this out...and thank God I have a multi region/format DVD Player too!
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2009
I used to watch this series on an old black & white television when I was young. I absolutely loved it then and love it now. Like a previous reviewer said, its a bit cheesy, but its great!!!
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2008
I have seen this show many times on TV and it never lost it's appeal. Sadly, I am too young to see it when it was first made back in the 60s, but the re-runs are great. I am looking forward to the remaining episodes and one day, it would be great if Roy Thinnes made the "final episode" where we learn whether or not he beats the aliens, though I dare say he probably would not wish to any more. Oh well. It is a great show for all sci-fi fans everywhere.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse